We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous facility, OK food, OK service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous facility, OK food, OK service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

If your travelleing for business this hotel provides good value in a great location. The facility is very attractive, the rooftop bar and dining area is wonderful - the food not so much. The service was lacking, and the restaurant/bar manager was useless - he just loomed around and never engaged anyone in a welcoming manner. Facility 10/10, Service 6/10, Food 5/10.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    145
    45
    24
    4
See reviews for
67
127
26
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Nice boutique hotel. Rooms are spacious, modern design. Staff is top notch and helpful and bend over backwards to make sure your stay is enjoyable! What makes this hotel is the amazing roof deck! Has it all : pool, delicious food, amazing sweeping views of LA and great cocktails! Location is okay, but it is a definite "gem" in the area!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have traveled a lot, and I have to say my experience @ Hotel Wilshire has been AWESOME!. Nico, one of the amazing people at the front desk not only helped me not get ripped off by the cab driver from LAX (he gave me real time directions over the phone to the hotel), upon arrival, he wanted to make sure I didn't get charged too much money by the cabbie, and gave me a fantastic room on the top floor! (You rock Nico!)

On top of this fantastic initial customer experience, I walk into a beautiful and well designed room. Modern furniture. Inviting decor. No hassles. Low noise.

To be honest, I typically do not like L.A. AT ALL (I prefer the East Coast) , but the experience has changed my mind quite a bit. A great place to consider when on business travel near Beverly Hills.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Waverley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I like this centrally located hotel. It is well designed, has sleek custom furniture and decor and rooms are quiet. Everything is designed for comfort and function - the bathroom and shower are roomy and stellar compared as an example to the Fairmont, of which I am a club member. Floors, carpets, mirrors, and shower window are well done. The in-room one cup Cuisinart coffee maker, is fast, quiet, efficient and stemmed wine glasses are provided. We ate twice at The Roof, loved the food and the view. New, clean, modern, plus great Vibe of The Roof with pool and fire pit - great value and simple luxury.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in the end of October. Location wasn't the best for tourists, but the price was great for a beautifully decorated room with very comfy beds and linens. We were on the 6th floor but didn't experience any of the noise problems other reviewers complained about. Never tried the restaurant but the rooftop bar did look cool. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful as was the valet staff. Front desk arranged a sightseeing tour for us which we enjoyed very much. We were able to walk to the Museum of Modern Art and LaBrea Tar Pits from here and it was a short drive to the Farmers Market. Nice stay in a beautiful hotel. Nico at the front desk was very helpful. For those looking for a quick breakfast, there is a McDonalds about 2 blocks away and a small coffee shop across the street in a strip mall that was quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very contemporary, pretty new hotel near Beverly Hills. Nice rooms, good beds, and awesome views of the city. Pretty rooftop bar and pool. My only complaint is the cable tv. It was sorely deficient, with no ESPN, or PPV movies.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our six nights in a king suite overlooking Wilshire Blvd. The bed was comfie, the bathroom was spacious and the lounge area was relaxing. Staff were helpful and always pleasant. The location was an easy walk to LACMA, and the Petersen automotive museum. The Farmers Market and Grove Shopping center was another easy walk. We enjoyed several breakfasts, as well as drinks and light meals while watching the sunset at The Rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6317 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous Wilshire Boulevard located in Los Angeles, California has a new addition – The Hotel Wilshire, a stylish 74-room boutique hotel in LA designed by the award-winning Killefer Flammang Architects. The decor of this newly-completed hotel is complemented by the work of KNA Design and MID Design, acclaimed internationally for hospitality interior design. Located near Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, the Hotel Wilshire was developed using sustainable resources and green building materials to achieve a LEED Certified designation, creating a fresh and contemporary, eco-friendly boutique hotel in Los Angeles. Included in the hotel is an impressive private Penthouse Suite and versatile, multi-media suites with panoramic views of the Hollywood Hills.Located just blocks from the city's best shopping at Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Beverly Center, Melrose Avenue, and Robertson Boulevard, exciting restaurants, entertainment, fashion, arts, and the cultural scene-guests staying at The Hotel Wilshire will experience plush accommodations that emphasize modern comforts, casual cuisine and signature cocktails. Treat yourself by soaking in the rooftop pool while enjoying the breathtaking views spanning the Los Angeles skyline. This Los Angeles boutique hotel has been designed to satisfy both the business and leisure traveler, with every amenity considered—from a business center with laptop stations to a cool California vibe by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Wilshire, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.