We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Hollywood Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Hollywood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Tickets to Universal
Ranked #21 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great location and services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Loews Hollywood is a great property with wonderful service and facilities. I was here for four days attending a pubic transit conference (Rail-Volution) at the Loews without a car. Hollywood is rather tacky, but all the services you need are close by. The hotel is contemporary and stylish, and all the staff are genuinely friendly. We arrived at the hotel at 2:00A exhausted after a difficult travel day from Portland, and we were upgraded to a one room suite!
LA Metro Red Line Hollywood/Highland station is next to the hotel, giving you direct and fast access to downtown LA and other parts of LA given connections on other Metro lines.

Pluses:
1) Location is great with easy access to public transit. One stop on the Red Line (2 minutes) to Universal City and about 20 minutes to Union Station and downtown LA. Frequent service from Union Station to LAX via Flyaway shuttle. Many restaurants just steps away from the hotel.
2) Contemporary rooms, most likely still a holdover from the Renaissance brand. The hotel, reportedly, will be undergoing a renovation with the change to the Loews brand.
3) Very spacious fitness room well equipped with treadmills, ellipticals, recumbent and upright cycles.
4) Large outdoor infinity pool next to the fitness room perfect for laps. I would estimate the length at about 25 yards.

Minuses (minor):
1) $12.95 internet charge; $38 valet parking charge
2) Very poor in-room coffee

I will definitely return to the Loews on a future trip to the LA area, especially if the Hollywood/Westwood/Universal City area is my focus.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have great views of the Hollywood hills or downtown LA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    802
    197
    55
    52
See reviews for
707
639
64
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

In the midle of hollywood, nest to the dolby Theatre, if you wan´t to stay in LA, visiting Hollywood, this is the best hotel to stay, people are very kind to you, the hotel is connected to the shopping of the Dolby Theatre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were there for three days and we were warned hollywood was a little tacky but we quite enjoyed being in the centre of the hustle and bustle for a few days. Great people watching and the hotel is so close to the subway - great for access to Universal studios - one stop away. The location of this hotel is really central and our room was lovely. The staff were super nice and the buffet breakfasts were superb and much more than a buffet. You could get almost anything cooked to order as part of the buffet. While there, we discovered the joys of waffles. They were delicious!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Travelled to Hollywood to visit Universal Studio's for a few days after a week at Disneyland.

When in LA we usually stay at The Peninsula in Beverly Hills. When I contacted the Peninsula, they told me that we should probably stay closer to Universal due to the traffic congestion in LA, they suggested the new Loews, formally a Renaissance.

The experience at Loews was first rate. Check in was a breeze, a late check out (7pm) was arranged for a nominal fee, concierge was helpful, front desk staff was exceptional, particularly a young lady named Whitnee, who always went out of her way to help and remembered our kids (2 & 5) names several times.

We ate several meals 'in room' and were astounded by the quality of the meals. We ate everything from Filet Mignon, to flatbread pizzas that they made any way we asked, to hamburgers, breakfast, pancakes, etc.

Prices were high, but fair. phone service was exemplary (Shane).

The hotel is connected to the Dolby Theater (formerly the Kodak Theater), next to Madame Tussauds Waz Museum and Mann Chinese theater. It is alos connected to Hollywood and Highland shopping district, which is a high end mall with a nice food court.

We wandered into a Disney Concert for some dude named' Austin' and went bowling at Lucky Strikes - Hollywood.

If you want to stay in Hollywood, Loews certainly fit the bill.

Hotel is 11 years old, recently updated and has state of the art amenities. We had a 1BR suite overlooking the mall and Hollywood Blvd. Other suites looked out at the "Hollywood" sign. In room mini bar and all the attribuments. No wonder my friend at the Peninsula suggested the holel.

It is one subway stop away from Universal, but we drove with the kids instead (3 miles).

Just a great place to stay with a well trained and very helpful staff.

Pricey? a bit.

Worth it? every penny

Hooray for Hollywood

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking at your preference either the Hollywood hills or downtown Hollywood. Both ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Easily one of the best locations for LA and we struggled a lot to find the right balance before arriving so were pleased with our research! Right in the heart of Hollywood, we could see the sign from the window! I didn't expect the hotel to be connected to the Hollywood & Highland centre but it only served to add to the experience with everything on your door step. Modern and elegant finish to the room and a comfortable sleeping area.
Drawbacks: Wi-fi was far too expensive as was the mini-bar (wi-fi available from Starbucks next door).
Tip - don't use the valet parking and do it yourself for less than half the price!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

After some negative reviews we were somewhat apprehensive after our travel agent booked Loews. However our fears were eased from the reception we received from the moment we stepped out of our taxi! From the helpful doorman to the delightful receptionist and the most informative and positive concierge we had a 5 star experience. It continued into our room which was one of the biggest we had experienced in our monthlong US/Canada holiday (and we loved the "Aussie" plumbing in the bathroom) with all the facilities we needed. It's central location right in the heart of Hollywood and next to a train station simplified our holiday planning. We opted for dining outside the hotel, eating at several of the restaurants that came highly recommended by the concierge. Breakfast at nearby Mel's was our first morning destination after the hotel restaurant had a long waiting line, and we patronized the same venue for the rest of the holiday for an inexpensive but good quality, filling meal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend and enjoyed ourselves. We'd stayed here before when the hotel was a Renaissance. According to the bellman, it switched to a Loew's in June of 2012. So far the hotel is the same, but word is they will be starting a $33M renovation after the Emmys in 2013. The 5th floor outdoor pool is great and has views of the Hollywood sign. The hotel adjoins a small outdoor mall, and is on the Hollywood walk of fame right across the street from the El Capitan theater and around the corner from Mann's Chinese Theatre. If you want your photo taken with celeb/character look-alikes, this is the place. At the hotel's Spa Luce, I got a pedi and my brows done. The pedi was not at all relaxing -- I got the hour long version (instead of the 30 minute color change) and the gal seemed like she just wanted to get it over with, and I kept having to tell her to take it easy -- it hurt! And the "vegan" nail polish didn't stay on very long. But the gal who did my brows (she was from Brazil) was fantastic. Way overpriced for the unrelaxing pedi, but good price on the brows. Pool was relaxing, they have a bar with food and drinks that you order yourself and they bring to you. Over priced but good. We got a nice-sized king room overlooking Franklin street. It was quiet even though we were right by the elevators. Overall I thought it was a bit overpriced for what we got, but the convenience of being able to walk to the Hollywood Bowl for a concert on Saturday night was priceless. I would recommend this place if you are going to a concert there, and if you've never been to Hollywood and want to see one the walk of fame. Otherwise, nothing to write home about. I might change my opinion after the renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#11 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
The Garland
#19 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#66 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Hollywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.