We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Miyako Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A rare find in LA- an unpretentious atmosphere with great service and reasonable value. Clean rooms, some with good views of downtown LA, a decent coffee bar and dozens of great restaurants just steps away including all of Chinatown's offerings. This is a no-frills hotel, so manage your expectations and you will not be disappointed. I wasn't, and I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    234
    106
    28
    19
See reviews for
78
129
82
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that was convenient to Los Angeles Union Station. The hotel is approximately a mile from Union Station but we could actually see the station from our room. There is a gold line light rail station just a block from the hotel and Union Station is just a four minute ride. The hotel is located in the Little Tokyo Arts District and there are lots of Japanese restaurants in the neighborhood. The hotel is a bit dated but our room was very clean. Our room was on the small side and the bath had a very low ceiling. They serve a Japanese/American buffet breakfast. Breakfast cost about $17 each. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again but would not recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel at the recommendation of a family member. As many reviewers have suggested the hotel is somewhat dated in the private rooms. I found that condition. Shower curtain rod holders were coming loose from the wall and other minor condition issues. So yes the private spaces were dated, but I found the OVERALL experience to be VERY GOOD if not excellent. Parking was about $20/day but the attendant was one of the best we have seen. He always greeted us by name and dispatched our car quickly. The lobby is very nice and the front desk staff is EXCEPTIONAL. I think the value is VERY GOOD. Overall I had a great stay. I loved being next to Little Tokyo and enjoyed shopping there and the many fine restaurants. This is not a five star hotel, but you can't beat the value and location. I have also stayed at the sister Miyako near the Airport and found that new hotel to be Excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have a better view, the rooms on the other side face the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located In Little Tokyo, so good if you want some sushi from the nearby Japanese eating places,1 minute walk to the gold line Metro which takes you to Union Station.
Hotel room we had was shabby, must be quite old ,the room smelled musty but they put in a ozone generator which got rid of the smell ,so for the price its not bad,the WiFi was good and the bed was comfy,but this place needs some money spent on it.The Japanese Village just along from the hotel is good for cafes ,bakeries and eating places.Room was large and bathroom was huge,cafe in lobby does a croissant and coffee for breakfast for a few bucks

Room Tip: must be no smoking,or go for the upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located in Little Tokyo this is a typical Japanese business hotel. Union Station is a five minute taxi ride and the metro is a 10 minute walk away and a Starbucks in neaby the hotel. On site the hotel has a gift shop which sells snacks and there is a cafe which sells freshly prepared food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here several times and booked online. I made another online reservation which I had to cancel by phone. After being charged as a no show I was told that online reservations cannot be canceled by phone.... so tough luck! I will never go back, of course, which is a shame as I liked the hotel. But, fortunately, the Doubletree Hilton is only a block away which is still close to Amtrak Union Station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a night layover in L.A. and scheduled to catch the morning Coastal Starlight train to Seattle. This hotel in Japan town was a good choice. Situated a few blocks to the train station and surrounded by wonderful Japanese restaurants, it's a no-brainer. It is an older hotel but loved the oriental decor. The only negative is the price. I suggest they include a buffet breakfast to move this up to a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miyako Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3902
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyako Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Miyako Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyako Los Angeles
Los Angeles Miyako Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyako Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.