We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before our cruise from LA to Vancouver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3241 Cahuenga Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga) (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Strathmore, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Before our cruise from LA to Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My son and I spent 4 nights from May 8th. to 12th.. we were very pleased with this hotel near Universal studios. the room was very clean and the staff were great, very helpful and water ever day, which was great because it was so hot. Breakfast was very good. Really like Holiday inn express.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if your going to universal, you can walk. there is an in-n-out within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    72
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
69
34
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent front desk staff, we arrived just before noon and we were allowed to check in early if we came back in half an hour! The rooms are spacious as it is an older hotel, but very clean and very quiet at night( just ask for a room away from the front road.) Like others on this site we asked about the neighbourhood at the front desk and were told it was safe. As we were going to Universal Studios the next day we decided to walk in the evening to the studios and back and felt quit safe, had no problems and the same the next day. The breakfast was excellent. Overall a very pleasent stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The location was within 1/2 mile walking of Universal Studios...great since parking is $15!!
While the rooms were quite good...the clientele and surrounding area were quite iffy.
Hesitant to walk the neighborhood at night.
The beds were exceedingly hard. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: For less noise, ask for top floor and on the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our parking is free and a big advantage over other hotels in our area. We will look into your mattress. Thank you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for our visit to Universal Studios. It had the best location being only 1/2 a mile from the park and 15 minutes to Hollywood. Called the hotel's 800 number and booked through them but when we got to the hotel, we were given a higher price from what was quoted. The manager though was nice enough to honor the original lower price. They were very accomodating. My daughter also left her camera at the lobby and a gracious guest returned it. Free wifi was great, including free parking and hot breakfast. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We will share with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We made our reservations months ago. We arrived after the 3:00pm check-in and were offered a smoking room. I have never booked a smoking room in my life! We were given the option to smell the room and it was horrible. We were offered a second room that was non-smoking, but smaller for our family. We were going to settle on the second room and were then offered the original room we reserved. We had our luggage on the cart and opened the door. Imagine our shock when we saw someone else's stuff already in the room. Very scary! Luckily the guest was not in sight. We went back to the lobby and Jun called the owner for the third time. After an hour, we left the hotel and had to cut our vacation short. We have cancelled our "priority club" membership and will probably not stay at a Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Get there early for the room you reserved!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
I am sorry about your stay. As owner of the hotel, I myself was upset reading your review, because we never want to ruin a guests trip. After speaking with my staff, they told me you had booked a smoking room on your reservation. The front desk tried to switch your room to a non smoking room. The room you were switched to, the guests had checked out, and housekeeping cleaned the room. The previous guest was suppose to leave luggage in office, but left it in the room. Maintenance was informed of luggage, and there was a delay in pickup. For that we are sorry. Please try us again. We always try our best to improve our guests stay, that is why front desk clerk tried to change your smoking room reservation to nonsmoking. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was a Spring Break Trip for me, wife and kiddos age 8 and 5. We stayed Sun-Wed in mid March. The main purpose was a quick trip to visit USH. All of us really love it there and is much cheaper than Legoland or Disney. The hotel is very quaint. It is tucked up under the hillside in Hollywood. The cool thing that I thought about it is that there is one way in and one way out. There is a very small parking garage (free of charge) that you would think would fill up quickly, but we never had any problems finding a parking spot. The rooms are normal HIE rooms and the real selling point is the breakfast in the morning. It was a real value for the money and served the exact purpose of our trip. I would stay there again on another trip to USH.
A couple of negatives though. If you get a room on the freeway side and are a light sleeper, be prepared to wake up alot. However, I just turned on the A/C unit fan and the white noise from that, mostly cancelled the traffic noise. Also, I read somewhere that the hotel has a shuttle to and from USH. That is not true. There may be a shuttle, but it isn't contracted through the hotel, or a hotel van.
USH is always a great theme park for us. My kids really love the Simpsons ride and the Jurassic Park ride. We did these numerous times. From the Studio tour to the Blues Brothers we had a very fun vacation. Thanks for reading. I hope this review helps. Happy Trails.

Room Tip: The traffic side rooms are noisy, but the views are very good. Just turn on the A/C fan to drown out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-RPHotelOwner, Owner at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We thank you for your review. We do not offer a shuttle, but are a short 10 minute walk to the base of the Studios. They have a shuttle that comes to the base of Universal Studios and takes you up. Maybe this is the Shuttle you read about. Thank you again about your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hotel number 2 on our West Coast trip! Another great Holiday Inn Express in my opinion. Very warmly welcomed by Jun on the front desk, very polite, welcomed as a priority member, & upgraded to a Junior suite, he even called our room after 10 minutes to make sure everything was fine for us, really appreciated. The room was great, spotlessly clean & spacious, comfortable beds. We were on the 2nd floor facing the main road but noise was minimal. Breakfast was really good, same choice as in other expresses and no complaints from me there! Got your day off to a good start. Jun on the front desk was great, you can ask him anything and he will help you out. I asked him where the best place was to get a photo with the Hollywood sign and he gave us an address for the satnav, got some great photos close to the sign, would never have found that location otherwise, its a bit of a drive up narrow winding roads but totally worth it!! Universal is roughly a 10 minute walk, basically turn left out of the hotel, walk down to Universal Studios Boulevard, turn right & walk up the hill to Universal & Citywalk. All in all, a great value hotel which was Ideally located for us. (A pat on the back for Jun on the front desk please if management read this!)

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor facing the road and the noise was very minimal, I was happy there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3241 Cahuenga Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Los Angeles/Universal City! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.