We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic West Hollywood Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Elan Hotel Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discounted Valet Parking
Ranked #6 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Fantastic West Hollywood Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Elan Hotel and I sadly hate leaving.

This hotel is in a great location, close to the Beverley Centre and The Grove. As I was there on a girls shopping trip these two places were frequented by us during our 4 days there.

The complementary breakfast was more than adequate for us before heading out for the day and of course coming back at the end of the day for wine and cheese was just delightful. The lovely Arione is a delight to have serving us wine and chatting about our day.

The hotel is small and you really get a sense that you are perhaps staying in someones house. All 3 of us stayed in a large room that was neat and tidy and quiet with big comfy beds.

Highly recommend the Elan Hotel - I simply cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear MrsDJB,

We like the title of your review very much and appreciate that you are a loyal returning guest to the Élan Hotel! Thanks for mentioning our great location which is central for shopping at the Beverly Center and the Grove at Farmers Market. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary expanded breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception. I appreciate your mention of Arione. She enjoys her job and meeting our guests from around the globe. The Élan Hotel is a small intimate boutique hotel and we are happy that you feel as though you were staying in a friend’s house. We appreciate you very much and look forward to your next visit with us! Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    272
    51
    18
    3
See reviews for
137
353
99
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Elan for 3 nights in September. We were originally going to stay Downtown but were very happy we didn't. It was our first time in LA and this was an ideal area to look around. Buses close, the tourist bus down the street (although ask at reception where it stops as there is no sign), cafes nearby and a huge mall too. It was an easy trip from LAX and cost $40-$50.
We found the tourist bus good as it got us to the beaches, markets, Hollywood and Downtown (wouldn't recommend going to the Downtown area)
The hotel was an older style hotel but well maintained and the breakfast good. The staff were excellent and it was no trouble to leave our luggage for the day after we checked out.
The only downside was no pool and it was very hot the week we were there. Thankfully the Aircon worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Elan Hotel is well known to loyal TripAdvisors like me who check out L.A. hotels with some regularity, as it always appears quite high in the rankings. But for one reason or another, I had never stayed there until now. My overall impression of it is that it's a happy, unpretentious, super-easy place.

The location, as many, many others have indicated, is just about perfect. I now understand why international travelers -- who probably are less likely to rent a car -- love this hotel: you can walk to the Beverly Center, as well as to restaurants on both La Cienega and W. 3rd... and beyond. I used the valet... it was a piece of cake (cheaper than other nearby hotels, too). Check-in: also a piece of cake. The hotel only has two floors, so it felt calm, pleasant and... easy. It isn't a glamorous Hollywood kind of place; it's actually a welcome antithesis -- even though it's very close -- to all of that. My king bed was comfortable, the bathroom was on the smaller side, but fine. Loved the free WiFi. My rate was much more reasonable than other hotels in this area. In a city like L.A., where I am more likely to be out and about rather than in my room, I found the Elan Hotel to be a great value for what I got; and I appreciated not having to pay for amenities and services that were of no use to me. I'm another happy guest.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you found the Élan Hotel on TripAdvisor and that you made your booking with us based on our reviews. We feel that your overall impression is spot-on as we try to make very guest feel comfortable and relaxed during their stay with us. Thanks for mentioning our great location as we are central to so much of what Los Angeles has to offer. Many of our international guests like to take public transportation as it can less of a challenge than driving in a foreign city. The Élan Hotel is a small boutique hotel with just 49 rooms so there are no long lines at check-in/out and it is easy to access to your car in a matter of minutes. I’m glad that you liked your room and the amenities that we offer here. As you mention we are a good value for the dollar especially when you consider the complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, and evening wine and cheese reception are all included in the price. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroolbark, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only place to stay in this City if you want and need staff that treat you like family. A lovely quiet small Hotel in the right location. Breakfast is adequate but the Wine and nibbles at the end of a long day is a fantastic touch. Clean, comfy and the most helpful staff ever from front desk to the cleaning personnel....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Contact hotel and they will organize a rental for you time and date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate every guest who walks through our doors and we are happy that you feel the Élan Hotel is the only place to stay in Los Angeles that treats one like family. I am glad that you found our location suitable to you needs and that you enjoyed our amenities as well. Thanks for mentioning the helpful staff! We appreciate your review and thank you for highly recommending the Élan Hotel.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose to stay at the Elan based on reviews here on TripAdvisor, but the hotel exceeded our expectations. Top-notch, friendly customer service. Great location. Clean, cozy, well-appointed room. Wonderful breakfast and even better wine/cheese reception -- all for an amazingly good price. We were able to snag a parking spot on the street for each of our three nights, which helped us to save even more. When we next find ourselves in LA, we will definitely stay at the Elan again.

Room Tip: Though it didn't bother us much, others may wish to ask for a room that doesn't face Beverly...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very keen on these. Nice to know the bath/shower amenities won't go to waste.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you selected the Élan Hotel based on our Trip Advisor reviews and that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for mentioning our amenities, our great location, and the friendly customer service that you received during you stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a great hotel! We love shopping and being so close to the Beverly Center and The Grove was right up my daughter's alley. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very personable and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. From the cleanliness to the location, this hotel did not disappoint. Would definitely stay there next time in LA.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and near the front of the hotel, but apart from some minimal street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy you felt that the hotel is fantastic and that we are a great hotel! Our location is a great one as we are central to shopping, dining, sightseeing, and nightlife. I appreciate your mention of the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buninyong, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This boutique motel in Los Angeles was a fantastic place to stay.
They have thought of everything, even down to a charging dock for IPads,phones etc, exceptional detail in the rooms down to chocolates and a hand written note on weather conditions for the day left on the bed.
Close to all types of transport, shopping centres etc and the complimentary wine and cheese every night at 5:00 was really great with helpful friendly service.
Would highly recommend this establishment if travelling to L A.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy you thought that we were a cool place to stay! It’s nice that you could take advantage of the media hub in the room which allowed you to charge you iPhone and iPad. The turn down chocolates and the weather cards are just extra added touches to let our guest know that we appreciate them! Thanks for mention our amenities and the customer service that the staff provided. I appreciate your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elan Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel Los Angeles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an address at the cutting edge of Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Elan Hotel is just steps from world class shopping at Beverly Center and The Grove Los Angeles. Just minutes to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, CBS Television City, Rodeo Drive, the Sunset Strip and central to the Pacific Design Center, museums, movie studios and the restaurants and nightlife LA is famous for - this is a location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elan Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elan Hotel Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.