We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome with lots of charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villetta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Villetta
246 26th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90402 (Santa Monica)
310 394 8455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: San Vicente
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome with lots of charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a place that you should not miss. Food is great, service is exceptional specially if you get Francisco (I am not sure of the spelling) and the atmosphere is awesome specially in the front patio. Antonio (the owner) makes sure you will have a great time and your waiters are there to add to that. Added to all that, the prices are great giving you a very good value.
The charm and atmosphere for a nice friendly dinner for no more than three couples otherwise you will have to be in the back part of the restaurant.
Bon appetit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Charming but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This restaurant is quietly hidden off of 26th Street, near San Vicente Blvd., and seems to be a local favorite. When you enter, there is beautiful patio seating with a small dining room and bar off to the side. However, there is also another back patio area, with 2 additional dining rooms that are probably quieter than the front areas. Our appetizers and pasta were absolutely delicious, but the main entrees were a little disappointing, perhaps because of the onslaught of people arriving. (To be fair, I would want to go back on another night other than Saturday, to see if their food is more consistent). The portions are large, so I suggest sharing. A little bit of a buzz-kill is their $35/bottle corkage policy. However, they did have a simple but nice list of wines, and we were able to make do. Reservations are a must, and parking is tough unless you valet. Would definitely suggest requesting the patio seating, especially in the summer time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delightfully Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went to Villetta last night.( it's the old Chez Mimi on 26thStreet) ; hard to get a reservation on line,but called them & no problem for the time I wanted.
There are two indoor dining rooms.The old Chez Mimi front dining room, now has a bar ,so no tables in front of the small fireplace,more off to the back if the room; so,we decided to sit in the heated open terrace.We checked out the rear dining room; too far back & no ambience. The fettuccine bolonese was fantastic.Home made noodles.Not an inexpensive place; my friend had one glass of Chiant: $18.00! Be sure to ask how much for wines by the glass & specials.
But,all in all,SURE! , I'd go back! Crazy about the ambience!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Nice neighborhood location, fun for a small group, great pizza's and pasta.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dont believe the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had read some great reviews of the restaurant and so when I came to Santa Monica for business, I brought some clients in that I wanted to impress. It didn't work out that way though
with most of the food coming to the table being cold and bland. Service was poor and our plates sat on the table for a long time without being cleared. We had to ask repeatedly for cheese for our pasta as well as refills for our water. I was mortified, particularly as the table next to us were complaining loudly to anyone who would listen. poor choice.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villetta also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.