We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Tapas Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleo

Cleo
1717 Vine St, The Redbury, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
+1 323-962-1711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 8,575 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hollywood & Vine
Transit: One block west from Metro Red Line Hollywood & Vine station.
Description: Enjoy delicious dinners and handcrafted cocktails by Chef Danny Elmaleh in a warm, inviting Matthew Rolston-designed setting that marries old Hollywood glamour with relaxed Mediterranean charm - in the heart of Hollywood.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Tapas Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very Good. Menu was solid if a bit disjointed. Food and drinks were appropriately priced. Located in the Redbury, it was really nice being able to go downstairs for a quick bight to eat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    15
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful place to share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Middle eastern food. Small plates which leads to lots of sharing and great conversation. The food was tasty with unique flavors. Especially recommend the mussels, the hummus tahini, the chicken ravine. Service was so generous I left more than 20%. Wonderful experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood Hills, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second visit to Cleo, this one for my birthday. Made a reservation for my birthday on a Monday night, in fairness to the restaurant we were an hour late. They seated us at a table that was designed to be in the way of everyone, perfect for getting bumped in to by waiters, guests, etc; they moved us to another table with very uncomfortable chairs; oh well. I guess they never mentioned my birthday to our new waiter, and it was never acknowledged while we were there, although when they called earlier in the day to confirm our reservation they noted our was reserved for a birthday event.

That said, now the food. Artichoke appetizer was pleasant, but a bit oily. The "special" lamb shank and lentils was plentiful (most plates were very small), the lentils tender, the lamb itself tender, but not flavorful. We did find two pieces of eggplant on our eggplant flatbread. The butterscotch pudding was nice and sweet, our son enjoyed the flourless chocolate cake.

Waiter/servers were scarce, of course they were very friendly when they handed us the bill. Welcome to LA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Middle Eastern flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great food influenced by the Middle East. Small servings to be shared, so you could try a few things. Reasonably priced for a hotel menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OMG! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

As the title would indicate....OMG AMAZING!
This resto was recommended by our hotel concierge (we stayed at the W) and we are so glad we came over.
Service, food and ambiance were STELLAR! Our server was honest, knowledgable and made amazing recommendations.
The dips and brussel sprouts and ravioli are MUST DO's as is this resto.
Do yourself a favour and eat here!
It it now one of our international faves and a reason to come back to Los Angeles.
Thanks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleo also viewed

 

Been to Cleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.