We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elan Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Best Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

Just got back from the Elan (Oct 6-9th). The staff was excellent, warm and considerate, they gave great advise and wanted to make our stay a lovely one.

As for the hotel it was very clean, with lovely modern rooms and plush bedding and neutral colors. The room was a good size and we had a small balcony (201) that was nice.

There is also a nice continental breakfast (whole fruit, cereal, breads and hard boiled eggs) and a wine and cheese hour in the evening.

The hotel's location was wonderful, just half a block from the Beverly Center Mall (Hard Rock-Pf Chang and affordable shopping) we where also 10 minutes to the Sunset Strip (The Comedy Store and "celebrity owned" bars).

Elan is a boutique hotel that works hard to live up to your needs and you feel appreciated. You get a lot for the great rate.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    317
    54
    19
    4
See reviews for
172
405
107
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

We stayed at the Elan for nine nights in Sept, and absolutely
loved it. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds in the room were very comfortable. You can walk to the Beverly Centre and restaurants and local transport is only a short walk as well. We used local transport to get around without any trouble. Jan's
Restaurant is accross the road, which is a retro kind of Diner, but
the food is excellent and it is very reasonably priced.
There is a Wine and Cheese held each night Mon-Fri from 5-7pm
and the breakfast each morning is just what you need to get you going. Loved the Granola for brekkie, but cannot find it in Aussie.

We were offered a room to use on the last day at no extra charge as we were not leaving the hotel until 7pm.

I would definelty stay at the Elan again.

Sue Weston - Gold Coast Australia

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed 3 nights at the Elan Modern. On arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a Deluxe King room which was stylishly decorated, very clean and had ample space. The staff couldn't have been more helpful in helping with everything from recommending restaurants for dinner, driving directions and even parking tips. Breakfast was included and offered a great choice of cereals, bagels, fruit etc. Finally, the hotel was in a great location, only a couple of miles from Beverly Hills and Sunset Strip. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — For a cheap night out on a Monday, go to Acapulcos Mexican restaurant just around the corner for "Margerita Monday". $2.50 Margeritas!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

I do business with Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and this is a reasonably well priced hotel for the location. It is within walking distance of the Center. I don’t like to drive when I’m in LA so the Elan’s location is ideal. Close to work and close to shopping, etc. I have always had a clean room on the second floor. I have liked the continental breakfast and have never had a problem billing, service, etc. Although the coffee really isn’t very good. Overall I rate them above average.

  • Liked — Relative Location
  • Disliked — Immediate Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a room on the second floor away from the street.
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Elan Modern for 2 nights. Check-in was fine, and the staff were very friendly towards me. They gave me any help that I needed and suggested places for me to go and see. The hotel is very handy if you want to go shopping in the big malls, as there is one, just about a block away, with Macy's etc in. Parking is valet, which as it was my first time, took a bit of getting used to, but it was very safe, and there is also a petrol station about 100m away.

Breakfast is in the price and consists of a range of yoghurts, fruit, pastries, bagels, and went from 6:30am till they said 10:30, but I wasnt around to notice when it stopped. They lady on the desk rang for a taxi for me one of the nights, and discussed eating places too. I was told about there being a wine thing in the early evening for guests, but I wasnt around to see it. I expect this did happen, though, so would have been nice to have a sit after the days sightseeing and discuss where to eat that night.

The room was big and light, with high ceilings, tv/video, 2 phones, i had a patio onto a small courtyard, but the rooms higher up had balconies too. The rooms were nice and quiet, and were very clean. I put on my do not disturb sign when the cleaner was coming round, and she didnt come in, but later on in the day, she did another round, of the ones missed off, which means you can still sleep in, and have a change of towels!

The interenet was free (in the business room) and there was a safe in each room too.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Helpfullness of staff, Quiet location
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a car in L.A. Its a bit different at night!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

Just returned from a wonderful week long stay at the hotel. Could not fault it in any way. The staff, Location, Price.. I don't think it is possible to do any better. Miss it already, will return in 2008.
Jason (Melbourne, Room 108)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

If there is a hotel you want to stay at, then this hotel should be it. First of all, it is situated in the middle of everything. Most shops are within walking distance. The staffs service is Exceptional. The staff were advising us what to see and where to go. They Booked all of our tours. As for our last day there, the water boiler broke and we did not have hot water for about half an hour. So the management decided not to charge us for the food and drinks we took from the room fridge, which was about US$30. We had a flight that night, so the Management let us stay for free the extra few hours, giving us a new room so we can shower and relax before our flight.
I rate this hotel 10/10 and will stay there again.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — The place to stay at!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elan Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Elan Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elan Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.