We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated for the price, loud room with no view, unpolished service..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Redbury Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package!
Ranked #15 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Overrated for the price, loud room with no view, unpolished service..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

First of all the good: location and size of room. Well appointed rooms with lots of space, nice linens, shower, furniture, etc. Location is good if Hollywood is your vibe, though be prepared for it's grittyness. Lots of homeless people. It definitely ain't West Hollywood.

The bad outnumbers it though: no view from my room whatsoever, except for a brick wall (and they were not able to re-accommodate me). The room was dark each day when we woke up, and it was disappointing to have no view in LA, the first time in many stays that I've had this problem. Some rooms clearly do have a view, though, so make sure you know what you're getting in advance. But for $300/nt, this was a major disappointment.

There is an extremely loud EDM dance club right next door, and you will hear the bass thumping through your room until at least 2am on weekend nights. Huge inconvenience.

Service was remarkably unpolished, and at times, quite poor. We waited for two full minutes at the breakfast area during our first morning, while servers and bartenders walked past us multiple times, never mentioning that we should sit down. When we finally asked what the situation was, the guy who had stared at us for two minutes didn't apologize, gestured for us to take a seat, and seemed more ready to go to an audition than provide quality service.

It took many calls to get room service to answer on the last evening of our stay. Frequently, front desk people were not at their posts, requiring awkward visits to the restaurant to ask for assistance.

At checkout, the attendant awkwardly and rudely told a service person to wait until he was done working with me "can't you see I'm with a customer right now?" ... Made me feel very uncomfortable.

The entire service staff needs a lesson in quality customer service, noticing the customer, providing a quality service experience. I know this is a typical issue in LA in general, as few employees see service as their job goal, but for the $300/nt I was paying, I expected a far better service experience.

I would not stay here again, and have a generally lower impression of SBE properties and businesses as a result of this experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear RobertGrunnah,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and relay to us your experience at the Redbury. We take all guest comments seriously and though we’re sorry to hear your experience wasn’t 100% positive, we see every opportunity as a chance to learn and to grow. The next time you’re back in Hollywood, I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay at our boutique hotel on Hollywood and Vine is an all-out success.
Best Wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    95
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
42
187
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Redbury-Hollywood. The hospitality of everyone we came in contact with (reservations, desk, valet, room service) was beyond reproach. So friendly, bubbly and cool. The room (I want to live there) was so much fun. The decor is just as good or better in person as it looks on-line. Modern retro..just so cool. The room is very spacious with open, huge kitchen that was very useful. Has small fridge stocked with EVERYTHING, but still room for your leftover's from Cleo's(make reservations for dinner). Did I mention the old-school record player in the room? We played every album in the stack (room had about 10), fun flashback! We even came home and bought a player for the house (Target, $79). Breakfast at Cleo (just downstairs in the hotel) was great, best coffee and the breakfast sandwich was huge and dee-lish. TECHNICAL STUFF: We were in a "Sunset Flat" style room (not sure was the differences are in flats,), the Room was very clean, lots of towels (thank you, I don't like begging for towels), Bathroom is very big, Bed was super comfy, Balcony is big with cool views of Hollywood (4th floor on Capitol Records side). Kitchen has everything you need and has a loooong eat-in area bar with stools. Location is great, easy walk to lots of stuff, felt safe. SUMMARY: Yes, stay at the REDBURY.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I booked a flat which had the lounge, dining, kitchen and terrace. It was HUGE and the decor was very inviting. The interior is Red and got a Scandinavian feel to it with old world mix with the new. My room had the robes, slippers and what i thought were the bells and whistles. Two TV's one in the bedroom and one in the lounge. The only thing i was missing was the room didn't have a mini hifi to play music or radio in the lounge room.
The Library & Cleo Bar/ restaurant also a great place for a drink very popular and stylish people.The service was great across the whole hotel and very accommodating.
I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
SuziYoung,
You ARE a rock star! (in our eyes at least) We really appreciate you sharing your experiences at The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine. It was great to see how much you enjoyed The Library and Cleo as well. We hope to see you back really soon..
Cheers,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My Husband arrived at the Redbury for the start of our Honeymoon. We stayed for 2 nights.

Wow what an impressive hotel! We were given free WiFi during our visit and our room was upgraded at no extra cost. Check in was super fast with no hassle at all, and in our room within 10 minutes. The decor is absolutely AMAZING i can not fault this hotel in any way. Our room was impeccably clean and service was always polite and helpful. I also did not experience the loud noise everyone speaks of and we were facing the courtyard?

Dinner at Cleo which is a restaurant within the hotel is a MUST! Food was just amazing, cocktails were delicious and service was impressive. Our dinner cost us about $160.00 with tip so not overly expensive and definitely worth every penny!

The location to this hotel is great, walking distance to the Chinese theater etc, BUT its no Beverley hills.

Book this hotel you will not regret it in any way!

A tip for first time travelers to LA. If you are staying any more than 1 night please save yourself the drama and hire a car. You need a car to get around and taxis are expensive! For $80.00 a day you get yourself a car which is cheaper than an airport transfer to Hollywood / LA and you can drive yourself where ever you please. There are lots of metered street parking and parking lots in the area so parking really inst a drama.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear KC85,
Congratulations on your recent nuptials, and thank you for making The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine part of your Honeymoon! We hope your time at The Redbury will be an enduring lifelong memory, and hope to get to welcome you back to celebrate one of many anniversaries to come.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Redbury Hotel during our stay in LA in March.
Although the set up of the Hotel is a little bit on the corporate side, our room was lovely, featuring a very comfortable bed, lovely shower room with nice bath products and a great living area.
Breakfast was also very good.

However we found the area a bit boring and touristy, which is why why we might not go back, but if you're looking to stay near the walk of Fame then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you don't like the color red than I suggest you sleep elsewhere. But if you like unique, funky, nostalgic, trendy and totally hot this is the place for you. Located on Hollywood and Vine the building is unassuming except for its deep red color. But once you head through the glitzy front door its like stepping back in Hollywood time, it seems a bit Speakeasy in its feel. The white entry is in sharp contrast to the rest of the deep red and earthy hues that color the hotel in a hushed, dark tone broken only by the large pictures of yesteryears stars at the end of each hall and in the lounges. At night the Cleo and Library restaurants come alive with the whose who of young Hollywood.
The rooms are absolutely fantastic! I thought I had been upgrade because upon entering my unit I found a huge lounge, full kitchen with eating area, huge bed and bathroom and this was the standard room. The time warp is found here as well with the old record players spinning 45's. My room had an balcony but it faced the next door building. The only thing missing for me was a pair of slippers to go with the fuzzy robe.
The actual reception is found on the 2nd floor, on check-in I had two hosts that were friendly and helpful. On check-out the hostess was a little less friendly and I waited quite awhile before I was helped. Don't forget to enjoy the outdoor space, they don't serve lunch or drinks out there but it's a nice place to soak in the warm LA weather.
You pay a premium at this hotel but it's worth it for the experience. Can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to get away from the evening noise generated in the Cleo and Library. A room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel room was beautifully decorated and equipped to handle longer stays. Rooms are well designed for the space. The bed was large and comfortable, better than the average hotel. The value is great for the price and even compared to other quality hotels. The amenities for the room were great compared to other hotels and complete with a stocked mini bar. The staff was friendly and courteous but initially the service was slow to help in many areas. The hotel is in a great location in Hollywood with great access to Cleo and close to other popular destinations. I will definitely consider the hotel the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#75 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TIG Global, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.