We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the midst of Hollywood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #18 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the midst of Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel was beautiful and staff very accommodating. It is situated in a great location in the midst of all that is Hollywood. There are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance or adjacent to hotel. Hotel is in the middle of renovations but my 4 night stay was not really affected by this. When I asked for a high floor, I was given the option of staying in an unrenovated room on a higher floor or pay the surcharge for a higher floor in a a renovated room. I opted for an unrenovated room and was quite happy with my choice. (Stayed on the top floor) Room was still in pretty good condition even though it was older and showed some wear, which was to be expected, so I'm sure the updated rooms are very nice. Had fantastic views of the Hollywood sign, beautiful sunrises and the LA skyline. Hotel is a very short walk to the Metro which will get you to most of the places that you would want visit outside walking distance of Hollywood. Over all this hotel was very nice and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

Our 20th floor does offer some inspiring views. Glad you enjoyed it.

Should your travels bring you back to the LA area, kindly contact a member of our management team for assistance in planning your stay.


Warm regards,
James Howald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    596
    153
    41
    37
See reviews for
500
466
49
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here when the renovation of the main area was taking place which we hadn't been informed off, it did not cause a problem with our stay it was just non impressive when you first arrive walking through the valet parking area. we did not receive any extras as a good will gesture but never asked either.
The room was spacious, clean and fresh toileteries/coffee supplies every day and we had a view of the hollywood sign which we loved
Location was great right next to the dolby theatre so lots of tours left from that area, there was a shopping cente next to the hotel with plenty of choice for restuarents and a walk way that people visited to take pictures of the hollywood sign.
the rooftop pool was lovely, not a lot of beds but they had seated cabana areas and lovely (slightly expensive) cocktails, staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean.
We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if in LA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is really nice.. It is perfectly located for Hollywood and the walk of fame etc.
Rooms are moden and stylish, not too cramped. However it was confusing too see old style light switches and bath fittings in such a trendy hotel...
Staff very polite and courteous.
I recommend the city view on the 16th floor.. Its incredible to sleep at night with the curtains open watching E lights of downtown LA.

Only negative is it was very pricy compated to the competion in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I just checked into the hotel and so far they have done nothing to earn any repeat business or recommend to fellow co-workers who may be traveling here. Not one request was honored. Asked for one of the renovated rooms. Nope. Asked for a higher level floor. Nope. Put on their lowest floor. Was told they would call when room was ready as we had arrived early. No again. Actually walked back to see what the holdup was and when she saw us said, oh we have your room ready. Well, how nice since it was check-in time. I will keep provide further feedback once I see what else transpires this week.

Room Tip: I have nothing to offer since nothing seemed to work for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we are delighted to know that the team responded to your needs.

Should your travels bring you back to the LA area, kindly contact a member of our management team for assistance in planning your stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
James Howald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (22nd-26th Aug). Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Our room was stylish with a nice bathroom (shower was very good) and an extremely comfortable bed! The room we stayed in was a deluxe room, there was one sink, a big shower but no bath.. this wasn't a problem for us anyway as we both prefer showers! The view we had was of the highland centre and could also see the pool.

The pool is actually quite small. We were told the pool was heated however when we used it the water seemed very cold .. We did only use the pool twice, and this was around 5pm. We didn't sunbathe while there as we were out touring for most of our stay, so I can't comment on the sunbed/how the pool is located in relation to the sunlight.

The location of the hotel is great!! Especially great if your idea is to tour around LA.. There is a pathway from the hotel which leads right into the highland centre, and if you walk through here it will take you onto the Hollywood Boulevard.

We didn't eat in the hotel so we can't comment on that.

Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We weren't advised of the renovation work which was taking place however it didn't interfere with our trip. They gave us free wifi as a goodwill gesture, I thought we deserved more but hey ho. We were advised there'd be no running water in the hotel between 9-5 which we weren't at all happy about but they cancelled this. If they hadn't I would have asked for money back.

The room was newly renovated and very stylish. It was a good size and had a desk, large windows with views of the Hollywood sign, super king bed and a large bathroom with a wet room style shower, no bath.

Can't say what the lobby or pool was as we didn't see them. The location was good, right next to the Dolby theatre and shopping plaza which had good eateries if you don't want to travel far. It was about as 'central' as you can be in LA for the tourist spots - universal, Beverly Hills, sunset strip, etc. We caught the bus to universal from around the corner, this is we're most of the bus tours depart from.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
While the end result of our extensive renovation effort will be rather stunning we appreciate the related inconvenience associated with such a task.

Our renovation efforts will be coming to conclusion this fall.

So glad our location worked well for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
James Howald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you like the lights of vegas and the feeling and not staying at a regular hotel, this is the perfect hotel for you. It's located right next to the kodak theatre and the jimmy kimmel set. It's also attached to a mall and surrounded by lots of restaurants.
The first night, i was woken up in the middle of the night by teenagers partying next to my room. The hotel was very nice enough to move me to a different room and give me complimentary breakfast. Make sure you speak to Nubia for wonderful service, she was the best.
Suggestion when you're booking, i would pay the extra 30-40$ for the suite because it is definitely worth it, the suites are night and day compared to the regular room.
Overall, i was very satisfied with everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 637
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.