We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #17 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay! We love the hotel, room was clean, quiet, had a view to the Church in the back and we could see the Hollywood Sign from a corner. It is greatly located at walking distance to the Kodak Center and the Hollywood walk of stars. The front desk was attentive and helpful. We saw lots of families visiting and everyone looked happy. The ride to and from the airport was comfortable and not far. We will return when coming back visiting LA.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy New Year! Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that our team provided you with friendly and attentive service.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    538
    142
    32
    31
See reviews for
447
401
42
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is located right next to Chinese- and Dolby theaters, so you cannot stay in much more central location in Hollywood. Just few minutes to Hollywood boulevard hassle.
I didn't like the vibe of Hollywood Bouleward though. Way too many homeless and drunk people there.

Self parking is downstairs of the Mall in the next building. You should get your luggage to the lobby first and only then drive to the garage as it is quite a long way from there to the hotel.
Price for the parking was 10 dollars for 24 hours. It's not bad for Hollywood at all.

Reception service was friendly and effective and the room was quite ok for the price.
In our bill there was a charge for internet connection even though we didn't use it. When I told about it to the front desk it was removed immediately. No need to argue about it. Well handled.

There seemed to be a nice pool area too but it was too cold to use it this time of year.

Next time in LA area I might prefer staying closer to Sunset Strip or maybe somewhere by the sea like Santa Monica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are thrilled to know that our iconic location served you well on your recent visit.

Indeed our front office team is one of the best. It is wonderful to know that they provided you with prompt and friendly service.

On your return to the area please note that Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is moments away from Loews Hollywood Hotel. Both facilities would be delighted to welcome you back!

For a complete list of all our exciting destinations visit Loewshotels.com.

Warm regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The concierges though extremely busy always take time to assist. I was especially impressed by a young concierge by the name of Marcy. She went out of her way to handle issues from a car rental company I used (avoid renting from downtown Hollywood .. usr airport or alternative location s) I would rate this place a 5 primarily because of location, service and room cleanliness and maintenance

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are delighted to know that our concierge team went above and beyond your expectations.
The team takes great pride in what they do. Great to hear that it shows!
We will be certain to pass on your kinds words to Marcy.
Thank you for the feedback on your recent experience.
Warm Regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I live in LA and had a business conference at the Loews Hollywood Hotel. The service is excellent. Everyone from valet who makes you feel like a VIP to housekeeping to the front desk. The rooms are clean, spacious and minimalist. Nothing fancy but everything you need. The beds are very comfortable, there is an in room safe, and an adjustable modern desk and multiple outlets to plug in all our gadgets around the room.

The main conference room is spacious and the food was excellent. The stairs and escalators were cumbersome but you get used to it. The breakout sessions with 500 people using all small conference rooms is a physical nightmare as the hall is too small.

The best part is the location of the hotel. The shopping center is an e tension of the hotel with the best shops and restaurants. You're right on highland and can walk around sunset blvd and enjoy the sights.

The only complaint I have which is hard to fix in such a large hotel is the paper thin walls. I could hear my neighbors, but worst of all I heard everyone who walked by. My room was across from the elevators so I heard the bing every time . There is a gap under the door and it allows all the noise to amplify. Unfortunately that severely ruined my sleep.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to know that the hotel’s amazing location served you well during your visit.

Our goal is indeed to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have stayed at Loews Hollywood hotel four times now. I used to stay at the Roosevelt, and while I still like that hotel, I have to say that as long as I can afford it I will stay here whenever in Hollywood area from now. Very nice, big rooms. I usually stay in a junior suite. Even in the off season (is there really any off season for LA?) you are going to pay over $200 a room usually, but there are not to many places this nice in area that you won't. I love how the hotel is attached to Hollywood and Highland shopping area, it's just a 5 minutes elevator ride and walk from almost any room in the hotel. Good shopping, great dining only minutes away. Also only minutes away from Graumans and the walk of fame. A great hotel located in the center of the action in Hollywood area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to the Loews Hollywood Hotel.

We are so very pleased to that you are able to take advantage of the hotel’s iconic location in the heart of Hollywood.

On your next visit be certain to say hello. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I must agree with the taxi driver that drove me from the airport to this hotel. It is the best hotel in Los Angeles. Well, at least in its price range. The staff is very professional and polite. It has the best location in Hollywood. The room is spacious and clean. Excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and that our team delivered such an excellent experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy New Year from Loews Hollywood Hotel!
Warm regards,

James Howald
VIP Services Manager
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, but when it made the changeover from a Marriott Renaissance to Loews this summer, my July stay was a pain. There was an error in reservations. Then there was an error in payent and I was double charged. When I disputed and said I found the whole thing quite irritating as it is still be dealt with in December I was told by billing to "be mindful of who I was talking to, I was not talking to the front desk." I did not expect to be chastised for their error. Needless to say, my semi-annual visits will not be spent at Loews, Hollywood. They are not nearly the same caliber service-wise as the Marriott. I don't like to feel like I'm an intrusion when I'm far from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Loews Hollywood Guest,

Please accept my apologies on the billing error you encountered and any confusion resulting from the transition of the hotel to the Loews Hollywood earlier this year. I can understand your frustration working almost 6 months to resolve it. Please contact me at your convenience and I will work with you directly to correct it.

Sean Steenson
Director of Operations
ssteenson@loewshotels.com
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A , Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#16 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 637
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 632 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.