We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #24 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location is great as it provides easy access to most areas. I booked a small suite, facing the city. When I arrived I was given a large room facing an old rear apartment. They told me that the central booking can't guarantee room selection. I down graded my room for a room on the 20th floor facing the city; big improvement. The room was very nice bathroom was clean the bed was very comfortable; and the staff was friendly. The one problem with the room was that the from the air conditioner made it difficult to sleep.
The restaurant on the other hand needs some attention. I ordered breakfast with sweet potato which I had to send back because it had so much oil I was able to squeeze a 1/2 teaspoons worth out of a small piece. After sending it back twice I ordered a salad. The buffet is ok but pricey.
The hotel is under construction which is a bit inconvenient. The wifi is included which was nice. The parking was way over priced, no call downs and long wait when you get to valet. While the property is under construction they should consider reducing the parking fees. Over all, I did enjoy my business stay at this hotel and would be incline to stay there again.

Room Tip: For a great view, be sure to request a room on the upper levels, facing the city. Don't get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    448
    119
    25
    23
See reviews for
350
325
35
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Loews is in a great location if attending a concert at the Bowl or Dolby. Other than that, it's ok. Be aware that they are doing major remodeling right now and the first floor is totally closed (reception is stuck in the 2nd floor hallway) and the usually helpful and friendly valets are stressed. Standing in an exhaust-filled garage would make anyone crabby. Sarah Brightman was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the HIGH floors are much quieter, with HOLLYWOOD sign view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at the Loews October 18-23 for a conference. The conference services people were amazing, teh banquet staff incredible, front desk folks divine, room service timely and efficient. Housekeeping, however, was not up to par. Complains were resolved quickly, though, so overall a very good stay. The hotel is under construction, but related inconveniences were extremely minimal.

The hotel is in the new Hollywood & Highland shopping and restaurant complex. It's like staying in a mall. I can only walk down Hollywood Boulevard once before boredom sets in, but if you want to take pictures of all the stars in the Walk of Fame, and see all the actors and actresses dressed up as your facorite characters, maybe you'll enjoy it more than I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hollywood sign, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel exceeded most of my expectations. The location in the heart of Hollywood can't be beat. The room was clean, modern and well appointed, housekeeping service was great. The valet service was worth the price in my opinion as it made arriving and leaving the hotel a breeze. My only complaint with this hotel was the Wi-Fi. We had some business to do on this trip and the WiFi was $12.95 a day and only allowed a single device on at one time. On top of that, the signal was weak and the speed was slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Overall was ok. When we arrived the room we had booked was by an elevator so we were offered a $10 or $20 night upgrade. We took the upgrade. And wish we hadn't ... Ask where the room is gonna be prior to agreeing. Ours was on the 20 th floor next to a banquet room .... The elevator would have been better. HOWEVER the location you can't beat if you want to be downtown Hollywood. Parking garage next door if you don't want to valet was also a nice option. Overall it was a nice stay just wish we wouldn't have paid to upgrade

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had two free nights in Hollywood with our two sons (11 and 14) and I'm glad we picked this hotel.

The location is ideal. Connected to the newly renovated Hollywood and Highland Center, next door to the Dolby Theater (home of the Oscars), steps from the world famous Chinese Theater, across the street from Jimmy Kimmel's studio and directly on the Hollywood Blvd Walk of Fame.

Lots of renovations meant we had to use the valet parking entrance but that wasn't a big deal.

The hotel restaurant had very friendly service and the food was good. Not the cheapest but not exorbitant.

Our room had a great view of the Hollywood sign, was newly renovated, was very comfortable and nicely appointed.

The wifi is okay. With all of us having our own devices, we each had to login to the paid service individually. Otherwise we got kicked offline every time another one of us logged in. This meant that we got charged $12.95 per day per device. I mentioned this to the front desk when we were checking out and they removed the duplicate charges without any issue. This all said, a hotel that charges for wifi seems a bit archaic these days, but we weren't there to surf the web so it wasn't a huge hassle.

When we booked the hotel by phone, we were promised special kids welcome packages that never arrived, but that didn't matter too much.

This hotels wins on location alone. If you want a safe, clean, reasonably priced hotel in Hollywood... this is it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a nice hotel in the middle of the Hollywood Glamour, wifi connection was shocking, rooms were clean but the Maid didn't replace any of the Glasses...so after a long day exploring the surrounding areas a glass of Wine in yr room was a No No!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.