We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic introduction to LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Los Angeles

City Sightseeing Los Angeles
Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Los Angeles, CA
323 463 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 328 Activities in Los Angeles
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A fantastic introduction to LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I use these city hop-on/off tours whenever I travel. There a great way to find your way around a city. Plus you can use them as a form or public transport if you wanted to but for a limited time. For the LA City tours, you get an opportunity to see just about most touristy sights.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    8
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“They shouldnt even run the Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour! Dont waste youre money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dont even bother going on the Starline-City Sightseeing Hop on Hop off Bus Tour of LA.

I cant belive we wasted our hard earned money on this dreadful tour of LA. Yes you may think that it covers most of LA,the beaches and everything else you may need to see, but you are wrong, The buses are not very frequent and if you get off you may have to wait ages for the next bus and at some stops like downtown LA you haver to wait up to 3 hours for the next bus, We did the Red route first which we waited 30 minutes for the bus to arrive, we was taken around a few sites but felt like it missed vital points and cut corners to get back to the depot, On the purple route which takes you to parts of downtown LA has to be most boring bus tour i have ever been on and it says if you want to get off you have to wait 3 hours for the next bus, what we saw on this bus has to be the most boring things we have seen and nothing of that much interest so we looked on the map on where we could get off and get the metro back to the hotel, We both got angry with each other as we wasted so much time on such a rubbish bus tour, also there is no live commentery and all recoreded and sometimes things get missed out when passing areas of interest.

Tottaly waste of time and money please dont go anywhere near this bus tour!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An utter shambles! Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I don't know where to start! Firstly if you take it, DON'T do the downtown route. A complete waste of 3 hours!!!! Nothing to see down there. Secondly there aren't enough buses so if you try to do all routes you will end up waiting around for at least 90 minutes trying to switch buses. Thirdly the Santa Monica Beverly Hills changeover is in a back road beside a power substation. Only for its behind the Beverly Hills police station you'd fear for your life. Finally the drivers are rude and if on the later runs are only interested in finishing. We were on the last run to Santa Monica getting off at the 3rd last stop. As we were the last on, the driver tried to stop at an earlier stop. This tour is a shambles!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A dissapointing tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hard to really think of anything very good to say about this tour. We bought the 24 hour hopper pass for the three circuits around Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverley Hills and LA.
After boarding the bus in Santa Monica where we staying we were greeted by a driver who didnt know how to sell tickets or even wanted to and was told to buy them where the routes met. We tried the usual British cheek of getting a discount as we still had our San Fran ticket to be told NO.
The buses on all routes are tired and uncomfy with poor recorded commentary that can only just be heard.
Very unhelpful staff at the main stop on Hollywood Boulevard were more interested in upgrading than telling you when or where the next bus went from. We did enjoy all the usual must see attractions such as the Chinese Theatre, Walk of stars etc but do wish we had chosen another tour company.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You got to see how the rich and famous live”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I liked it as they gave you info that you would not have known about the people who have and still live in Hollywood.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Los Angeles also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.