We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ritz Milner Hotel to your Saves list
Ritz Milner Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   813 South Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very reasonable price considering the proximity of the hotel to the subway, shopping mall, good restaurant and night clubs. Breakfast is also good with a lot of choices. Staff are all nice. We stayed for 3 nights and we just walk around to dine and visit some nice places around (for sure every body wants to visit the stables center).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always good to hear that our location makes getting around easy for our guests, and thank you for letting us know how are staff was helpful. Once again thank you for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    89
    101
    46
    53
See reviews for
22
91
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed a few days in LA on a business trip and ended up in this hotel as all other places close to the convention center were fully booked. The room window was facing another building, so no view at all, and the furniture was not in the best shape. Fortunately the temperature was neither hot nor cold so I did not have to turn on the air conditioning, which, when I tried was horribly loud. Still the price is very convenient, the lobby looks good, the breakfast included is more than decent, the service is ok. WIFI was working fine.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear you had a noisy AC unit, although you did not need to use it, we apologize. We are in the process of replacing some older units. Your business with us is much appreciated and hope if your travels find you in LA again, we hope you contact us for future accommodations.

Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrowan, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really reasonably priced hotel in LA . Under $100
One block from subway .
Three blocks from Staples centre
Easy walking .
One block from Macy's
Plenty of restaurants within walking distance .
Free breakfast
Can book tours from reception
Only negative was the room size we had traveled from Australia so we both had two suitcases and a back pack each and the suitcases didn't fit in wardrobe . So we spent three days stepping over suitcases as no where to store luggage

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. It is always good to hear that our location provides our guests with easy access to many area attractions. I am sorry to hear that the room size seemed to be an issue for your travels. We do have different room types here at the hotel that range in size and price. We always try to accommodate our guests needs, if made aware of any issues, we will do our best to correct the problem. If your travels bring you back to the LA area again, I invite you to contact a member of management, and we can assist you with any special requests. Thank you for your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a low cost hotel. The rooms are very small. The hall looks dingy. But, overall not a terrible place for the money but one I would never choose to stay in. I got stuck there with a large group from our company.

The neighborhood is dicey at best. I've stayed in this area before but there are lots of people on the street: panhandling, harassing you, and one older homeless guy actually tried to jump me on the corner. There are aggressive skateboarders and bicyclists on the sidewalk.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us. We do have different room types here at the hotel, depending on which room you reserved. We have smaller economy size rooms along with King Suites and rooms with twin beds and queen beds.
The area of Downtown Los Angeles and many areas in the country, unfortunately do deal with the homeless situation. Although we cannot control what happens on the streets, we do patrol the hotel grounds, security is on staff nightly, to ensure the safety of our guests while they are staying at the property. I am sorry to hear that these other factors were the base of your review and you left with a bad impression.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We found the location excellent and was value for the price. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful with any questions we had. It would have been good to have had a fridge in the room but there were coffee making facilities. There is a supermarket around the corner which is very convenient if you don't want to eat out. The breakfast at the hotel is basic but very good. I am happy to recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel met your needs. Our staff takes pride in doing what we can to help our guest with any questions and needs. Unfortunately none of our rooms here have refrigerators or microwaves in them, but we have ice machines available. Once again thank you for your feedback and your business. If your travels bring you back to L.A. we hope to see you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Basic, no frills hotel in downtown LA. 3 blocks from Staples centre, walking distance for all downtown attractions. Simple clean room, small but functional bathroom. Only downsifdes are no fridge in room and no safe in room/building. Breakfast buffet basic but does the job. Would recommend for a couple of nights stay. Good restaurant options within walking distance too.

Room Tip: Has a lift so no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad our location was to your liking. Easy access to public transportation, metro lines and The Staples Center makes it great for our guests to get around town. We do offer different size room depending on availability and pricing. Some rooms do have bigger bathrooms than others. I invite you to contact a member of management at the hotel directly, if your travels have you back in LA in the future. We can make sure any requests for different accomodations will be received. Once again thank you for your review and your business.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Let's start with the good- great location (very close to Staples Center, Nokia Theater), quaint older feel, spacious room, nice polite, attentive lobby staff.

Now, the poor. Rude breakfast staff, crummy complementary breakfast, horrible, uncomfortable bed, and dirty, greasy feel. Older and quaint is one thing; uncomfortable is quite another.

My wife paid $127 for this hotel. Priceline Express had a 4 star listed the same night for $145. I would gladly have paid the extra few dollars. I'd absolutely PASS on this hotel if I were to do it again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stimpe, Manager at Ritz Milner Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Sir,
I would like to start by saying thank you for your review. Good or bad we rely on our guests feedback to see where we can improve our services. I apologize our breakfast was not to your liking. We provide a wide variety of items including cereal, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurts and more , to try and cater to kids and adults. We strive to provide the best customer service we can provide and I apologize if you did not receive that. Please be assured the correct department will be notified about your issue. I invite you to contact a member of management if your travels bring you to the area, so that we may show you the true quality of our services.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz Milner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Milner Hotel

Address: 813 South Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritz Milner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Ritz Milner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Milner Los Angeles
Hotel Ritz Milner
Ritz Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz Milner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.