We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with best location in Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #17 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with best location in Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a film festival. I made my reservations with them directly and they were so friendly and answered all my important questions. The hotel is located in a mall and is steps away from Hollywood Blvd and important sites such as the Grauman's (TCL) Theatre.
The staff was super friendly and helpful. I had direct contact with the conceirge, valet, housekeeping and front desk. I am grateful for their help.
Magnum from valet valet was extra helpful when I needed to catch my ride to the airport.
The room was nice and spacious.
The beds were so comfortable. Great sheets and mattress.
I would recommend staying if you are planning a vacation in Hollywood.
It is a great large hotel.
I am looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    527
    140
    32
    27
See reviews for
442
388
39
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

So delighted to have staff (not even managers) have the leeway to make our stay relaxed, anticipate your needs, exceed your expectations. Staff seemed happy - valet parking, checkin, concierge, etc. Because of renovations (described by others on this site), they provided us with room upgrade, breakfasts, wifi. We had a great time, and again, it was so nice to not have happy staff. Breakfast at Preston's - amazing - try their version of eggs benedict. Location - perfect for tourist attractions, El Capitan right across the street. Details - flavored water in lobby. Pool and workout area and spa - clean and modern. Parking - we self-parked and saved $ in this big city. Thank you, thank you!

Room Tip: We lucked out, high floor with great view and huge bathroom. Recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived in the wee hours of saturday morning but the check-in counter was very attentive. Found out that slight mis-communication with my booking but the night time manager and staff (Britney) was accomodative and apologetic. Even asked us to have breakfast on the house the following morning.

As for location, this is the best hotel in Hollywood. Walking distance to walk of fame, chinese theater, Hollywood boulevard. Lux Bus to Disneyland also does pick-ups from the hotel, there is Hertz car rental located inside, hop-on hop-off buses around the corner.

Romm was bright and clean. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

"When someone does a small task beautifully, their whole environment is affected by it."
- Jerry Seinfeld

I'm a people person... solely because of the interaction w/ certain staff, this stay could've been 1 star, but because of other persona connections and care by other staff, I'm going w/ 4 stars and will plan to be back.

Experiences, In order of appearance:

Concierge, pre-visit: 5 stars - couple of days before our stay, they dropped me a line noting the renovation, possible impacts, and work-arounds. Very much appreciated and while I had concerns about the stay, the customer service had me reassured and the forthrightness of their team impressed me.

Parking, Valet & Bell Desk: 2 stars - Unorganized, unprepared, unforgiving, unfriendly. Pulled in to the parking lanes which were not signed very well and ended up in the maze of a parking lot instead of valet... took some doing but finally circled back and got in the far right lane to valet... only to have the lead valet pretty much yell at me to move the car forward 2-3 feet, just as my daughter & wife were exiting, they instinctively retreated back in to the car. After stopping again, I pulled my own bags out of the trunk, well, they came to help at the last bag. I use the valet to make things EASY... for the price it better be here it wasn't.

Front Desk/Registration: 5 stars - Initial check in was fast, friendly, & informative - both desk guys that afternoon were "on Point". Later after I had an issue with pool, they squashed it quickly & professionally to my satisfaction. Sean was a life saver and the primary reason we'll be back after a uncomfortable run-in w/ Engineering staff.

Room - 4 stars - Good sized Junior Suite, comfy chairs & bed, 40+" flat screen, lots of extra power outlets, air filter vent CLEARLY needed cleaning, dust bunnies peeking out visibly. Huge bathroom, extra pillows, modular workstation & chairs, pretty clean carpet had a few spots in traffic areas. Great views of the Hollywood hills and the infamous Hollywood sign from our room.

Room Service: 5 stars - Ever wait so long for Room Service you forgot you ordered it? NEVER here... food comes piping hot and almost as quick as expected table service, under 30 minutes for a NY Steak, Brown Derby Cobb salad, Club Sandwich, Pulled Pork Grilled Cheese, and a Cheese plate. Quality all the way around - steak was perfect, fries were still hot and crisp - yes crisp fries from room service!

Amenities & Location: 5 Stars - Walk right on to Hollywood Blvd. or the attached Hollywood & Highland shopping center. Watch out for the tour hawkers on the street - very aggressive.

Room Tip: Do the Junior Suite, includes free internet & $50 dining credit, you can face either Hollywood H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked and unlike the others we were informed that there would be renovation going on... as is at most other hotels at this time (we checked). We were there for 8 nights and the person that checked us in, Sean, was by far the greatest person I have ever dealt with at any hotel, ever. He was on top of everything so kudos to him. The Reno started and Valet moved into the garage which was kind of a cluster but the guy that helped us the most down there, Kevin, was awesome as well (if not for him it would only be "average"). The "Very Good" and not "Excellent" is because of the valet cluster.
The views from the rooms are absolutely fantastic. From Hollywood Hills views to great sweeping views of LA. The room was clean and very nice and the bed/chairs were comfortable. Bathroom was nice as well. Nice desk to work at if needed and plenty of light.

Room Tip: If you want views of the hollywood hills and downtown get a room facing highland but closer to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We probably had choosen a bad time - the Hotel was undergoing some refurbishement - which is fine if you are told ..... in our case nobody did . I started to wonder what was going on when we arrived in our room on the 16th Floor and some of the furniture seemed to miss and odd enough no " Do not disturb Card " anywhere . As the view was amazing and we had made arrangements for dinner we headed straight out without confronting the front desk - Mistake . The next morning housekkeping started repeadly banging at our room door - ignoring our selfmade post it "DND " - after the third time we decided to move out- to find out that the water had been turned off. Loews Hollywood never again...views great , rooms ok although worn and for a Hotel of that catagory not the cleanest

Room Tip: definetely high floor view over Hollywood Blvd and Chinese Theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience the renovation efforts currently underway may have caused.

We regret the confusion on our part that surrounded your room assignment.

Feel free to contact a member of hotel leadership team by calling 323 856 1200 with any questions or concerns.

Warmly,

James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

At this hotel you will have no lobby. Massive renovation has taken that completely out of service. You will not be informed of this when you book... you get a letter two days before your arrival... after it is too late to make other plans.

On check it, it took about 45 minutes for the hotel staff to figure out how to make our room keys work so we could get in and go to bed. The supposedly non-smoking room smells of cigarette smoke. The bathroom sink was completely stopped up and it took the building staff five hours the next morning to get that fixed. Part of that long delay was a period during which all water was shut off due to the renovations below. And for this, you will pay full freight.

The place is insanely hectic as staff scramble around trying to keep the bases covered.

Loews expects to surprise you with greatly diminished value and continue to enjoy full profit.

This business and recreational traveler will avoid their properties in the future.

Room Tip: Nice views from the higher rooms to the north of the hills and Hollywood sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the candid review of your recent stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel.

In the coming months the enhancements presently underway throughout the hotel will result in the grand reveal of an expansive and beatified space that is warm and elegant.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience the renovation efforts currently underway may have caused.

We would be delighted to further discuss the opportunities that you encountered.

Feel free to contact a member of our hotel leadership team by calling 323 856 1200 with any questions or concerns.

Warmly,

James Howald
VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TravelClick, Otel, Reservation Counter and Booking.com so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;