We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. End of Story” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood to your Saves list
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood
1738 North Whitley Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location. End of Story”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The room keys didn't work. WiFi was a joke. Desk jockey was abrupt and unhelpful. Room grubby. View atrocious. Fridge piddled melted water over room floor. The other residents were noisy, but you can't blame the motel for that. Pricey. Thank heavens, it was not the Hotel California!

The car park was incredibly tight to drive a car into, but the car park attendant was friendly and helpful.

But the location was great.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    175
    169
    43
    37
See reviews for
85
150
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel itself is in a good central location right on Hollywood Blvd. The rooms are spacious with good facilities, they are cleaned regular and beds are comfy. There is parking but they charge $12 a night. I would say though that this is not the nicest of areas, there was a shooting right outside the Hotel whilst we were there. Also be aware - there was some fairly major internal work going on as it would appear they are refitting the rooms, not to much impact but hall areas looked scruffy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We went on a weekend trip, the guys in the front desk where very helpful, the room was clean and comfy, the parking is $12 a day, wich i think it should have been included but most of the hotels are like that. A lot of things are walkimg distance, so we didnt have to take the car out as much as we thought. Overall great trip and great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had previously read reviews about the customer service and arrived prepared, but we were pleasantly surprised - all staff we encountered seemed nice enough! They allocated us an upper floor refurbed room as requested which was very decent for the price. The bar fridge came in handy, as did the small dining booth. Beds comfy.

Our biggest gripe was with the neighborhood - I would not want to stay here with kids, as a couple I did not feel safe walking down the street to get to Hollywood Boulevard, and had trouble sleeping with people running up and down the halls and sirens going all night (seemed like every 5 minutes).

Reception can book a decent priced airport transfer if you need - the second man we spoke to though suggested we do it online which was slightly cheaper.

If we ever go back to LA we would consider staying in Beverly Hills instead - not far away and felt much safer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Motel 6 chain is a budget hotel but with the prices of hotels in the Hollywood area in a safe area for the price stay here.Its only a few mins SAFE walk to the" walk of fame" and almost any tourist attraction can be organised at the front desk and picked up from the hotel, we did universal movie world which we organised with a very helpful lady (sorry forgot her name) right in the hotel. The front desk is staffed 24/7. The rooms are clean and have new bathrooms and most remodeled. The rooms are not to sound proof as u can hear people walking down the timber-carpet covered hallway but other than that a good night sleep was had. We walked day and night to surrounding restaurants and pubs and felt safe enough people and police out and about at all times. WIFI in the room which is better than Vegas!

Room Tip: organize a car through the hotel for airport transfers they can save u on a metered taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night a few weeks ago, and was very impressed with the cleanliness, location and price. Granted, as other reviewers have stated, reception staff could crack a smile, and show a more welcoming expression on arrival, but hey, can't complain. The Motel is a 2 minute work from Hollywood Boulevard, what better location could you ask for? A little further, probably 5 minutes in total, is a nice little watering hole called The Pig and Whistle. The room, although basic, was very clean and spacious, and even came equipped with a fridge, which we didn't expect. Nothing like that in budget accommodation of that ilk over here in the UK. The bathroom was clean and tidy, so no complaints from us on any front. Would definitely stay here again, without a doubt, as it suited us for where we wanted to be in L.A and what we wanted to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

If you ignore the office attedants and the weird locals outside, you'll have a pleasant experience. We picked this motel because it was pet friendly with no huge fee and walking distance from Hollywood Blvd. The parking fee amount (though others disagree) is comparable to parking downtown, and honestly anyone who's ever stayed in a big city knows you usually pay to park at hotels. If you don't like it or it's full, there's a public parking just down the road.

Room was very clean and nice and bright. Although we were on the first floor, we were next to an alley so it was quiet. I'm a light sleeper so the angry stomping child in the room above me woke me up a few times, but my husband slept through it.

They offer free coffee and have vending machines, but no breakfast.

My only one issue was with the front desk attendants. Every time I went to ask a question, get parking pass, etc, it seemed that there were a handful of people waiting for the clerk to get back from his smoke break and a local lady (drunk floozy) would hang around too. She would even interrupt and hang over the counter trying to get attention. It gave this mentality that the customer comes second, only when they feel like dealing with you. I was content with the room but the customer service killed this for me.ย 

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood

Address: 1738 North Whitley Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Motel 6 Hollywood
Motel Six Los Angeles
Los Angeles Motel Six
Los Angeles Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.