We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood "island"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #27 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hollywood "island"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Loews is a very nice, modern place amidst the hotspots of Hollywood. The hotel itself is quiet and perfectly located. We had a wonderful room with a great view towards the Hollywood sign and downtown. The bed was so comfy! The only downturn is the bathroom. Compared to the modern stylish hotel it is rather old and very basic.

The staff are friendly and helpful with bookings, luggage and recommendations.
The hotel is excellently linked with the shopping mall and dining courses. We had delicious crepes and ice-cream.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Their pancakes made to order with fresh berries was yummy! In the lobby there is a Starbucks.
You can easily walk from the hotel into the mall and feel safe. After sunset I wouldn't walk too far from the hotel and Highland center as the area is a bit shabby. During the day there is plenty of action. but be careful...everybody wants to sell and make money from you. All in all Hollywood is rather disappointing but a perfect starting point for sightseeing tours in and around LA.
I would go back to Loews whenever in Hollywood!

Room Tip: view to the sign and downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    396
    109
    20
    21
See reviews for
311
263
31
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Loews Hollywood. We arrived at 2pm only to be told check in is at 4pm and that we could upgrade our room by $10 dollars a night or wait til 4pm..We chose to wait as it was already pricey. Our room was spacious and clean overlooking the pool but in th adjoining room we had noisy "ethnic" peope who choice to sing "ethnic" songs every hour until 5 am when we had had enough and banged on the wall and yelled to shut up! The next morning we asked to be moved. We were moved to a higher floor where the aircondioner "klunked" all night but we put up with this rather than the noisy singers. This room was also not as nice as the first room. Construction was a little noisy too and the housekeeping staff knocked on the door at 8 am to clean. The lobby was clean but had many young men in their late teens or early 20s running around....the also slouched all over the chairs in the lobby so we could sit. Door greeters were pleasant but we didnt see many other staff. The position was good with everything at the door, shopping centre, eateries and the hop on hop off bus. Even though we had a bad experience I would probably stay here again just for the position.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Valets welcome you like family (the ones who like you). A very nice, professional person greets you when you enter registration and makes sure your name is in the queue - makes check in very quick and easy. Nice feature.

Rooms are super clean. Nicely decorated. The bathroom door opens into the room entry way, which is inconvenient. Great place for a pocket door so you don't run into the door when accessing the closet or entry door. Lots of hangers as well as ironing board and iron. Nice, big safe in the closet.

OUCH! Also, they installed a little door stop in the hallway, ON THE FLOOR in front of the mirrored closet doors and how many times do you think you can run into that sucker during your stay?? Dozens, and it really kills your toes if you are barefoot. Suggestion: Please put the door stops above the closet doors, folks!
Coffee and tea in the rooms. Nice bedding and ultra comfortable beds. Black-out curtains shut out the light and seem to shut out the street traffic on Highland, too. NICE.
12 NOON check out is appreciated.

This nice hotel is RIGHT DOWN THE STREET, a short half mile walk from the Hollywood Bowl and attached to the Dolby Theatre and restaurants. You can walk to and from the Bowl very easily from this hotel. Don't park and expect to get out of the Bowl after a concert, and remain happy. Stay at this hotel and keep the glow of the great concert you just loved. Have a cocktail after the concert and enjoy yourself. (NOTE to management: plan your staffing better and have adequate people working the bar after big concerts). The bar stocks Plymouth Gin and they make a fantastic martini, and the staff is super nice and accommodating, albeit short-handed.

Only issue with the hotel: The plumbing in the guest rooms needs attention. Don't flush the toilet while someone is in the shower. The shower pipes rattled and vibrated, and make odd noises. The water temps ranged from cold to scalding and then no warm at all, without moving the handle. Nice toiletries. Rough, stiff towels.

Overall, a beautiful hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevators that ding all night. High up so you don't hear constant st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

An amazing hotel. The minute you walk in all you can see is class. The front desk staff were very friendly and answered any questions I had. We got an upgrade room on the 14th floor, a corner suite, with views over Hollywood from our bed! Floor to ceiling windows along the 2 facing edges to the amazing view. Room was very spacious, easily fit 20 people in. Bathroom was very big aswell. The hotel is situated right on the corner of Hollywood and highland, and on top of a shopping and eatery mall. Takes 2mins to walk to the Dolby theatre where the academy awards are held. Then next to that is graumanns Chinese theatre with the famous footprints. You really can't get a better location with the style and the price. The metro station is under the mall and its only 1 stop north to Universal Studios.
The only negatives I experienced was our mini bar was half empty when we checked in and did not get re-filled our whole 5 night stay, even after I had called the front desk about the issue. There was even a half empty bottle of wine in the fridge. And upon check out they had charged everything that was missing to the bill! And also charged to the bill was a family's worth of food from the restaurant! It was just myself and my girlfriend staying. But after talking with the front desk they were very understanding and apologetic and cleared those from the bill.
The last negative was the wifi. The room had terrible service, but found super fast service if I sat on the toilet!
Overall a really great, elegant hotel with friendly staff and amazing facilities! ( the pool is great, and has a view )
For Hollywood, you really can't get a better location.
Will be staying here when I return to LA again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great location for family of four with kids that did not necsarily enjoy walking. We were able to shop, sightsee and eat all really close. We also went to a LA Dodgers game whilst we stayed here not far in a Taxi at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in April for 4 nights. If you wish to do the Hollywood experience, this is a good, solid place to stay. I had a good stay there, though I can't say that the experience was extraordinary or "wow"! But then again, I wasn't paying an arm and a leg for my room and I wasn't in my room much. Good Hollywood hotels are not cheap (though there are a couple of small, lower class hotels in the area that are good for washing and sleeping if you want cheap), but the Loews Hollywood's price was reasonable. What made it more reasonable was the parking. The hotel is located to the north of and right next to the Dolby (formerly Kodak) Theatre and the shopping mall attached to said theatre. There is a gigantic, multi-level parking garage underneath this complex which, during my stay, charged $13.00 a day (no in-and-out privileges). If you go in the parking garage's elevator to the 3rd floor of the parking/shopping mall complex, you will find access to the hotel's mezzanine level (I believe it's the mezzanine, but it goes into the hotel). Of course, you can pay an exorbitant amount of money to have the hotel valet service park the car for you and have in-and-out privileges, but at least you have a choice and $13.00 a day is not too bad for the area.

The hotel is upscale with full service and luxury prices. There is a nice bar in the lobby and the wait staff is excellent, courteous and professional, as are the receptionists and the concierge. There is also a hotel restaurant (I did not go), as I normally don't like eating in hotel restaurants because I can usually find food as good or better on the street for less money. (You can tell I like to economize, even when I stay at an upscale hotel! We all work too hard for our money, so we need to be careful with it!), as is the case in Hollywood. Hollywood, however, has an interesting mix of divey little restaurants, decent store delis, and expensive even overpriced restaurants, so you have your pick. But anyone at any budget should be able to find a restaurant within a couple of blocks of the hotel that will suit their needs.

I intend to keep Loews Hollywood Hotel on my list of places to stay in the LA area. I found it clean, safe, comfortable and the staff was quite professional and courteous. It's a great base for exploring Hollywood and L.A.

In short, the hotel was comfortable, clean, and attractive. The bathroom had good toiletries and I was able to get a free razor (as I had forgotten mine) with no trouble. I even had a view of the Hollywood sign! The windows do not open, so no fresh air!

Given a reasonable price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We got too our hotel very early and we were looked after from the start! Frederick checked us in straight away and once he found out that we were on our honeymoon he upgraded us too a superier room with a view. He was very friendly and his service was very professional. The bellboy was very helpful as well. The room was well sized, clean and the bed was very comfy. The view was good and we could see the Hollywood sign from our room. The location was great, next door was the shopping centre/mall. Starbucks is only a minute walk away. It has a liquor shop across the road and plenty of restaurants in the mall. Its close too everything with the chinese theatre and the famous walk of fame less than a 10min walk.
Overall very enjoyable stay and i would recommend this hotel too anyone looking for a hotel too stay in Hollywood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel
Renaissance Hollywood
Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TravelClick, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.