We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in the heart of Hollywood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #19 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great option in the heart of Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for work in January - the first time under this one name (once under previous owners). Stylish hotel in the heart of all the weirdness that is Hollywood. I love the location, close to the metro, clubs, restaurants and all the touristy stuff you want. Room was updated, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff, efficient front desk, good lobby bar. Only issue was at check in I requested a quiet room as I'm a light sleeper and what did I get?----the lowest room to the street as possible, I was routinely woken up with the street noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    505
    139
    28
    26
See reviews for
423
363
35
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here on a holiday to the US in late December. This place is great, especially when you consider the price.

The hotel is in a great location, on the corner of N Highland and Hollywood Blvd, right amongst it. There is access to the Highland Mall from the hotel, and there is a metro station about a 2 minute walk down to Hollywood Blvd. Even to get up to Burbank to see Warner Bros./Universal was only about $14. The hotel is also pretty common from what I could tell so the supershuttle from the airport knew exactly where we were going, as did the tour busses that picked up and dropped us off. The hotel is roughly 40 minutes drive from LAX,

The lobby is huge with a bar to the left as you walk in. The reception desk is right at the back, we checked in in about 5 minutes and we had a high room overlooking the Hollywood hills and we could see the Hollywood sign.

The room was very large, with a big king size bed, bedside tables, big tv, desk, chair and lounge chair. There was enough space for two people and all the luggage very comfortably. The heating/cooling units are specific to each room and the controller is mounted on the wall.

There is a nice big pool in the hotel as well with plenty of room to lounge. Being December though, it was a bit cold for a swim.

The room, and hotel in general, were also very clean. The rooms were cleaned promptly each day and we never had any issues. Quite honestly again, for the price, location, and comfort of this hotel, we would definitely choose to stay here again, should we find ourselves back in LA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is fine, and location superb. Check in was very prompt and the self park (which the valet mentioned when asked) was $10 vs $28 or something for valet. The only problem we had was that the internet kept kicking us out. Got lucky enough to get the hotel on priceline.com so can't speak to the normal price of the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Loews Hollywood Hotel could not have been a better choice. Location, location, location! The hotel is in the middle of it all in Hollywood, you are literally steps to the absolute best view/photo spot of the Hollywood Sign, The Hollywood Walk of Fame and all the other fun spots. It's an easy jaunt to the coast and other must-see spots around town.
The service is good and rooms are spacious and clean. Dining of all sorts can be found all around the hotel, but stop for a great buffet breakfast as Preston's. The made to order options are tasty and the service is very attentive.
The lobby is lively, with a cozy bar and good people watching.
Good value in a fun location.
The only complaint we had relates to calling down to the valet to have our car brought around. If we called directly to valet, Sophie/Sophia (could she be using her real name?) answered and then hung up....several times in a row. Rude. Other than that, the staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's hard for me to be pleased with a hotel that charges $12.95 per day PER DEVICE for extremely slow wifi. So slow that I tried to load a speedtest to tell you how slow but it took too long. Most people have multiple devices on which we need to use the internet for work when traveling - this should just be free. If not free, then at least charge it to my room for the whole trip and give me one code to enter so I don't need to log in daily on each device. But really, it's embarrassing to charge for terrible internet. Also, they charge $38/night for valet or $10 for self park that's kind of far away. If you just want a clean bed near the walk of fame, you'll probably be happy here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here during Sexy Hair conference. The hotel is attached to Highland and Hollywood shopping center, which is very convenient if you want to do a little shopping. Also the hotel is right next to Hollywood Blvd, which is the walk of fame. We had a double room on the eight floor. We had a great view of the hollywood sign. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel room and the water pressure in the shower was amazing! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

All is nicely redone and very slick LA style. Reception is spacious and our meeting rooms managed very well by the business staff. The business room worked fine and is 24 hours. Very impressed with my room, large, stylish, great bath, comfortable bed. Go high and get the city view if you like the city lights - the hotel assumes you want a hill view.... I got onto the 19th floor and watching the sunrise over LA was great. Lots to do around Hollywood Blvd.

Room Tip: Go high and get the city view if you like the city lights - the hotel assumes you want a hill view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.