We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value in L.A.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #16 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best value in L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

In the past few months I've stayed at both of the W's, the Mondrian, Sunset Towers, Hyatt's "Andaz" property on Sunset Blvd., the Avalon in Beverly Hills, and both the Hyatt and Intercontinental in Century City (half way between Hollywood and Santa Monica).

I ended up at the Loews at Hollywood Blvd and Vine, adjacent to the landmark Graumann's Chinese Theatre, via a blind-bid on Priceline.

Here is why this venue is a deal: Fussy travelers like me would never think of Loews as a 4-star place to stay. Especially in L.A., where there is so much competition in this tier. The Loews brand was tarnished by middle-brow cineplex movie experiences -- and never achieved the aura of, say, Virgin (another experience retailer that crossed over into the travel category).

Therefore, this hotel is priced well-below the competition. Call it an arbitrage play. Examples:

- The Loews pool is on the 5th floor, and has a gym that extends to an outdoor canopy. It's a big pool. Compare it to the pools at Mondrian, Sunset Towers and Andaz, which are more like decorations

- Loews is not in the middle of nowhere; It's part of an outdoor mall complex that includes Starbucks, a USPS, bank, etc. Compare that to the Hyatt and Intercontinental in Century City -- you need the company limo to drive a mile to get a latte. Oh, unless you want to pay 7 bucks, including a modest gratutiy, for a double at the Intercon.

- The Loews staff is as smart and cool as any of the other properties I listed above

I have mixed feelings about sharing my big L.A. secret by potentially pushing the demand-curve to the right for this venue but this hotel is now my ATF in LA.

Room Tip: For any hotel in the world: The higher the better. Why? Bigger views. Less noise. Better serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    584
    148
    38
    34
See reviews for
490
450
45
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My favorite part of this hotel was the mall. The hotel rooms are pretty nice and you can get some great views. We had the view of the Hollywood sign. The rate of the hotel rooms are pretty expensive. This area, in general for hotels, is very expensive. To stay in a nice hotel, you will pay a premium price so please prepare for that:) Its a great location and everything is in walking distance. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I got a hotel reservation at the last minute for an overnight stay in Hollywood. Most places were dreadfully expensive, but we got a good deal here. It just recently changed into the Loews brand and their customer service measured up to Loews of our past travels. It is just up from the walk of stars and the room was nice, modern, and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Exhale is the new spa in Loews. While they aren't adding the mind/body fusion classes started until August, the spa is still fabulous. The fitness center is small and private and situated by the heated outdoor pool with amazing views of Hollywood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here with two teenage girls right before the academy awards. It was a perfect location to experience Hollywood. The hotel is attached to a mall area with some nice stores and a range of restaurants. It is adjacent to the Graumann theatre with all the hand prints & the walk of fame (stars). Madame Toussauds is right there too. Several tours start right there too. Yes it is very touristy but if you are being a tourist then that is okay. Our room was very nice, the bathroom great, and a decent view. Staff was friendly especially the doormen/women. The area beyond a few blocks is not great but not terrible if you stick to the main roads. You can catch a bus to the Santa Monica Pier by walking down Highland a few blocks.

Room Tip: Join the rewards program for Free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loews service starts at curbside: they learn your name, guard your car, bring it at a moment's notice. Don't walk from attached parking structure- these valets are perfect. They load baggage, even my tote for the little walk to the desk- Check-in is speedy, with no lack of friendliness. Stay in a luxury hotel? Yes! Note the pool and cabanas? You will be a star out there in your Speedo and sun-specs, keep them guessing-are you someone famous? Save for this experience. Please, have some citrus-laden water, there for your convenience. Note the rocket ship trash cans by the elevator? Everything is artistic and pleasing-angular and shined to a tee. The room is so nice, view the expanse of LA-there really are no bad views. Right at the entrance to Hollywood at Highland and El Capitan theatres, Magic Castle. We had the star treatment here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It is delightful to know that our team provided you with "Star Treatment" from your arrival to your departure. That's our goal here at Loews Hollywood Hotel!

We look forward to rolling out the red carpet for you when you return.

Warm regards ,
James

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel with my partner for 3 nights and I would gladly go back.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the middle of Hollywood blvd and I could see the Hollywood sign from outside my window.
The rooms were beautiful and the beds very comfortable!
All the staff were extremely nice, always friendly and opening doors for us.
Live music played at the downstairs bar every night.
Could not say a bad word about this place! can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We can't wait for you to come back either!

Thank you for your feed back.

See you soon!
James

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 637
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.