We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly updated rooms, small but comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saving 20% on Suites
Ranked #49 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Newly updated rooms, small but comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The rooms are small but nicely done. Comfortable beds for sure. No bathtub though. The bathrooms are great however. I could hear the couple above me in the morning. Not cool. I only stayed one night and got in late so I can't say much more. I did enjoy the snacks. Overall it was a good value and a nice, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Although you were only with us for a brief stay, I'm so glad that you found our bathrooms well designed and you enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep in our comfortable beds. I'm so sorry that you were then disturbed by noise from the room upstairs! I do hope that we will see you again and that you can stay for longer next time. You'll definitely need to check out our rooftop and hopefully partake in our evening Wine Hour. That way you can get the full Hotel Wilshire experience! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly when your travels bring you back to LA.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    136
    42
    23
    4
See reviews for
67
118
24
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all I was somewhat reluctant to stay at Hotel Wilshire. While traveling alone I have specific requirements I like to fulfill. Namely, I like to be away from the elevators and noise and have a room with a nice deep soaking tub. Previous reviewers said the rooms were a little small So i opted for a larger room or suite. But Cesar was very helpful in letting me know which rooms would best suit me. I became aware that the larger suites were close to the elevators, didn't have large soaking tubs or were overlooking Wilshire Boulevard, which tends to be a bit noisy.

I couldn't have been more happy with my choice of room. It had a nice view of the mountains and was far away from any noisy elevators or crowds. (Room 611)
It had a nice large soaking tub, which was perfect for hoofing it all day around town. To make my stay even more comfortable Cesar surprised me with a fruit plate and a bottle of red wine. What I loved most about this gesture was the fact that, as a native Californian, along with strawberries and other fruit, there was a fresh cactus apple and a lychee fruit. I loved growing up in California and having all of these wonderful fruits available to me, but rarely get to enjoy now.

I didn't have much experience with the restaurant, Other than hanging around the pool later in the afternoon after all the younger people left or grabbed tables for something to eat. I was there for about an hour before one of the waitresses finally stopped and asked if I might want a menu. I have traveled alone extensively throughout my life, though I am currently married with the family. I am still shocked that a person traveling alone is rarely acknowledged, unless, of course, they are a man. It took quite a while for the staffer to bring me a drink, And I had to hunt people down to ask for a check. I finally gave up and went to my room then called up to the restaurant to let them know I had ordered a drink. Had the waitress acknowledged my presence she would have realized that I tip well. So it seems the restaurant is living up to its questionable reputation on TA.

I would certainly stay at the hotel again. It was comfortable, cozy, very clean, in a very convenient location and the staff at the front desk was very helpful.

As for parking I took a tip from trip advisor to park in a lot nearby. Arriving on Friday I paid $10 just down the block The parking attendant added that the weekend would be free since nobody parks in the lot during that time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

It's great to see one of our employees' names up in lights! Cesar is a stellar member of our Front Desk team, so I'm so happy that he took good care of you during your recent stay and assisted in finding the perfect room. On a different note, I am so sorry that you were not promptly acknowledged up at the Roof. I can completely relate to how frustrating that can be, so I deeply apologize that you had this experience. I have shared your comments with our restaurant team and they take this feedback to heart since we aim to give our guests amazing service from start to finish. So glad however that you found the Front Desk staff to be friendly and accommodating. I truly hope we can host you on your next visit to LA.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was on the small side, but plenty large for just me. One of the cleanest rooms I have had in recent travel. On the downside, it is a pretty dark room at night, even with all of the lights on. Also, the gym is too far away to be useful. Didn't have the time to go the 3-4 blocks to get there and back before having to leave for a meeting. Overall, I enjoyed this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I love to see comments complimenting our staff! At the end of the day, it's those personal connections that really make the difference. And to hear that the room was the cleanest of all your recent hotel experiences....WOW! That is amazing feedback that I will be sure to share with our hard working Housekeeping team! I am terribly sorry that you found your room to be a bit on the dim side. Please let me know if you plan to return (we hope you do!) and I will personally see to it that you receive a bright and sunny room!

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently spent three nights here. Conveniently located close to Downtown and West Hollywood. Valet parking is easy and they bring our car very quickly. The rooms are nicely appointed, as are the bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I love seeing these 5-star reviews! I couldn't agree more regarding the location - we are conveniently nestled between Downtown, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, and West Hollywood. Just a quick drive (or walk!) from the best sights in LA. I'm also so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. I agree they are quite comfortable and well appointed!

We hope to see you again soon,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Let me start by saying that I really appreciate the deep discount at checkout. Here's the list: 1) no gym, 2) no pay-per-view movies, 3) rooftop restaurant had almost zero indoor seating..smog with dinner, 4) Low volume on TV (controlled intentionally, because the walls are thin), 5) short seat toilet, 6) they put milk in my oatmeal in the morning, because that's just the way they serve oatmeal. They sent up a new one. 7) the reading light on one side of the bed must be turned on and off at a wall switch. Minor inconveniences, but I made big squawk and they gave me a nice discount. Walking distance to the LA County Museum made the stay very acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Traveler,

This is a major bummer for us to see a review like this! I'm so sorry that our hotel was not quite what you had in mind. I'm glad however that you felt the Front Desk somewhat made up for your concerns upon check-out and that you found the hotel to be centrally located. If you do have a change of heart about the hotel in the future, we hope you'll give us another try!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time and didn't know what to expect just that I wanted a location walking distance to my mtg place. This was a lovely place, friendly people, clean, wine tasting in the lobby every day at 5:30, rooftop dining, quiet, great beds...reminded my on my favorites places I 've stayed at in Germany...Has a Euro feel to it. Great showers!
A definite place for me to stay. Even got a kimpton membership that immediately got me free wifi for entire stay.
A keeper

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I love being compared to your favorite European hotel! What a compliment. I'm so happy to hear that you got to take advantage of our evening Wine Hour and were able to visit the rooftop restaurant and pool. And now that you've signed up for our Kimpton In Touch guest loyalty program, I hope that we'll be seeing more of you!

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My recent visit to the Hotel Wilshire, LA was more than expected. It was a pleasure to celebrate with a dear friend at this fabulous boutique hotel. Everything was perfect! The hotel staff went above and beyond to make the celebration memorable. Cesar Garcia, Guest Services Agent was the absolute best. He made excellent recommendation on places to visit, dine and hotel accommodation. He was sincere, very professional and even had a special welcome surprise provided upon our arrival. The room was very accommodating and spacious. Every member of the Wilshire Team was customer service oriented and aimed to please from the welcome team to the rooftop restaurant. It is my pleasure and honor to be a "Kimpton InTouch Member".Again, Cesar and the Palomar Team definitely made a good impression and are part of my decision to continue to be a loyal Kimpton InTouch member. Exceptional Hospitality and Customer Service!The Wilshire definitely made me feel like I was at the TOP of their Special People List, which can definitely be a problem in LA if you are not A List! I look forward to my next visit to LA and my stay at my “home away from home” at yet another Kimpton Property Hotel Wilshire LA. So, if you are looking for a hotel that knows how to set the standard HIGH, make you feel special and appreciated you will find it at Hotel Wilshire.

I just caution you that the location is not the best. However is close to everything: the Grove, Hollywood, Sunset, LACMA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Traveler,

What an amazing review! To hear that you described your stay as 'perfect' is truly music to our ears! Cesar at the Front Desk is definitely an asset to our hotel, so I'm so glad that you got the chance to meet him. We are a very customer focused team, so getting this kind of validating feedback means that we must be doing something right! I hope that for this reason, the Hotel Wilshire does in fact become your home away from home while in LA.

We look forward to the next time!

Warmest regards,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition – The Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, the Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at The Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered—from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.