We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If they hadn't overdone the marketing, my expectations would have been different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saving 20% on Suites
Ranked #49 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If they hadn't overdone the marketing, my expectations would have been different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel gives off the impression that it is an upmarket luxury boutique hotel. It most certainly is not. At best it is three star.
Pros:
Good location if you have a car. There are better options if you have to use a taxi or walk.
Rooms are clean and fairly new.

Cons:
Poor value for money. This hotel would receive a higher rating if it's pricing was more in line with its value proposition. Upscale hotel rates for something slightly better than a Holiday Inn chain.
Upstairs bar has a good view but pretty cheap looking. Not to mention the food is sometimes clearly yesterday's leftovers reheated.
Pool is very tiny.
Service is hit or miss. Staff is helpful with restaurant suggestions and taxis. My arrival was a bit mediocre as no oneoffered assistance with my luggage as I struggled wit five suitcases. Room service can be sloppy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G, General Manager at The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Traveler,

I was so sorry to hear that your recent experience fell short of your expectations. That is certainly not the kind of feedback we like to receive. We take your comments to heart and have shared them with our team so we can make improvements where needed. I urge you to reach out to me personally if you plan to return and we will make sure we take great care of you.

All the best,

Ashley Gochnauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    136
    42
    23
    4
See reviews for
67
118
24
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

recipe for disaster - multiple large table reservations, new year's day brunch, 1/2 the staff calls out. however, recovery brunch at the wilshire hotel "the roof" was salvaged only due to our tolerance and their focus on guest service (awesome). everything took time. 9 of us squeezed into a 6 person booth. moved to a really nice much larger table. food took one hour and 45 minutes to arrive. that's way too long. so here's some advice: you know it's new years day and you know your staff is going to call out. take HALF the reservations or no reservations and make it first come/first serve. work with the expectations we all have of a kimpton property - impeccable service, wonderful food and an incredible experience all the time, every time. this meal fell short due to time and expectations. even with a reservation for a certain time, it ain't happening. easier to avoid this place than to be let down that it's not running as it should.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel Wilshire is centrally located -- it is just a few minutes from Beverly Hills, Century City, West Hollywood, the Grove, etc. We had a room facing the Hollywood Hills, and it was very quiet. The amenities are new and very good. The rooftop pool and bar is also very nice. While it is not ultra-luxe, it is also a very good value given the price. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Hollywood Hills -- or at least one in the back away from Wilshire, which can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Hotel Wilshire is a cute boutique style hotel. The view on the rooftop is worth the stay in itself. The breakfast at the rooftop restaurant was excellent. It is also worth a visit for the drinks (we didnt use the pool as it was a little cooler out).
We had a room on the 6th floor with two double beds and an extra sitting room with another TV. The bathroom was large and updated. Everything was clean.
From here, you can walk to the farmer's market, the miracle mile, museums (LACMA, La Brea). Driving to sunset, hollywood blvd, or rodeo drive is less than a 5 minute ride.
Driving to Santa Monica is about 10-15 mins (unless you hit traffic).

Room Tip: If you have more than 2 people, definitely try to get a suite. The 6th floor had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul,korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

on the 3rd floor facing Wilshire Avenue and it was so noisy at night that could not sleep in the least due to all night traffic. Shower pressure was slow and the bathroom amenties that was suppled to guest were poor quality. would not stayed here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

You cold expect these type of service fro a 4 or 5 star hotels, genuine not pretentious and caring. Valet was easy and the attendant even asked when would we need the car so he could pull it up front for us. Check in was smooth and courteous. The room was super clean well appointed and comfortable. Great value, close to everything! I have not had a chance meeting the general manager but kudos to him for creating this warm hospitality. We'll be back for sure since it is minutes away from Beverly Hills for the fraction of the price. LOVED THE ROOF TOP great food and beautiful view.

Room Tip: I have not experienced but one room, and that was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had a thoroughly enjoyable experience here. It became my second home for a while and loved it. The rooms are smallish but modern and clean and very comfortable. I had breakfast on the rooftop most mornings and drinks up there a couple of evenings. A great place to start an evening. The views are amazing and a great place to relax. The staff (reception, housekeeping and rooftop bar peeps) were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be coming back next time. (I put 1 star for fitness and spa as I don't think they have them... not because they were bad. Hope that's ok).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition – The Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, the Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at The Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered—from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.