We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was stuck in Hollywood - it had to do!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood to your Saves list
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood
1738 North Whitley Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I was stuck in Hollywood - it had to do!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was stuck in Hollywood for a night - a quick search and I found this hotel 5 minute walk away from Hollywood Boulevard.
Reasonably priced. Rooms were a bit shabby but I don't think you can get anywhere for the price I paid. TC and Fridge. Could do with a re-fit. Again, I couldn't really complain for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    176
    170
    43
    37
See reviews for
85
151
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Two stays with a total of 8 nights at Motel 6 Hollywood (Whitley Ave). Nice standard and clean hotel. Staff were polite and helpful. Motel 6 has made an fantastic effort to establish very good quality at a reasonable price in a very central location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The room keys didn't work. WiFi was a joke. Desk jockey was abrupt and unhelpful. Room grubby. View atrocious. Fridge piddled melted water over room floor. The other residents were noisy, but you can't blame the motel for that. Pricey. Thank heavens, it was not the Hotel California!

The car park was incredibly tight to drive a car into, but the car park attendant was friendly and helpful.

But the location was great.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel itself is in a good central location right on Hollywood Blvd. The rooms are spacious with good facilities, they are cleaned regular and beds are comfy. There is parking but they charge $12 a night. I would say though that this is not the nicest of areas, there was a shooting right outside the Hotel whilst we were there. Also be aware - there was some fairly major internal work going on as it would appear they are refitting the rooms, not to much impact but hall areas looked scruffy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We went on a weekend trip, the guys in the front desk where very helpful, the room was clean and comfy, the parking is $12 a day, wich i think it should have been included but most of the hotels are like that. A lot of things are walkimg distance, so we didnt have to take the car out as much as we thought. Overall great trip and great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had previously read reviews about the customer service and arrived prepared, but we were pleasantly surprised - all staff we encountered seemed nice enough! They allocated us an upper floor refurbed room as requested which was very decent for the price. The bar fridge came in handy, as did the small dining booth. Beds comfy.

Our biggest gripe was with the neighborhood - I would not want to stay here with kids, as a couple I did not feel safe walking down the street to get to Hollywood Boulevard, and had trouble sleeping with people running up and down the halls and sirens going all night (seemed like every 5 minutes).

Reception can book a decent priced airport transfer if you need - the second man we spoke to though suggested we do it online which was slightly cheaper.

If we ever go back to LA we would consider staying in Beverly Hills instead - not far away and felt much safer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Motel 6 chain is a budget hotel but with the prices of hotels in the Hollywood area in a safe area for the price stay here.Its only a few mins SAFE walk to the" walk of fame" and almost any tourist attraction can be organised at the front desk and picked up from the hotel, we did universal movie world which we organised with a very helpful lady (sorry forgot her name) right in the hotel. The front desk is staffed 24/7. The rooms are clean and have new bathrooms and most remodeled. The rooms are not to sound proof as u can hear people walking down the timber-carpet covered hallway but other than that a good night sleep was had. We walked day and night to surrounding restaurants and pubs and felt safe enough people and police out and about at all times. WIFI in the room which is better than Vegas!

Room Tip: organize a car through the hotel for airport transfers they can save u on a metered taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood

Address: 1738 North Whitley Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Motel 6 Hollywood
Motel Six Los Angeles
Los Angeles Motel Six
Los Angeles Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.