We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere but Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gladstones

Gladstones
17300 Pacific Coast Hwy, Los Angeles, CA 90272-4169
+1 310-454-3474
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gladstones is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #929 of 8,644 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sunset Blvd
Transit: The 540 Metro Bus stops directly in front of our restaurant at the intersection of Sunset Boulevard and Pacific Coast Highway.
Description: In a world where landmarks are few and far between there is Gladstones. Situated where Sunset Boulevard meets the Pacific Coast Highway, it's become a place of Southern California legend. Gladstones offers a menu plucked from the very ocean it overlooks, serving modern renditions of classic dishes. In its typically relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere, there's something to satisfy every palate. Whether you're at the raw bar, the lounge, the dining rooms or the grand patio over-looking the surf, it's commonly agreed there's no better place, either up the coast or down, to enjoy fresh seafood, a Mai Tai or a sunset. Over the last 40 years Gladstones has become a South California landmark. One visit and you'll see why.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere but Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not to knock the restaurant but a good place to visit, nothing outstanding. The view is excellent, the atmosphere is the same. Abdolutely nothing wrong with the food or service, as it was very good, but nothing to rave about. There is a huge amount of competition, regarding eating establishments in the area, and everyone needs to find a twist to the norm.

Rich and Dr. Linda W.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    119
    86
    54
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Fun for a drink and a snack but very touristy and the food is only ok. Definitely not as good as it used to be. Great views of course and good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a reservation for Thanksgiving. Had to wait an hour. Once seated, the service was terrible. No manager seemed to be in charge. Food was good, but not cheap.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“New owners, not the same!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were visiting my parents and my dad wanted to take us to Gladstones. It was a Saturday for lunch and I was worried about getting in on a beautiful weekend afternoon. It wasn't a problem and I now know why. My parents noticed the menu change and the server said they had new owners. The food was a huge disappointment it takes a lot to screw up fish and chips but for $24 they did just that. They were soggy and the clam chowder had no flavor. They had someone coming by taking pictures then pressuring you to buy them...tacky. Service was blah. Don't waste your money, buy a sandwich at the gas station across the street and eat it at the beach, you will probably have better service and for sure better food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Too dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Ate dinner here one early evening after the sun had gone down. Thought the place was generally ok except for the fact it was so dark you could hardly read the menu. If I hadn't have had a torch app on my iPhone I certainly couldn't have read the menu and the children couldn't see to do their colourings. The staff were great but spent most of the time apologising for the lighting ( slightly ironic given that the beach is floodlit). The food was good , fresh and flavoursome, although we did have quite a long wait given how relatively empty the place was. Not impressed with having to pay for parking either. All in all I think one would go back for the location but not necessarily the ambiance ( given that you could barely see who you were with)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladstones also viewed

 

Been to Gladstones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladstones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.