We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice but a few things we would change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #24 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really nice but a few things we would change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed here one day with our two adult sons while we were traveling through Hollywood. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our 18th floor room was fantastic, and we love how the hotel connects to the mall. The spacious room was very clean and quiet, and we found the beds to be very comfortable. Our sons really enjoyed the well equipped workout facility. The included wifi worked great for us. Really, just a few improvements could make this hotel a "5" for us. First, there needs to be better handling / communication regarding luggage. Fifteen minutes after we got to our room, we were still wondering where our luggage was. The luggage did show up fairly soon after we called the front desk, but this shouldn't have been necessary. Also, we noticed the bathroom lacks a fan to keep the humidity down after showers. Finally, we were disappointed the TV seemed unable to play movies from our portable DVD player, since we weren't interested in any of the pay movies being offered. Overall, you still can't beat the location and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: fantastic city views from upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    465
    124
    25
    24
See reviews for
369
333
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for the first time in mid-July. The hotel is fantastic!!! Modern, sleek, with terrific service, and 10/10 for location. It is in the middle of Hollywood, with a lot of things right at the doorstep to the hotel.

Rooms were a very generous size, always clean and tidy. Good size bathroom, with all amenities in full working order.

We hired a car whilst in Hollywood, so Loews directed us to their carpark that is shared with the Plaza next door. Parking fees is no more than $13 a day which is quite good, UNLESS, you come and go, in which case you will pay more - but as mentioned, it is not their own carpark, so not really their fault. Although maybe they could get a pass of some sort for hotel guests??

The buffet breakfast in the hotel is probably their weakest link. For the size of the hotel, the buffet was small and average. Not a lot of variety, but with so many places nearby to eat, I'd suggest to take a walk.

Recommend the hotel for their stay and location!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just had a wonderful stay at the Loews Hollywood Hotel. It is right in the heart of the tourist area in LA attached to a fun shopping mall. Steps away are the Chinese Theater, Wax Museum...the list goes on. The hotel has a beautiful lobby area with bar not a huge space but cosy and welcoming. Our room was a nice size king with a wonderful view of the Hollywood sign. Bathroom had only a shower which was on the long and narrow side but great nonfog mirror. Nice amenities and comfortable furnishings. Bed a bit soft for my liking but that would be my only complaint.
We were there for both business and pleasure and would recommend for both if you want to be in the heart of the action in this area of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as a stopover on the way home to Australia. The location of the Loews was so convenient to all the tourist sights in Hollywood. The hotel connected to the Hollywood & Highland Centre so there was no need to even walk down the street. So many restaurants close by and lots to see and do. The Metro was 1 minute away which took us straight to Universal Studios. Close to all the tourist buses which can take you to the Beverley Centre, Rodeo Drive and The Grove for shopping.

Checkin at the hotel was quick and was easy and our room was ready 2 hours before it should have been. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Concierge was knowledgable about tours, shuttles etc.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was a little expensive and I didn't see the value but there were lots of others places outside of the hotel to find something to eat.

Lovely clean room overlooking the Hollywood sign and great comfortable bed and pillows.

Pool deck could do with some more chairs and shade umbrellas.

Definitely recommend hotel for all types of travellers looking for great comfortable hotel that feels 5 star.

Room Tip: A high floor room with a view of the Hollywood sign is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had two nights at Loews Hollywood.certainly very much in the heart of Hollywood. Bedroom was excellent and spacious with a great view of the Hollywood sign. All staff were friendly and very helpful. However the room suffered from severe noise from a mystery lift. We were well away from the main lifts so it was a little odd. Also there is effectively no dining room for dinner. Very limited choice to be had in the bar lounge area.

Room Tip: Ask at check in where the mystery lift is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I took my family of four to L.A from Australia and the Lowes Hollywood Hotel exceeded the already high expectations I had for this stay. The location is great if you want to immerse yourself in Hollywood and the size and quality of the rooms were outstanding. We had an amazing view of the Hollywood Hills and Hollywood Sign, the king size beds were extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and you cannot help but feel comfortable during the visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to L.A and wanting to stay in Hollywood. I was concerned about the safety aspect of Hollywood but the area that the Lowes hotel is situated seemed fine and I had no issues walking the streets day or night with my wife and two children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We opened the curtain, looked out, and there was the "Hollywood" sign on the hill! Loew's Hollywood is a wonderful hotel and more importantly, it is ideally located right in the heart of Hollywood. The "stars" on the sidewalk for the Walk of Fame is one block away; just around the corner is the Dolby Theatre and Graumin's Chinese Theatre, and a 15 minutes walk in the other direction is the Hollywood Bowl. You are literally in the heart of things when you stay at this hotel; it is near so many attractions and many restaurants and shops. Major tours are located just around the corner. We actually stayed 11 days and found the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the concierge was knowledgeable and helped with many idea and even tickets for the Laugh Factory and Steve Martin at the Hollywood Bowl. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but so are many hotels in major cities. If you are making your first trip to LA and Hollywood, consider making this hotel your home base due to its wonderful location. We loved it; we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the main street, Highland. Also, be aware that the hotel is connected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.