We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, good access to LA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Good Nite Inn Sylmar

Save Saved
You added Good Nite Inn Sylmar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12835 Encinitas Road, Los Angeles, CA 91342 (North San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap, good access to LA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel was run down and was in need of some refurbishment. There was a Denny's next door, and other shops. The motel had good links to the highway and getting to universal, downtown la wasn't too bad.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that it was conveniently located for you. We are constantly upgrading our facility, so next time we see you, you may be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    39
    28
    32
See reviews for
30
42
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is a bit outside of LA but it is decent. No problems with it all and for the price for a budget traveler it is great. The staff was nice and it is right off of the highway! I would recommend this place for someone who doesn't mind driving a bit to get anywhere (have to do this anyways in LA!) and for someone with budget on their mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks you for the great review! Although we not right in the heart of LA, I like our location because we are right by the 5 / 405 interchange, so its 25 mins to Downtown/Hollywood and 25 mins to the Westside. We appreciate the feedback and hopefully, we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

have never had a bad experience yet here - cheap and cheerful - staff is more than friendly -i am here every week for 2 nights on business and am always pleased. Rooms are clean, bed is comfortable. Convenient, affordable - what more can you ask

Room Tip: 2nd floor - dont face the freeway if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to have you as a returning guest. If there is anything we could do for you in the future, please feel free to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed two nights Oct. 19-21 for travel. I originally booked my stay next door, a popular highway motel. Decided to give this motel a try and I regret doing it because the place just look very tired. From the exterior to the interior you know this place lose its battle from the past, present and maybe future guest. The location is great no doubt about it, same as the motel next door which by the way doing its part to fix their rooms. One outstanding features about these motels are the housekeepers, no matter how run down these places are, these employees tried their best to keep your room clean and sanitize as much as possible. We travelers often overlook these people, next time we stay in this type of motel please acknowledge their effort by saying "thank you" it does not cost you a thing but it is a reward for them, and if by any chance you feel generous hand them a buck or two, they are the lowest paid employees in the hotel business but work the hardest in this business.

Room Tip: You need to call the hotel directly to request rooms facing Encinita street away from the freeway an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We appreciate that you were happy with our housekeeping service. You are absolutely correct that they work very hard and are probably the most important department in our hotel. As far as the rest of the facility is concerned, we are constantly upgrading our hotel, so I think we might just surprise you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Breakfast was fine - muffins , juice, tea and coffee. Rooms werent as bad as I expected although there was hardly any natural light in the rooms! sound proving was appalling and the guests seemed to be driving through or working on contracts in the area - people were very loud into the early hours and very loud in the communal areas outside the bedrooms. Theres a Macdonalds close by, but thats about it - the staff are appalling at the Mcdonalds here and try overcharging aswell.
The motel is by the freeway, so its noisy with traffic, and public transport is a bit of a walk to get to aswell. The area around the motel is poor and many local people know this area well for all the wrong reasons! If visiting Los Angeles this property is a long way away its just on the northern suburbs of Los Angeles. Really not worth staying at and a poor sleep. Just leave it to the subcontractors who stay here as its cheap when doing work in Los Angeles and surrounding areas. It has a very bad atmosphere here . . .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Good Nite Inn Sylmar. Our staff takes all reviews seriously and we apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We will use this review to help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night in August 2012 during our trip from LA to Sequoya National Park. We choosed it because it is near the high way and because of the price. The Hotel is a classic Motel. The room was old and not very clean, but at least bed was comfortable and towels were clean. Anyway, we were looking for a cheap stay and we were ok with quality/price we get. If you are looking for a cheap stay for a night, this hotel is ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the review. We appreciate you complimenting our nice beds and linens. We are constantly upgrading our hotel, so while you may consider us a classic hotel, next time you stay, we might just surprise you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

During our vacation at this hotel last early fall everything started out good, and for the price we couldn't complain other than the construction. But our second night we had one of our bikes stolen off the bike rack of our car, which was locked onto the rack with a 1/2 inch cable bike lock. When my significant other and I approached the front desk they didn't seem to be too concerned about the problem. My biggest problem with the hotel was that there is only one entrance and exit to the building which is "monitored" by video surveillance which sounds safe and for some reason the manager couldn’t see and large 21 speed bike being taken off our rack (which was right under the camera) or the bike leaving the premises. We used to love to stay here but since our horrible treatment by the management and company in general we will be staying at other hotels in the area for our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISylmar, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sylmar, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your bike was taken and we take any reports of this very seriously. Our hotel is very secure and we can assure you that anything like was definitely an isolated incident. Hopefully, we can get a another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Good Nite Inn Sylmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn Sylmar

Address: 12835 Encinitas Road, Los Angeles, CA 91342
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#133 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn Sylmar 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. Just outside the exciting LA metropolis, the Good Nite Inn Sylmar, CA is the ideal spot for an affordable and cozy hotel near the LA area. The Good Nite Inn is the ideal hotel for exploring Six Flags Magic Mountain, Universal Studios Hollywood, Warner Bros. Studios, California State University Northridge, Los Angeles Mission College, College of Canyons, Hollywood, Kodak Theatre, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Good Nite Inn Sylmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn Sylmar Hotel Los Angeles
Good Nite Hotel Sylmar
Good Nite Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Nite Inn Sylmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.