We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dixie Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dixie Hollywood to your Saves list
The Dixie Hollywood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5410 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #160 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We has a small issue with our stay in the hotel but they were very kind to me and I felt that there customer service went above and beyond. The receptionist was understanding and helpful and It would make me stay there again. It was central and clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was a pool, parking and internet. All of which we used and were happy with.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which gave us a lovely view of the street and passing people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying at The Dixie Hollywood; we hope you share your great experience at our hotel with your friends and family. Thank you for your comments and will look forward to seeing you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    104
    99
    40
    47
See reviews for
82
73
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here if you need Internet. The free Internet was next to useless. I'm writing this from Starbucks across the road
The bathroom smelt like a blocked drain
The location was close to the Metro
The beds & pillows were good
The TV was a large flat screen
Come on America you can do better than that !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you experienced problem with our free WIFI, we have looked into this issue and fixed it.There is never an excuse for providing a valued guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Reasonably priced, central safe location, clean, spacious, comfortable beds, close access to transportation, food and restaurants and the friendliest staff. But then again most reviewers agree with these items.

I don't understand some reviewers that pick on items like the decor or the lampshades that are not right!!!!! Correct, if I was a millionaire I probably would select a better place than the Dixie, but I am not, and quite frankly I did not see any other patrons that were likely to fit in that category. If I would be extremely picky for example, I could make a meal out of the fact that the caulking in the bathroom was very poorly done by an amateur. If things such as this makes a difference to you, then please don't stay at this hotel. If on the other hand the items mentioned on the first paragraph is what you are willing to pay for, then by all means don't hesitate to book the Dixie!!!!

Room Tip: Its a good walk to the Chinese theater from here but doable. Can find parking much closer to downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled that you found the property to be so inviting. I will share your wonderful feedback with my staff including the housekeeping department. We look forward to having you as our guest on your return to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been staying at the motel for 15 nights and are very pleased with it,we had room 208 on the upper floor,room with 2 double beds ,spacious and clean.The metro stop is right next door,to go every where you want in a few minutes. The ladie's at the reception were helpful and friendly .Thanks to them, for giving us directions for planning our trips with the bus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest, i cant thank you enough for the wonderful comments. The staff at the Dixie Hollywood and i are glad you enjoyed our hotel and our services. we hope so see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a room with two double beds on the first floor fro 6 nights. The hotel is not too from the main hollywood district. The nearest station is Hollywood/Vine which is less than a minute away from the hotel. The hotel is only two stops away from the main hollywood sites and can also take a direct train to the Universal studio which only takes about 15 mins. In terms of walking to the hollywood area to visit the attractions, bars and clubs, it will take about half an hour to walk. The hotel is not situated in the most glamourous of areas but there are convenient shops nearby on the hollywood and sunset bouvelard. In addition it was alright walking from hollywood during the night.

The hotel was very modern, spacious and clean. The bed was satisfactory and I had a nice comfortable sleep during the night with no disruptions. The problem was with the bathroom where sometimes when I switched on the light, it can be very dim for a while before it brightens up. The staff was polite especially when we checked out and the receptionist allowed us to leave our car for a few hours so we can pick up some souveniors before we return to collect our car.

Room Tip: The room with two double beds was very spacious and its ideal for groups of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, General Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you staying with us at the Dixie Hollywood, we thank you for the wonderful comments. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and its location. we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Hollywood. Please share your wonderful experience you had at our hotel with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

good location next to a metro station. 1 or 2 stations from the main attractions on hollywood boulevard. not a lot in the immediate area off the hotel but fine if you have a car or using the metro. rooms were clean and modern and reception staff were very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We are thrilled that you found the property to be so inviting. I will share your wonderful feedback with my staff including the housekeeping department. We look forward to having you as our guest on your return to Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Address: 5410 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dixie Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.