We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but the service brings it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   12664 W. Washington Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90066 (Westside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but the service brings it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Location: good. 10 minutes from Venice beach by car, a block away from supermarket. Close to a Costco.

Room: new, clean. Great to have a microwave. Washroom floor could use a scrub.

Service: receptionist is not welcoming. Emphasis on the $250 penalties before you can spell "hi". I was charged $250 usd on my credit card supposedly as a hold and I was reimbursed the amount at the end but with $15 credit difference because of exchange rates. Other hotels DON'T need to charge you the penalty/safety sum during the stay but only put a hold just in case. Charging $250 was not necessary and makes you feel very unwelcomed from the get-go, on top of losing money for nothing.

Breakfast: continental. no meat but plenty of other things.

Overall: Reception and policies need to change. I will not return if the safety deposit continues to be charged and because of how unwelcomed they make the guest feel from the get-go.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    178
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
63
144
19
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I was happy with my stay at the super 8. The room was clean and reasonably quiet, the parking was no extra charge and the continental breakfast was great! I had no trouble finding my way around and I loved that the location was so close to LAX and a short drive to Santa Monica! I'd stay there again! I did notice the pool was closed in the 'winter' - and though I wouldn't have had occasion to use it during my stay I thought the months they limited it to were pretty short considering California's beautiful weather. But that could just be me, because I come from a much colder climate! The WiFi was excellent and I had no trouble streaming video on my iPad while I was there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

When I chose this hotel I was searching for something cheap but clean. These two requirements were achieved by far but I was also surprised with an abundant free breakfast which already set me on the right mood.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I just booked a decent priced hotel not to far from LAX for our first night in LA. Had not expected to much, but this was really great. Good rooms, comfy bed, TV, fridge etc in order. Will recommend !

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed overnight. Our room overlooked the pool, room 106. We were not sure what to expect, but had a pleasant surprise. It's not a grand motel, but we had a large room, which was spotlessly clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bed linen was fresh. The small bathroom area had a fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You can also make hot drinks. Ideal, if like us you have had a long flight. A neat bath/shower with bath cap, soap, etc. supplied. We've just had breakfast in the motel lobby. Polystyrene cups, etc. there were choices of fruit juice, cereal, yogurt, bread for toasting and a waffle maker. I even got my morning cup of tea. Like the bedroom, it was spotless. It won't be the prettiest place to stay, but it was so much better than we expected. If you need a place to stay in the area, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area

Address: 12664 W. Washington Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90066
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area Hotel Los Angeles
Super Eight Los Angeles
Los Angeles Super 8
Los Angeles Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Los Angeles / Culver City Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.