We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pie worthy of the "ny fold"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olio Pizzeria & Cafe

Olio Pizzeria & Cafe
8075 W 3rd St (at Crescent Heights), Los Angeles, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #703 of 8,734 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: hands down the absolute most authentic wood fired pizza in L.A.
Restaurant details
Description: hands down the absolute most authentic wood fired pizza in L.A.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a pie worthy of the "ny fold"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thank you, Olio. Being originally from NY, I have been challenged to find a pizza that is even worth buying here in LA. Olio is consistent and very good. The first time I went was on a recent Sunday in July with a good girlfriend for wine and pizza. We were seated immediately on their heated patio (be prepared for the noise of the busy intersection), ordered the meatball specialty pizza, wood fired brussel sprouts (MUST ORDER) and I crossed my fingers. We were quickly greeted by a thin crust wood fired delight. No this is not NY style pizza but it is good and crispy enough to get the "ny fold". The crust has flavor, the sauce is fresh and the cheese is not hiding anything....the turkey meatballs need a bit more flavor and probably no panko coating. My friend and I returned this past Saturday and were concerned we would not get seated without reservations (thanks a lot LA Weekly "Life of Pie"), but were pleasantly surprised when we were able to take a seat immediately at the bar (Olio is small almost tiny). The bar faces the wood fire oven and provides a view into the kitchen and the preparation of your pizza. We again ordered the brussel sprouts and this time the other house sauvignon blanc and the sausage and peppers specialty pizza. This pizza topped the last one. As I said in the beginning Olio is consistent and very good! Expect to pay between $10.99-$16.99 for a pie.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“If you love pizza, come to Olio's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

The skinny:

Parking: paved, public parking behind the restaurant
Decor: rustic
Service: excellent
Food: delicious
Bathroom: ok and clean
Price: $$-$$$
Coke: not enough carbonation
Dress: casual

We ordered the insalata which was tasty and fresh, the asparagus con prosciutto which was very good and the marguerites pizza DOC which was awesome. Everything was delicious and we left full and happy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Good woodfired pizza but overall mediocre experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went with a sizable group (12 people). This place is definitely not good for groups, since space is very limited. They seated us outside and it was very cold despite the heaters. The pizza got cold very quickly. They were half-hour late seating us and service was very slow. Timing of service was poor: by the time the last pizza was served, several people in our party were already done eating. The woodfired pizza was good but not exceptional.
The kitchen closes at 10 pm and they try to get everyone out by 10:30 pm.
Convenient complimentary parking next to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Love that oven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The first thing you notice when you walk into Olio is the wood burning oven; it sits in the center of the room, surrounded by a dining counter and a few tables. That place of prominence is well deserved, however, because virtually everything served at this wonderful restaurant comes out of that oven - from the breakfast bialys to the luscious desserts and even many of the roasted fruits and vegetables that grace the artful salads. But the star here is the pizza - lightly blistered crust topped with just the perfect amount of quality ingredients. On a recent trip we had the pizza with Tuscan Chicken Sausage and Peppers and the Margherita Plus topped with molten burrata cheese - both of which were delicious.

Pizzas run from $10.99 to $16.99, which might seem a bit high for individual pizzas, were it not for the quality. You really can taste the difference in all of the high quality ingredients that make this a superior pie. If you like pizza, give Olio a try.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hands down, the very best pizza in all of L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Brad, the owner, is the real deal. This pizza is not to be missed. Authentic Naples style pizza...olive wood fired oven @ 800 Degrees F, light crisp crust, great mozzerella, and buffala as well. Support this place, it is the only one we have in LA.

Alan

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olio Pizzeria & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olio Pizzeria & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.