We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. C Beverly Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Mr. C Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Mr. C Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1224 Beverwill Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90035 (Westside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Uneven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A rather quite "uneven experience".
The staff was quite welcoming and the checkin fast. The Bellman brought our baggages less than 1 minute after we arrived.
We had booked a deluxe room and stayed for four days.
The lobby and rooms look pretty nice and they are comfortable. You may dislike their "soft mattress", depending on your tastes.
The choice of materials is quite questionable. Withe leather looks nice but how long is this going to last ?
Also the rooms are not too big and not well optimized : not much space for your personal belongings and shopping bags are quickly piling up in the closet.
The internet worked fine for us (If it lacks speed, come closer to the hallway).

At this point everything was great.

However, the room had a rather huge flaw : there was a gap of at least 0,5 inch under the room's entry door. This is probably one of the reasons why you can distinctly hear other guests voices & doors in the hallway.
On day #2 we've tried two tricks : earplugs and a towel at the bottom of the door (fills the gap. Not fully soundproof but slightly improves the situation).
When checking out, we were told that we should have opted for a suite or corner room.
I simply replied that such a situation shall not occur in a 5* hotel (unless you're in Vegas where 5* actually means nothing but a TV in your bathroom).

When it comes to service, you can see that the staff is trying. They are usually smiling, nice, welcoming. But almost everyday something went wrong. We once waited a few minutes in our car in and no one came around.
We took two seat in the lobby where you can have drink. The first day, a waiter came and served us in a proper manner. On day 2, no on came. After 10 minutes, I went to the bar and asked if any waiter would come. The barman said he'd come in a second. After 5 more minutes, we left and never tried to have drink there anymore (actually, we went to another hotel). By the way there were no more seats at the bar (5 seats only).
Surprisingly, many employees saw us waiting but no one seemed to care. Also, that is the reason why we haven't tried the restaurant.
On the last day, the valet brought our car back but no one loaded our baggages. So i left my car and started bringing them by myself. Finally, a bellman arrived.
You can't blame them. Most of the time they're doing a good job : smiling, welcoming and all you can normally expect. But i do detect a questionable management and/or poor training (HR is my field).

Also, when checking in, we've filled a form mostly dedicated to "guest preferences". I took 5 mins of our time to fill it. But during our stay, they never took any of our preferences in consideration. So why bother asking me about my favorite beverages ?

Location is "ok". Very close to Rodeo Drive. However bear in mind that there is NO decent bar/restaurant options at walking distance from there.

Not on par with hotels such as the Shutters or the Huntley. Actually, service is slightly better than the Biltmore (downtown LA).

Actually not being able to have a good sleep is no go to me. But if :
- you're a "hard sleeper" and noise can't bother you;
- you don't care about the lack of day/night life around your hotel ;
- you're not picky about service and easily accommodate yourself with the "self service" attitude ...

The enjoy : It will be a very good experience.

Room Tip: Apparently, you should request a corner room if you don't want to hear other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    102
    48
    21
    18
See reviews for
80
177
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in August, during a busy time. We stayed in a studio suite facing Pico. As others have mentioned, this side is somewhat noisy, however, we did not hear any noise with the patio doors shut, and we were still able to enjoy the sunny patio and the view of Los Angeles spread out below us. The location of the hotel was OK, but a car is necessary to explore much of LA's sights and attractions. The room was beautifully furnished, with an attention to small details that was impressive. We thought the room was modern, yet mantained a classic feel. The room was also spotless and was kept that way throughout the stay. What truly made an impression though, was that despite the activity in the hotel, the staff was friendly, attentive and responsive to all requests. We really enjoyed our stay at Mr C and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I found this gem of a hotel after tiring of the ordinary selections in downtown LA located by our son's apartment in the heart of the business area, and one which would offer more charm for a special celebratory stay. We had read a short review in the NY Times travel section shortly after booking our stay here earlier this year which confirmed that our choice was going to be a good one, as it was from check-in to departure. The staff was accommodating and courteous, the rooms clean and spacious. We took advantage of the complementary car service (which is provided within a certain radius of the hotel) to take us to LACMA one morning. We only had one meal at Mr. C's - breakfast on Sunday, which our children had thoughtfully pre-arranged for us as they had called ahead with the menu that had been printed out in an invitation slipped under our door upon arrival. However, our waiter had to be reminded to bring us some of the items on the pre-set menu but to his full credit would not accept a tip as he assured this it had all been taken care of at the time the arrangements had been made.

There are quite a few restaurants and stores within easy walking distance from the hotel which made for some pleasant early morning and evening strolls.

The advice to book a room facing toward the neighborhood as opposed to the street was definitely a good recommendation and worth the additional charge as I can see how it affords for greater peace and quiet, not to mention nicer views.

My review is delayed in posting but not at all because of any dissatisfaction with our stay; in fact, we will likely be return guests as we found this to be among the more comfortable properties within an easy drive to downtown LA.

Room Tip: Overlooking neighborhood as opposed to street for views/quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Mr. C Hotel combines the business traveler with value, comfort, service and the best in amenities. The rooms provide best in class furnishings and bathroom fixtures.
The restaurant and lobby bar provide excellent service and the finest foods and spirits.
An experience not to be missed; be sure to check out the vintage Hollywood Photography and one of a kind pool table in the lounge.

Room Tip: Large well appointed rooms, excellent location and wonderful food and beverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights Aug 2012. We booked a premium Beverly hills double through hotels.com. The reason we booked this room was because they offered high floors and the quieter side of the hotel as preferred by most reviewers on here and also because we wanted two double beds. Upon arrival we were told that room wasn't available but they could offer a deluxe room city view instead. These rooms are on the lower floors and face west pico blvd which is the exact opposite to what we booked. They are cheaper too but no mention of a refund! I stood my ground and insisted I get the room I booked months in advance. Michael who checked us in said he would look into it and would we like a Bellini while we wait. About 15 minutes later and still no Bellini we were told we could have the room we booked but would have to wait 2 hours because it wasn't ready! We arrived early so we anticipated this and went for a look around the area. When we came back the room was ready and we were on the 10th floor which was what we hoped for. Our luggage was brought to our room and I have to admit not the biggest of rooms and bathroom tiny compared to the London and Sofitel we stayed in prior, but they were immaculately furnished and spotlessly clean. The balcony was great with lovely views towards Beverly hills. It is about 29 minutes walk to rodeo drive but it's a lovely walk through the beautiful homes and felt very safe walking back late at night. All the staff were very friendly especially the pool and valet guys who always said hello. Would stay here again but make sure you confirm your room before you arrive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We love this little hotel and have stayed here perhaps a half dozen times. Indeed, we've been remiss not to write a review. The valet and bell men could not be any more gracious and kind, and the front desk staff as well. My room wasn't ready when I arrived before noon this trip, and the manager very kindly provided me an alternate room to freshen up and change my clothes. Everyone here goes out of their way to please very consistently. The service is classically Italian, a bit slow sometimes but delivered with extraordinary warmth and hospitality. The hotel itself is understated, contemporary, and chic. The lobby bar is fabulous, and of course who can go wrong eating at any Cipriani restaurant. This one is lovely, with it's mahogany tones and soft pink linens. It's an easy walk--about 20 minutes--into downtown Beverly Hills or to Century City, but the hotel has a complementary car service as well, to take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Be sure to tip Angel or Art very nicely. We adore the management folks here, especially Brando!

The rooms are simply wonderful, and we recommend the Beverly Hills premier view. A comfortable king size bed with a desk and sitting area make it plenty spacious, and the balcony is simply delightful...I am sitting on it now enjoying the spectacular view of Century City and the hills. The bathroom is definitely a little tight for two, but workable thanks to the little vanity right outside. A corner room has a second closet. The furniture is wrapped in leather--we love the look of it, like very good luggage! We definitely recommend to the business or casual traveler!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Fresh, clean and solid luxury rooms. The beds are wonderful, the furniture is heavy and just feels good (leather, thick woods), and the staff is very accomodating to your every request. Love the check in process with the Bellini and personal attention. If you go, stay a few days and just sit around watching all the pretty people walk around or the gorgeous cars that pull up. While the pool area is small, they've done a good job of trying to create a relaxing zone - tip, bring your headphones and listen to music as the street behind does get a bit noisy with cars/trucks zooming by.

Room Tip: Higher and face north - while the balcony doors are triple paned and keep out the noise, once you op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mr. C Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr. C Beverly Hills

Address: 1224 Beverwill Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90035
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mr. C Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr. C represents a modern version of old-world simplicity, stylish European glamour, providing today’s traveler with a comfortable, elegant and effortless experience that blends contemporary amenities with discreet, personalized service. A 12-story, 138-room hotel features 12 signature suites and classic suites alongside spacious guest rooms ranging from 365-800 square feet. The 4,500 square foot pool with private poolside cabanas is situated amid lush landscaping and beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mr. C Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mr. c Beverly Hills Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. C Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.