We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3241 Cahuenga Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Clarion Inn) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Taipei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My brother, his friend and I took a trip to the Universal Studios, and stayed at this hotel the day before and after the visit.

The hotel feels kind of old, nothing special to mention. It's an holiday inn express! The location is good because we didn't use a car. It only took 10-15 mins to walk to the Studios. Some stores across the road. The only thing is the hotel is hard to locate by GPS. the staffs are really hospital and helpful as we arrived late at night and received a warm welcome. Rooms are just okay, though very clean. Air-conditioner worked very well. Breakfast is like any other holiday places. The laundry room was out of detergent and was causing a little inconvenience at that time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    43
    22
    8
See reviews for
85
45
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

After checking the tripadvisor reviews for this hotel, we chose it for our family vacation to Universal Studios. I like to call and make reservations, not buy on a discount site, and from the time I made reservations to the time we checked out, every request was handled quickly and professionally. The room was quiet and clean-even the wall AC unit was quieter than normal. Even though the hotel is one-half mile from the park, we opted to drive instead of making the kids walk the hill to the entrance. We loaded up on the free breakfast each morning. The selection of pancakes, eggs, meats, fruit, cereal, juice, coffe, etc. was a real surprise and added value to this hotel. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool-it was a bit small, but always clean and stocked with towels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After checking out of another hotel in LA rather quickly, we found this holiday inn to be good on short notice. we stayed here for one night in a suite room. Our room had a king sized bed and one sofa bed for our party of 3. The king sized bed was nothing spectacular, but still a clean decent bed. The sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable but bearable for one night, any longer and I would've gone crazy. The internet at the hotel is good, high speed and accessible. The room had a massive Jacuzzi smack in the middle of the room. rather impractical because you can't use it with other people in the room (separate from the bathroom) because of this, we never got to try it.

Breakfast was provided, decent.. pastries, cereal etc. they did however have good fruits. The pool we didn't use because it looked rather questionable.

The location of the hotel was convient but noisy. the hotel is situated right next to a highway. Its relatively close to universal studios, but wasn't important to us as we didn't go there. There is a starbucks and some small eateries across the road.

The receptionist was nice though.

NOTE: if you have a car (which is recommended if staying here), turning into the hotel can be abit troublesome. The entrance is easy to miss and well enclosed so just look out for the esso station across from the hotel. Its a good guideline for where the entrance to the parking lot is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My son and I spent 4 nights from May 8th. to 12th.. we were very pleased with this hotel near Universal studios. the room was very clean and the staff were great, very helpful and water ever day, which was great because it was so hot. Breakfast was very good. Really like Holiday inn express.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if your going to universal, you can walk. there is an in-n-out within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent front desk staff, we arrived just before noon and we were allowed to check in early if we came back in half an hour! The rooms are spacious as it is an older hotel, but very clean and very quiet at night( just ask for a room away from the front road.) Like others on this site we asked about the neighbourhood at the front desk and were told it was safe. As we were going to Universal Studios the next day we decided to walk in the evening to the studios and back and felt quit safe, had no problems and the same the next day. The breakfast was excellent. Overall a very pleasent stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The location was within 1/2 mile walking of Universal Studios...great since parking is $15!!
While the rooms were quite good...the clientele and surrounding area were quite iffy.
Hesitant to walk the neighborhood at night.
The beds were exceedingly hard. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: For less noise, ask for top floor and on the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our parking is free and a big advantage over other hotels in our area. We will look into your mattress. Thank you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for our visit to Universal Studios. It had the best location being only 1/2 a mile from the park and 15 minutes to Hollywood. Called the hotel's 800 number and booked through them but when we got to the hotel, we were given a higher price from what was quoted. The manager though was nice enough to honor the original lower price. They were very accomodating. My daughter also left her camera at the lobby and a gracious guest returned it. Free wifi was great, including free parking and hot breakfast. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We will share with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#112 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Universal City Area
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#116 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tangerine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Burbank
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
The Garland
#20 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3241 Cahuenga Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Los Angeles/Universal City! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.