We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brentwood Inn

Save Saved
You added The Brentwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brentwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently stayed two nights here and I am torn about the property. Overall, it's affordable, friendly, and has a great location, but I guess I would say it doesn't quite live up to the rave TripAdvisor reviews. Close to Brentwood the pickings are slim. If you just want a quiet, affordable, comfortable stay you will probably love this place. If you are accustomed to staying in full service hotels, you may find it less appealing. Other candidates in the area include the Luxe on Sunset, the W Westwood, and possibly the Ambrose.

Pros:
- Great location (Walkable to San Vicente)
- Extremely friendly staff
- Clean rooms and public space
- Very affordable

Cons:
- The bathrooms are tiny and a little bit dingy in a way that's hard to put my finger on. It may be the tile.
- They have a draconian cancellation policy, although the hotel staff indicated they would be willing to negotiate something more flexible if the hotel was not very busy, and provided I called when making the reservation to discuss.
- The rooms all open directly to the outdoors, which is a safety concern for some solo travelers.
- The hotel has a modest continental breakfast but is not full-service.
- The rooms themselves are on the small side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    80
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
130
23
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent our last night in LA here. That was our first time, and it appears that we chose the right place.
Well appointed room, close to Sunset Blv, yet very quiet, and a perfect location to go anywhere you need, right on the 405 to LAX or to the Central Coast.
The staff was outstanding, friendly, warm, and helpful as we had never experienced before.
Great value for money. You can book here without hesitation.
Thanks again for all your help, guys!

Room Tip: We had a king size, they are on the side, ground floor only (so no stepping noise from above). They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Brentwood Inn in September on both ends of a CA trip. It was recommended by friends who are seasoned and savvy travelers, so we booked without hesitation and were not disappointed.

We requested a room with two twin beds. The rooms are small but cleverly designed to provide you with what you need. Very clean. Front desk staff friendly and helpful and glad to help with restaurant and neighborhood recommendations. Nice location in a Brentwood residential area, convenient to the Getty Center, freeway and half-hour from the ocean. Coffee and bagels/fruit/yogurt/pastry in the morning.

An excellent non-chain hotel experience!

Room Tip: We stayed twice on arrival/departure from a two-week trip. Both rooms were on the ground floor, oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

All of the reviews here are dead on-- I used them to choose this location a few weeks ago for a one night stay near the VA Hospital with my boyfriend. The owner was extremely generous and kind, the property is like staying at a friend's Brentwood guesthome, not a hotel. It is class and comfort without the high end hassle of the mega hotels surrounding it.My favorite thing other than the amazing ceilings/decor was their fan system-- it was very cold the night I was there, and the building can be a little drafty since it's more like a cottage than a concrete block. It kept me warm and toasty, and had a lot of options for where it blew the heated air so my face wasn't all dried out. My only issue is with the bathrooms. No tub, outdated, they are cramped, and this time of year extremely cold with those tile floors. Not set for romance or comfort there, but otherwise the rooms are beautiful and practical. I WILL be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back fo the property to avoid any sound from nearby traffic. This is not locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Everyone here is very friendly and we always felt welcome! The managers definitely show great pride in caring for the inn and its guests.

The room size was within our expectation though the bathroom really is kinda small. But that's ok I'm not in LA for luxurious bathrooms! The room is tastefully appointed and the TV I must say is big.

Brentwood is a nice quiet neighborhood and was great for us as we visited Malibu, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills. If your itinerary involves lots of Hollywood and Downtown then this may be a tad far away.

My husband and I had a lovely 6N stay here and we would definitely return the next time we visit LA.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

You don't need a car, you can walk to good restaurants, local shops and Farmer's markets and there is a good bus service to Santa Monica and other places you might want to visit. Hmm.. not what one usually thinks of when you contemplate LA but this place is great if you have a few days and don't want to hire a car. We mainly did buses with the odd taxi and enjoyed the local area very much. Close to the Getty (but we taxi'd for ease but there is a bus too). The staff were great, the beds comfortable, the shower OK if but a little small as noted by others but fine. And who would have thought the quietest nights sleep on the trip... Eat at the local italian (Pizzicotto), and the Getty and you will be well fed. Thanks for a great stay to the team at Brentwood Inn.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in a little central block and it was particularly quiet as not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had passed by this hotel countless times on previous trips to Los Angeles, but never stayed. On this trip, I booked the last two nights here before flying home. We understood that it's a small place that had been renovated and it sits on Sunset Boulevard, which is rather busy. All that being said, we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed the place. The front desk staff was incredibly accommodating and Naz was absolutely fantastic. She was so eager to make my stay more enjoyable, whether it was driving directions or dinner recommendations. She really made the stay top notch.
The hotel was nicely appointed and although the room was small, it had just what we needed. My only complaint was that the bed was rather hard. Other than that, I loved everything else. Our room was on the end of the property, closest to the street. When we closed the door and windows, we could barely hear the traffic passing outside.
When we checked out, Evan at the front desk was more than happy to print out the boarding passes for us, something we really appreciated. Overall, we loved this hotel and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brentwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Inn

Address: 12200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brentwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, convenience and extraordinary value: we have it all. Our tastefully decorated rooms are all non-smoking and pet-free, and come equipped with flat-panel LCD TVs and high-speed internet access. Your room rate includes free parking, continental breakfast and freshly-baked cookies every afternoon. Our location in Brentwood is conveniently close to restaurants in Brentwood Village, shopping in Beverly Hills and Santa Monica and only minutes from UCLA and the world-famous Getty Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Brentwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles
Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brentwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.