We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IRIS by Cirque du Soleil - CLOSED

IRIS by Cirque du Soleil
6801 Hollywood Blvd, Kodak Theatre, Los Angeles, CA 90034 (Hollywood)
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IRIS A Journey through the World of Cinema(™), the first permanent production from Cirque du Soleil® in Los Angeles and taking up residence exclusively at the world-renowned Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center. IRIS is a lyrical, fanciful, kinetic foray through the world of cinema bringing together dance, acrobatics, live video, and filmed sequences and takes spectators on a fantastic voyage through the history of cinema and its genres.Featuring 72 performers, 200 costumes, 8,300 square feet of floor surface, 174 loudspeakers, 603 lighting features, 20 video projectors, and 166,000 watts of sound, IRIS joins the other Cirque du Soleil resident productions in scale, scope and size. IRIS is written and directed by French director-choreographer Philippe Decoufle, whose credits include opening and closing ceremonies of the 1992 Winter Olympics in Albertville. IRIS features music by Grammy® and Emmy Award® winner and Academy Award® nominee Danny Elfman.
Buena Park, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

So - my friend and I have a fun agreement. No gifts for our birthday.... let's just do something together fun. So off to a Cirque show. I truly loved this very entertaining show. I even bought a souvenir cup at the bar at intermission.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    142
    50
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must Take Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You've gotta take kids to this great show. Their reactions to the stupendous acrobatics is worth the price of admission. They are fascinated and amazed to see humans doing things they've only seen in movies and on TV through special effects.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive / a Colorful show in a colorful area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

IRIS was the fifth Cirque du Soleil show we've seen and was enjoyable, but over priced. The Hollywood Blvd area is a colorful area to visit. Safe I'm sure, but be mindful of your surroundings. Not sure if the show is still running.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing for Cirque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've been to several Cirque du Soleil shows and been mesmorized by the talent, the costumes, and the choreography, so we eagerly looked forward to adding LA's Cirque show to our list. We were disappointed, especially given the cost of the tickets. The venue is smaller, the stage is quite small, and the show seemed shorter than others. Far less spectacular, almost boring. The acts were a little like 'old Hollywood', which is perhaps intentional, but left us wanting more. For those who wish to experience the magic that Cirque du Soleil has to offer, we'd suggest a different one of their shows.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My first Cirque du Soleil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to the show with my family. The show was great and involved many talented performers. The only thing is I felt the stage was too small at times and too many things were going on that my eyes couldn't decide what to focus on. Overall, it was a great experience and can't wait till my next Cirque du Soleil experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IRIS by Cirque du Soleil also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IRIS by Cirque du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.