We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Hugely Disappointing Guest Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. C Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mr. C Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Mr. C Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1224 Beverwill Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90035 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Hugely Disappointing Guest Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We reserved a 4 night stay at Mr C's as the highlight and 'special treat' of our family (2 adults, 1 teenager and a child) holiday to California. With the notable exception of the valet staff - who were all superb - our experience was not a pleasant one. It was by far the most expensive hotel and - by a country mile - by far the worst.
Building works in the grounds start before 8 and measured 75db consistently on my iPhone. On no occasion did we receive any apology or acknowledgement from the management. Noisy guests also kept us awake until 4am on our first night and management refused our request for a room move claiming that they were fully booked.

We found - with the exception of the aforementioned valet staff - an air of pretentiousness which was most uncomfortable. As noted in previous reviews, the hotel appears to favour local guests. My rental car clearly didn't 'cut the mustard' in the parking stakes either and was quickly whisked off before it blocked the view of the Ferrari. Perhaps if I'd brought my own car from home we might have been treated differently?

The beds in the room were comfortable but small. There's no way that the room was a family room really with only a single wardrobe and very little drawer space. We didn't bother unpacking as a result.

We did order room service on our first night. It was just okay and overpriced with the "large carafe" of house red wine being a small jug which barely filled two glasses at $42++.

So, all in all, a great hotel if you live in Beverly Hills and fancy Sunday lunch with friends. For the rest of us, you can enjoy a much better - and quieter - experience elsewhere for less money and judgement. We were all glad to leave which probably sums our experience up.


Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear R8SKM,
We appreciate your time in reviewing your stay at Mr. C. I am disheartened to hear of your disappointing experience as this is far from what we're striving to provide our guests with. We appreciate your positive feedback and we hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    120
    58
    25
    21
See reviews for
97
196
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mr. C on the last stop of our honeymoon and it was definitely the best hotel of our trip.

On arrival in our car, we were welcomed by 4 valets and the valet manager. Our keys were taken from us and our luggage was unloaded as we were escorted straight to the bar for a complimentary cocktail. We were then welcomed by the duty manager who checked us in while we drank our cocktail and handed over the key card. On entering our room our luggage was carefully laid out and we were ready to go. Absolutely seamless. Other hotels should take note.

We had a premium standard room which was well appointed, well decorated and very comfortable. The rooms have everything you need... A well stocked mini bar, a spacious balcony and other little touches like shoe bags, shoe horns, umbrellas, premium robes, slippers, and a fine selection of snacks.

The car valet service was excellent. Your car was ready for you in seconds and the staff were efficient and polite, even making sure the roof was down before they handed over the keys!

Other areas of service were also excellent. I left my room with my ice bucket on a mission to find the ice machine and I was immediately confronted by a member of staff who assured me that 2 floors was far too far to go on my own and insisted that they would go and get the ice for me. I drank all the beer in my mini bar and with one call a chap was up to re stock it in minutes. Later I treated myself to a shoe shine which was a reasonable $10 and left my boots absolutely gleaming.

I cannot say enough about this hotel. By far one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Simon P,
What a lovely review! We're excited to hear that you've experienced a "perfect service and comfort" while at Mr.C; this is our goal for every guest. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Where should I start. I booked the hotel using a travel agent that requested a twin beds ( two beds) for 10 nights. I arrive to the hotel coming from half way across the world to find that the room has king size bed and that it was a request not a guarantee to get a twin beds. I stayed in the SLS Beverly Hills, Hilton Beverly Hills and Hyatt Century hotel and I never heard of a request not guaranteed. They wanted us to pay for another room in order to guarantee two beds or get an extra bed which is horrible for the amount I paid for this tiny room (above $300 a night). We had no choice but to settle for an extra bed, since we didn't have extra money to get another room. The door for the room is disgusting (see the pic) painted poorly and dirty. When we entered the room there was a horrible smell...look at the table I told them to remove it cause it was all dirty (pics attached) and the room pictures look at the dirty old furniture. There is construction going on outside near the room (See the picture). God I hope the construction does not wake me up in the morning. I planed for a relaxing vacation not all this.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear irshoud,
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation. We do our very best to accommodate our guests's requests (in this case for a double room) however requests are honored upon availability. I'm glad that we were able to provide a room move into a double during your stay and hope that you will stay at Mr. C in the future for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western qld
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived very early in the morning feeling very jaded and very jet lagged to a very warm reception and very helpful staff. We managed to check into a beautiful room at 9am and were so grateful for the hotel staff efforts. All staff have been exceedingly friendly and go the extra mile to look after us. Recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor and this request was granted together with a request for a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear CathyC46,
Lovely to hear of the "excellent service" you've rightfully received during your stay at Mr.C. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to L.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The good. Very clean. Concierge Solomon is top notch in every way, very much a 5 star level of service. Staff is all friendly though many are quite young and undertrained, they all try. Room is attractive. Location is extremely convenient to all of the upscale restaurants and shopping. Valets are on the ball with the doors, helping with luggage and so on.

The bad. Very tiny room. There was no place to put clothes in drawers and only a tiny closet so we had to dig through our suitcases and line clothing up in piles. We were told in order to get a place to put our clothing away we needed to upgrade all the way to a suite. Bathroom fixtures needed some work (loose handle, slow drain). Traffic noise is very loud on the 4th floor. View was terrible (CVS and a seedy bus stop) They keep bright halogen lights on the room balcony at night and you can't turn them off until they go out by themselves at 11. Turndown service = they make up the bed, not 5 star turn down by any means. Dining was very mediocre. There was a very strange bad smell like vomit and chemicals in the elevator that lingered for both days we were there.

We came to the hotel for a romantic getaway and the room was not conducive to romance even in the least. However, I will say if I come to LA on business, I would absolutely stay there. It is a good solid 3 star hotel and above average for a single traveler on a short trip who wants to be pampered a little but doesn't need the full services of a real boutique hotel. But I see it offered as a 4 or 5 star luxury hotel and it isn't close.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor levels to avoid loud traffic and depressing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear CBB907,
We appreciate your review and thank you for giving Mr. C a try. While we're grateful to hear that you've enjoyed some parts of your visit with us, I must apologize for the things that didn't go so well. I hope that should you decide to stay with us in the future, you will contact me as I would like to make sure your stay goes as you expect it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Really great hotel with a spectacular view from our room on the 6th floor. We really liked the style and the atmosphere. We felt welcome as soon as we arrived in our rented car. The movie night by the pool was just what we needed after a long day in Disneyland. The location was perfect for us as we wanted to feel the atmosphere of LA, despite the Disney obligation. The hotel was walking distance to Rodeo Drive with shopping and good restaurants.

We can really recommend this hotel where the staff makes this nice hotel even better.

P.S. the noise from the construction next door and the location does reduce the rating from 5 to 4

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Karsten G,
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel itself is pretty nice. Rooms are a bit overpriced for the size and quality. Staff is friendly and for the most part helpful. However, watch out for the pool parties. On Sunday from around 12:00 to 7:00 pm the pool area fills up with a crowd of uber trendy 20-somethings. They have a DJ that is so loud that I couldn't have a conversation with my wife even will all the windows closed in our room (room 201). We had to stay in the lobby for two hours until we went to dinner. To add insult to injury you can't even use the pool on Sunday because of the party. It seems like for $400 per night you should be able to use the room and pool. I would say if you really want a relaxing stay at a high quality upscale Beverly Hills hotel, don't go to Mr C. If you want to pay too much for a mediocre hotel that is trying really hard to be hip, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if there will be a yacht club pool party. If there is make sure you get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian R, Front Office Manager at Mr. C Beverly Hills, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear heidird,
Thank you for your time in sharing your experience at Mr. C. I'm glad that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us, and I apologize for the noise coming from our pool party. I would like to mention that these parties happen once a month, during summer only, on the last Sunday of each month. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future to make up for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
#42 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Beverly Hills - a Kimpton Hotel
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#2 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr. C Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr. C Beverly Hills

Address: 1224 Beverwill Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mr. C Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2011 by Ignazio and Maggio Cipriani, the fourth generation of a family internationally renowned for its restaurants, landmark banquet spaces, clubs, and residences, Mr. C Beverly Hills is the first hotel for the brand and a member of Leading Hotels of the World. The hotel is steps away from Rodeo Drive and represents a modern version of old-world simplicity with European glamour, providing today's traveler with a comfortable, elegant, and effortless experience that blends contemporary amenities with discreet, personalized service. With 137 guestrooms including 12 suites, each room offers a private balcony with views of the Los Angeles and Beverly Hills landscape. Additional amenities include a pool with private cabanas; The Restaurant at Mr. C featuring classic Cipriani dishes; the 12th Floor Starlight Ballroom with panoramic views of Los Angeles; and Mr. C Spa & Beauty featuring ESPA and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mr. C Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mr. c Beverly Hills Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. C Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.