We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a Hotel that provides SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Elan Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discounted Valet Parking
Ranked #6 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay in a Hotel that provides SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Don't be put off by the outside appearance, this hotel provides excellent service from the moment you arrive. We requested an early check in and late departure, both requests were satisfied. The complimentary breakfast was excellent value as was the wine and cheese each afternoon. If shopping is on your list then the location will suite as it is in walking distance and many shops to visit. Many restaurants to choose from and in walking distance. NB: if you are looking for something different to visit a 35 minute walk will take you to the 'La Brea Tar Pits' a historical sight of the Page museum prehistoric animals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    296
    51
    19
    3
See reviews for
154
379
101
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After looking for many hotels, I couldn't have found a better place! The bedroom has a great size (king bed bedroom), all clean and new, the bathroom also very nice, coffee maker and a Frigobar. Otherwise my room was in the ground floor in front of the Main Street, I had no trouble with noise. The breakfast is very good, with fruits, yogurt, choice of breads. The wine in the afternoon was a nice complement. The location for me was awesome, near to nice stores and restaurants that I went by walk, and by car is very central to the most tourist places. All staff was very kind, in special Paulo, the valet guy that is also Brazilian and gave me good tips of LA.

Room Tip: My room was in front of the street but we have no trouble with the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We know that travelers have many choices and we are happy that you selected the Élan Hotel for your recent trip to Los Angeles. I am happy that you liked the room amenities and that you were able to take advantage of the morning continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception. Thanks for mentioning our central location close to shopping, restaurants, nightlife, and sightseeing. In addition I appreciate you mention of Paulo. He is a great employee and enjoys his job very much! He is a terrific asset to the hotel being that he is Brazilian and enjoys speaking to guest from his native country. I appreciate your review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely small, boutique hotel in the heart of Los Angeles, the Elan is near shopping and restaurants. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were an additional bonus. I have family in Los Angeles and I am looking forward to my next visit, which definitely will include a stay at the Elan Hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy street. Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We like your comments about being a comfortable, European style hotel! Unlike some other hotels, we are not the typical cookie-cutter hotel as we offer complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese reception, and great room amenities all at an affordable price. I appreciate your mention of the friendly and accommodating staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay in a good area of Los Angeles, adjacent to Bevery Hills and Hollywood. The decent sized rooms are well appointed and the service is outstanding. There is no restaurant or bar, but many are located within easy walking distance of the hotel. There is a complimentary continental breakfast served each morning in the attractive lobby and free wine and cheese every evening between 5 and 7 p.m. Prices are very reasonable for a quality hotel with an excellent location. You can walk to Farmer's Market and Beverly Center is just down the street.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter because the hotel is located on a fairly busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Los Angeles has so much to offer guests who are here on business or pleasure. As you mention, we are in a great central location near shopping, dining, sightseeing, and nightlife as well. I appreciate your mention of the good value for the dollar. We are happy that you enjoyed our complimentary expanded continental breakfast and our evening wine and cheese reception. Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Mistakes happen. How we feel about it depends on how the hotel tries to rectify it. I am happy to say that The Elan Hotel made a great recovery :-) and i Will say upfront - this a GREAT boutique hotel in a reasonable cost in the greatest location in LA ( Beverly Hills) and I will definately recommend it to my friends ( i already have :-))
On my way to the hotel i found out the hotel book me for October 2014 ( and not 2013..).. I was really stressed as I remembered how hard it was for me to find a 3 night stay at a great boutique hotel in this area. But it seems the drama was taking place mostly within me.. I was immidiately given a room and promised the next 2 nights will b taken care of.
The room was fine in all ways but one- it was on the street level- so traffic was loud. Next morning I asked to change it to a quieter room - no problem - moved us to a quiet, court-facing room (206).
Request for an additional blanket was immidiately answered.
Great ambiance at the lobby area - warm colors, a bit feng shui- like, a running water sculpture , lots of candles and great music, very harmonious and welcoming. At 5 pm there's wine and cheese tasting available for the guests ( gratis). During the day and evening U can c young high tech guests with laptops along side families enjoying the lobby.
Regardless the fact the hotel is full - it is relatively very quiet.
My bad luck, I came down with a bad flu. The hotel recommended a great house-call doctor. We had to extend our stay for additional 3 nights. No problem.
Complimentry breakfast - is adequate - a few types of bagels, corn flakes, hard boiled eggs, yogurts hot drinks and whole fruits ( banana, apple). Personally, i need some type of cheese or vegetable in my breakfast :-) but that's me...
Location - unbelievable! Extremely close to the hotel - a large CVS. Taco Bell right infront and popular restaurant chains are extremely close by as well. Macy's and Bloomingdale's are in a 2 min slow...walk - as well as a huge mall. Extremely convenient for last minute shopping. All other tourist locations - Rodeo Drive etc are close by.
Service given by house keeping Manuela was quick and professional. We asked for specific quick service as i needed to go back and lie down - it was clean, smelled great and soft classical music in the background.. Very pleasant!! Thank u!!
Guest services William and Michael are soft, pleasant, friendly, empathic and professional! As are the others :-) The owner is in the area and oversees everything and adds his personal touch where needed :-)
2 requests for hot water were filled with no additional cost.
Bottom line -
Pro- location, cost, service, ambiance - great!! The shower soap bar ??? OMG - the best ever!!!
Cons-
1. Windows in first floor facing street should b made sound proof and no one will complain about them ever again.. They cramp your style, its a shame.
2. Parking is 24$ a day + tax - u shud know its like that and even moreexpensive all around the area- so incorporate these costs into your overall costs and
3. Sorry to be too explicit.. But i think every bathroom should have a toilet brush and guests shud not wait for housekeeping to clean it... It's a little embarrasing...

Bottom line - a great 6 night stay even if i was sick half of the time :-)) highly recommended!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are a 49-Room Boutique Hotel with a central location to shopping, dining, sightseeing, and nightlife. It is nice to read the title of your review as we feel that we are a great value for the dollar. Especially when you consider our complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese reception, and the room amenities that we offer all our guests. We are happy that you liked your room on the courtyard as they do tend to be very quiet.
I appreciate your mention of Manuela, Michael, and William and will pass your comments on for them to read. We are sorry that you got sick while you were in Los Angeles and hope that you are feeling better now. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Elan in Aug 13 and it was great. the staff were so helpful with all of our questions from the best way to get around to the best local restaurants.
This really was a fantastic hotel and the buffet breakfast is an awesome touch - cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First you can tell from the General Manager Joel Majors interaction with us that this small beautiful boutique hotel right across from the Beverly Center is a wonderful gem in this otherwise busy and chaotic part of town. The breakfast is over the top! Juices, cereals, bagels, pastries....you need a week to try everything! Then the common areas are impeccably kept clean and maintained. The evening wine and cheese reception is even further over the top!! Charles Krug Cabernet, dried fruits and nuts, cheeses...and the setting is wonderful!. The beds are some of the best we've slept on and the bathrooms while not opulent, are very large and comfortable! I can't praise this hotel enough, this just became our corporate favorite and at a huge savings from what we were paying at the Sofitel just a few blocks away!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

The staff and I enjoy the day to day interaction with all of our guests. In this industry no two days are the same and that it what makes it fun! I’m glad that you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast as well as our evening wine and cheese reception. We are happy to read that you have chosen the Élan Hotel as your corporate favorite as we are a good value for both the corporate traveler as well as the leisure traveler. Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elan Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elan Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elan Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.