We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarfish By Sushi Nozawa / Downtown

Sugarfish By Sushi Nozawa / Downtown
600 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)
213 627 3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 8,564 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This was the ultimate in sushi cuisine. Ordered the "Trust Me" ... Portions brought out as prepared by chief, never felt rushed and fish was beyound fresh . Wait staff was excellent
DO NOT MISS!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    84
    25
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A cut above.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Simple. Solid. Great cuts of fish. The price is actually reasonable in my opinion. Succumb to the legacy of Sushi Nozawa and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow...what great Sushi . I had the Nozawa special whcih is a bit pricey at $30. What I really enjoyed was they bought out the different sushi and rolls as if it were a three course meal.Organic Edamame,
Tuna Sashimi
Albacore Sushi
(2-pc)
Salmon Sushi
(2-pc)
Snapper Sushi(2-pc)
Yellowtail Sushi(2-pc)
Halibut Sushi(2-pc)
Toro Hand Roll
BlueCrab Hand Roll
This was the $30 menu I had. The items were served it the order listed as if it were a three course dinner. Excellent idea.
One should not miss this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have eaten here a few times now and every time, it's fantastic. This place beats all the fancy sushi restaurants hands down. The menu is small but never fails to deliver on taste. Especially love the Nigori sake. Prices are reasonable too.
Not really somewhere for a romantic evening, more of a eat and leave place. Can't wait to eat here again on our next trip.
Sometimes there is a bit of a wait for a table as it's only a small place, but it's worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great TUNA... and great sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This little restaurant offers really authentic Sushi. We had ton of rolls and the best one was with Tuna. It is a small restaurant but I believe it is one of the best one. It is worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarfish By Sushi Nozawa / Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Sugarfish By Sushi Nozawa / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarfish By Sushi Nozawa / Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.