We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for location and amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3241 Cahuenga Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga) (Central L.A.)   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
San Jose, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good value for location and amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose this hotel b/c it was close enough to Universal Studios Hollywood but not costing the high price like Sheraton or Hilton that was even closer. It does take about 15 minutes to walk to the base of Universal Citywalk but additional 15 minutes through Citywalk to get to front entrance of the Universal Studios Hollywood. No shuttle available as some reviews stated in past unless it was available before. Includes wifi which works okay. Includes hot breakfast which is okay as well - the pancakes were good - didn't care so much for the scrambled eggs or something else I didn't know what it was and they didn't label - but at least the choices were good. We chose a junior suite which includes extra sink with microwave and refrigerator - it's not a suite in the sense of having a separate living room space, but my guess it is slightly bigger than the regular rooms. We had 2 adults and 2 kids. The room was clean. A/C worked well but it makes a lot of noise and turns on and off or to low blowing fan so hard to sleep with it on. Beds were comfortable though. Traffic noise outside wasn't so bad with windows closed and A/C off. The soap and shampoo/conditioner they provide has a cinnamon kind of smell - can't say it's my favorite but will do. Plenty of parking available - didn't seem too crowded when we went. We paid about 156-170 dollars a night. We tried the indoor pool - a bit cold but my kids were able to tolerate such - it is a small indoor pool but still a pool.
The area around seems safe enough but would only recommend walking when it is bright. Not too many people walking about - mostly a few stores nearby and then lots of apartments. Starbucks across the street. Hotel right off the highway. Overall this was a great choice to go to Universal Studios. We didn't drive unless we wanted to. We ate at Citywalk for most of the evenings or even at lunchtime instead of at the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    71
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
64
32
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We wanted to be close to Hollywood/Universal Studios. It IS in walking distance, but we chose to pay the $15 and park at Universal Studios anyway. The walk would have been about a mile each way. This hotel has Family Rooms that have a King bed in one room, and two Queens in another with 2 full bathrooms and very roomy. The free breakfast was great (Cereal, packaged oatmeal, muffins/bagels/danish, pancake making machine, biscuits/gravy, a meat and the standard scrambled or omeletted egg with cheese (would pass that up next time). Would have liked hard boiled eggs but maybe they offer that on different days? It had free Wi-Fi in the rooms. It's not much to look at, but it is located directly off the 101 exit if driving in from the north...literally you would drive straight into it as it shares the intersection light. But, if coming from the south, exit Barham and drive back over the freeway, turn right and a quick left at the light. Internet mapping sites have the location of this hotel in so many different places it is crazy!!! Just use the hotel directions!!! :-) I would stay here again. There are NOT bars on the windows...there is a barred fence about 2 feet off the back of the hotel to separate it from the alley way. The pool is not much to speak of however... small and square in shape and only 4 1/2 feet deep... but would suffice if you just wanted to cool off. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 3 floors. If on the front of the hotel, you will hear some traffic noise but it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My brother, his friend and I took a trip to the Universal Studios, and stayed at this hotel the day before and after the visit.

The hotel feels kind of old, nothing special to mention. It's an holiday inn express! The location is good because we didn't use a car. It only took 10-15 mins to walk to the Studios. Some stores across the road. The only thing is the hotel is hard to locate by GPS. the staffs are really hospital and helpful as we arrived late at night and received a warm welcome. Rooms are just okay, though very clean. Air-conditioner worked very well. Breakfast is like any other holiday places. The laundry room was out of detergent and was causing a little inconvenience at that time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

After checking the tripadvisor reviews for this hotel, we chose it for our family vacation to Universal Studios. I like to call and make reservations, not buy on a discount site, and from the time I made reservations to the time we checked out, every request was handled quickly and professionally. The room was quiet and clean-even the wall AC unit was quieter than normal. Even though the hotel is one-half mile from the park, we opted to drive instead of making the kids walk the hill to the entrance. We loaded up on the free breakfast each morning. The selection of pancakes, eggs, meats, fruit, cereal, juice, coffe, etc. was a real surprise and added value to this hotel. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool-it was a bit small, but always clean and stocked with towels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After checking out of another hotel in LA rather quickly, we found this holiday inn to be good on short notice. we stayed here for one night in a suite room. Our room had a king sized bed and one sofa bed for our party of 3. The king sized bed was nothing spectacular, but still a clean decent bed. The sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable but bearable for one night, any longer and I would've gone crazy. The internet at the hotel is good, high speed and accessible. The room had a massive Jacuzzi smack in the middle of the room. rather impractical because you can't use it with other people in the room (separate from the bathroom) because of this, we never got to try it.

Breakfast was provided, decent.. pastries, cereal etc. they did however have good fruits. The pool we didn't use because it looked rather questionable.

The location of the hotel was convient but noisy. the hotel is situated right next to a highway. Its relatively close to universal studios, but wasn't important to us as we didn't go there. There is a starbucks and some small eateries across the road.

The receptionist was nice though.

NOTE: if you have a car (which is recommended if staying here), turning into the hotel can be abit troublesome. The entrance is easy to miss and well enclosed so just look out for the esso station across from the hotel. Its a good guideline for where the entrance to the parking lot is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My son and I spent 4 nights from May 8th. to 12th.. we were very pleased with this hotel near Universal studios. the room was very clean and the staff were great, very helpful and water ever day, which was great because it was so hot. Breakfast was very good. Really like Holiday inn express.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if your going to universal, you can walk. there is an in-n-out within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent front desk staff, we arrived just before noon and we were allowed to check in early if we came back in half an hour! The rooms are spacious as it is an older hotel, but very clean and very quiet at night( just ask for a room away from the front road.) Like others on this site we asked about the neighbourhood at the front desk and were told it was safe. As we were going to Universal Studios the next day we decided to walk in the evening to the studios and back and felt quit safe, had no problems and the same the next day. The breakfast was excellent. Overall a very pleasent stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3241 Cahuenga Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A.
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Los Angeles/Universal City! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.