We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battleship USS Iowa BB-61

Battleship USS Iowa BB-61
250 S Harbor Blvd., Berth 87, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90733
877-446-9261
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 382 attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Military Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit the West Coast's only Battleship! Celebrate the American Spirit by stepping through time on the 70 year-old teak decks of Battleship IOWA. Your tour will take you through the spaces used by President Franklin D. Roosevelt, numerous 5-Star Admirals, Top Ranking Naval Officers and thousands of Enlisted Sailors. You'll love getting up close to the giant 16" Guns, feeling 18" of cold solid steel in the Captain's Bridge, seeing the evolution of weaponry from WWII through the Cold War, hearing first-hand stories from Navy veterans, and experiencing life as a Sailor on the "Big Stick". Your family will be awed by IOWA's proud, historic legacy as one of the fastest and most powerful ships to ever set sail! Battleship IOWA hosts fun seasonal events throughout the year such as the Memorial Day Festival, Independence Day Celebration, Veterans Appreciation Day & more! The IOWA also offers private guided & group tours, school field trips, corporate outings and special event venues. Battleship IOWA is open everyday (except Thanksgiving & Christmas) from 10:00 am - 5:00 pm, with the last boarding and ticket sales at 4:00 pm.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun place to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a really cool thing to see while we were visiting in California. It was a really big ship and you got to see how the navy lived on the boat in WWII. There was a lot to explore on the boat and we really enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    84
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were a small group who hired a private tour guide for $75.00. We had Joe and Lew and it was fabulous!! I don't think that doing it your own even compares to their stories and knowledge, both being "Navy guys" and had general knowledge that added to their extensive knowledge of the Iowa. Ladies will also enjoy the tour, as many of our group were women. It's a So Cal find! I agree that the stairs are a little difficult, but worth the trouble. Some of us went down backwards as well. It is not however, wheel chair friendly. You must have reasonably good mobility.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“USS Iowa is a great attraction.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is nothing to dislike about the USS Iowa other than it is a little difficult to climb down sharply angled steps but you can always go down backwards which is much easier. There are plenty of people on-board who help explain the ship as well as movies and displays. This is well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first time on anything bigger than a frigate. We got there just after opening and it was very quiet which meant we had a ton of time to read and view everything at our own pace.

I boosted my partner up onto one of the main guns for fun. Not sure if we were allowed but it made for a great photo.

There is plenty of info and history on board. Give yourself at least 2-3 hours to get around. They have not yet opened up the engine room or much below deck but they are planning to do so over time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Part of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall great experience. there are lots of steps in certain areas and their are restricted areas for the Publics Safety. I would take kids any day Very fun very cool!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship USS Iowa BB-61 also viewed

 

Been to Battleship USS Iowa BB-61? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battleship USS Iowa BB-61, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Battleship USS Iowa BB-61 to your Saves list