We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #18 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I recently did a pre baby getaway to LA and stayed in the Loews Hollywood. It was a very nice hotel with great accessibility to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theater, as well as a number of Hollywood Tourist attractions. It is also connected to a mall if you are into shopping- but you will not find anything that is not at your normal mall. My new thing for LA is to find the nicest hotel for the price you want to spend because you have to drive anyway to most locations. Loews, all in all- a great stay.

Room Tip: no need to upgrade to a junior suite the regular rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Congratulations on the forthcoming arrival of your little one!

We are delighted to have been host to the “pre-baby get away.”

We hope to welcome you back soon when your travels bring you back to Hollywood as your family continues to grow.

Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    600
    153
    41
    37
See reviews for
501
468
49
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel right in the centre of Hollywood. Hotel has an entrance in the Hollywood Shopping Centre where the Dolby Theatre is and a lot of eating places, shops etc. We splashed out and had a Junior King Suite for the three of us it was fabulous 2 king beds a two seat sofa bed lots of room. The staff are great we had an issue with the wi-fi and once we spoke to the front desk they removed the charges. Great happy hour (5 to 8) in the lobby bar. Excellent stay and we will go back there where all the action is.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Best location imaginable. Friendly workers
Great location
I was disappointed that the Internet service was 12.95 per day.
I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.
The location is great for first time tourists and those without a car.
The accommodated us in every way.

Room Tip: Do not sleep on sofa bed. Upgrade to a jr suite is much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing Loews Hollywood Hotel as home for your first trip to Hollywood.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and hope that you made cherished memories.

See you again soon!

Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel attempted to give us a room with a City view when a view of the Hollywood sign was requested. Was upgraded to a Suite instead as they obviously did not have any Deluxe rooms with a view of the Hollywood sign available.
Kids pack was not as advertised on the Loews website. Also, had to ask for the pack as the receptionist did not appear to know about them.
Security did not allow my family to re-enter the hotel from the 5th Floor (Pool entrance). Had to go down the escalators at Highland in order to re-enter the hotel via the Hotels/Shops.
It's the little things that make a hotel stand out and unfortunately Loews Hollywood did not meet my expectations for this visit. With a large number of hotels available in this area it is unlikely that we would return to Loews when visiting Los Angeles again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We are sorry to learn that your experience was less than expected.

Please feel free to contact me should you reconsider Loews Hollywood Hotel when your travels bring you back to LA.

I would be delighted to assist in planning your visit.

Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
P 323 491 1215
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

**I rate this property 3.5 stars but Tripadvisor does not allow half stars**

LOCATION

I booked 2 rooms at the Loews Hotel Hollywood for 3 nights. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Hollywood, which is a touristy area. The Walk of Fame, Dolby Theatre, Chinese Theatre, Highland Shopping Center, various shops and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Universal Studios is 1 stop away by train. The closest station is a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel. The Beverly Hills Shopping Center and Santa Monica Beach are about a 10-15 minute and 30 minute taxi drive respectively. For the latter, it costs about $45-50 (including tip).

THINGS I LIKED

The rooms are of a good size, very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable – probably, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in a hotel. The front desk upgraded both my rooms so that I had views of the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood sign (I was on the top floor, Level 20). The view was very nice. The service at the front desk was friendly, efficient and professional. This also extended to the concierge and bell boys. They responded to my requests promptly, such as an apparently odd request of having the newspaper delivered to my room each morning.

At the lobby, there is a café where you can have a reasonably-priced breakfast and Starbucks coffee. I found this very convenient.

THINGS I DID NOT LIKE

Internet is not complimentary ($12.95/24 hours). On occasion, it was quite slow. However, after raising this with the front desk, the hotel immediately waived my Internet charges, which I appreciated. One of my rooms had dated furniture whilst the other room had relatively newer furnishings. The older room had chipped bath tiles and I did not like the bath-tub shower with the slide-across curtains. I would have much preferred a shower with a glass shower screen.

I was not satisfied with the hotel’s stingy offerings of tea bags, coffee and toiletries. I was only given 1 tea bag and coffee bag every day. The cups were also disposable (not glass), which I found very odd in a hotel room, particularly when this is supposed a 4 star hotel.

Overall, I would give this hotel 3.5 stars. I may return to this hotel again in the future, but I am more inclined to stay at more glamorous hotels located in West Hollywood and Beverly Hills the next time I visit Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors which have a view of the Hollywood Hills and sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel.

We are excited about our forth coming renovation, beginning in early March, which will improve the function and range of our guest rooms with inviting interiors that reflect warmth and elegance.

It is delightful to know that you enjoyed the lobby food and beverage options and that our front office team was able to resolve your internet needs to your satisfaction.

We hope you will return when your travels bring you back to LA.
Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was pleased to be able to check in significantly earlier than the listed check in time.

The bell desk staff provided relevant and useful information and assistance with our luggage convoy.

The room had a great view of the Hollywood sign and the city, the bathroom was spacious and very clean.

The location was perfect walking distance to just about everything, and the proximity to the shops and restaurants kept our bellies full and our luggage convoy growing.

The only negative was the lack of wifi, of all the hotels we stayed this was the first to not offer free access.

We had several parcels delivered before our arrival and initially was told only 1 had arrived. It was only after paying $12.95 for wifi and being able to produce the electronic proof of delivery that the other parcels were located. Although frustrating this was not enough to shift our opinion that we would return to this hotel for future trips.

Would recommend self parking as the easier more affordable option.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It is wonderful to know that our team provided you with useful “in the know” information.

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy a view of the iconic Hollywood sign.

It is a delight to know that our team provided you with a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to America & the first place we stayed in so our first impression was quite favourable. We had just travelled 17 hours from Australia with 2 children & were pretty exhausted so when we arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in we were told that our room was ready & we could go straight up. The room was very clean & the beds comfortable. Location was brilliant as we could walk everywhere & also catch the train to Universal Studios located just down from our hotel. There was a shopping mall right next door & the hop on hop off Redline bus tour right outside the hotel which we caught to the Santa Monica Pier. We could also see the Hollywood sign from our window. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for tourists wanting to experience LA for the first time & for a fairly decent price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
What an honor to know Loews Hollywood Hotel was your first impression of approachable luxury lodging in the U.S.

It sounds like your family created some terrific memories during your stay. (Universal Studios is one of our favorites too!)

Thank you for your feedback.
Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 637
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.