We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bakery

Magnolia Bakery
8389 West 3rd Street, Los Angeles, CA (LAX Area)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Bakeries
Neighborhood: LAX Area
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: LAX Area
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a cupcake everyday whilst in New York and LA from Magnolia. They are super yummy. The Key Lime Cheesecake is also superb.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cake is as good as NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We come from NYC and live right near the original. Although the one W 3rd St here is much larger, it does not possess the "feel" of the original. However, there are places to sit, eat and drink. Love the cakes; I think cupcakes are "yesterday", just skip 'em for a big slice. Get extra forks and make it a group meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cupcakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was our first visit to L.A. celebrating 2 birthdays. The Orlando Hotel provided a complimentary cupcake and I decided to stop by for more! They were enjoyed by all!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia, Queensland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not worth the calories”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I purchased some of their cupcakes in New York because there was a queue and the shop was standing room only. I was really curious to taste what all the fuss was about. I was so disappointed especially with the red velvet. The icing on one of the cupcakes was so sweet it hurt my teeth! Anyway I read afterwards that their banana pudding was their standout item so I made a point of visiting them in LA. Boy what a storm in a teacup! Not worth the calories! I could whip that up at home in minutes but I wouldn't bother cause it's not all that!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice place but could have handled order better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The cakes are certainly spectacular here and we easily found a seat but it was a little disappointing when we ordered some cake that they didn't bother asking us if we were eating in. As there was no waitress service we ordered at the counter and our piece of coconut cake, which was very attractive stood upright, was dumped in a cardboard box sideways. We then had to eat it with plastic forks out of the box while sat at the table. No offer to put it on a plate or anything similar. We also ended up drinking our coffee's out of disposable cups. The cake was very nice but I expect a better service from a high end cafe particularly one with a quality reputation.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.