We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Redbury...An Adventure in Itself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Redbury Hollywood to your Saves list
The Redbury Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package!
Ranked #14 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Citrus Heights
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Redbury...An Adventure in Itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at The Redbury Hotel September 15-17, 2013. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The ambience is that of a loft in San Francisco (I lived there for a few years in the 1970's) and has the feel of a modern-day, unique house. There is a smell of fragrant incense in the air throughout the hotel and the colors lend themselves to a painting by Picasso. Every staff member was polite, professional and helpful, from the front desk to maintenance and valet. I loved having a full kitchen with the new Keurig k-cup coffeemaker. I must admit I had never used one before and needed a staff member to help me figure it out. It is a pretty amazing little machine....and very easy to operate once you figure it out! I was blown away by the book on the coffee table about Los Angeles and delighted when they actually let me take it home for free, as well a couple of the magazines. We dined at Cleo and had a superb dining experience, with Patrick as our waiter. Scotty was also amazing, as well as Edward and Natalia at the front desk and Matt (and other names I can't remember) in Valet. There are also a couple of maintenance people whose names escape me as well, but every staff member we came in contact with was exceptional. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the Hollywood lifestyle. There is even a phonograph player with vintage vinyl records for those nostalgic buffs out there like us. There is a club next to the hotel for night life and Katsuya Restaurant less than a block away where we also dined was exceptional. Our server was Felix and she was amazing and extremely knowledgeable about the menu and our dining experience was made easy by just having her recommend what to eat, which we did. Very enjoyable experience. I wish we had more time in Hollywood, as I understand that they have shuttles that take you over to the SLS Hotel sister property if you want to swim in their rooftop pool. Maybe next time. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: I can't comment on either the swimming pool or the Fitness Center, as we did not use them, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    104
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
52
204
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We got back from here on Sunday, & first impressions were great, & we were really impressed with the room, & after being in Vegas, it was nice to have a room with a kettle! The cleanliness of the apartment was questionable though. The rug was clearly not hoovered daily, and there was a layer of dust on most surfaces. The balcony was unusable due to the air con vent pumping out heat at full whack, & I really feel that a pool is needed in order to compete with other hotels in the area. The staff did not seem to have much knowledge of the area, so we had to work things out ourselves. We still had a great holiday, but the Redbury does need to make a lot of improvements to survive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spacious rooms and cool amenities! In walking distance of everything!
Right on the corner of Hollywood & Vine. Found a decent restaurant called Chicken Dijou which was perfect for my Gluten Free Diet. I had some friends staying at The W and it only took me 2 minutes to walk there. Did I mentiomn the rI would recommend this hotel to anyone. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed her to celebrate our 15th Year Wedding Anniversary and wanted a unique and fun experience. The Redbury delivered and more! The staff bent over backwards to make sure we had an excellent time and made sure our stay was memorable. We had dinner at Bazaar at their sister Hotel, the SLS in Beverly Hills who also made sure to continue the service. The General Manager on Duty, Keith, called over to them prior to our arrival and told them that we were celebrating our anniversary, and we were met with Champagne and a selection of tapas prior to us ordering! This is by far one of the most memorable experiences I have had at any Hotel and highly recommend that you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that overlook the Capital Records Building and the Hollywood sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Deal Joel B,
First of all, congratulations on 15 years of marriage! That is wonderful. Secondly, thank you for allowing The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine to be a part of your celebration. The Bazar was an excellent choice for you anniversary dinner; they do a fantastic job over there. Again, congratulations, and we hope to welcome you very soon.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Redbury for two nights at the start of our two week tour of California. The hotel was fantastic. The rooms were really spacious and the bed was so comfortable. Great amenities and loads of extra little touches that make the Redbdury stand out from the run of the mill big chain hotels. Despite being on a busy road and above a bar / nightclub we did not hear any noise at all at night time.
If we were to return to LA we would for sure to back again and can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a funky alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Noppaa,
Thank you for staying with us at The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine! We were so happy to read about your experience and truly appreciate you posting the review. We look forward to welcoming to you back next time you are in Los Angeles.
Sincerely,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June with my sister. After searching for hotels for a long time we came across The Redbury and we are so glad that we stayed here.

The sunset and vine flat decor and furnishings are nice, your room literally has everything.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us and the local attractions were only a short walk away. If your looking to do a Hollywood stars home tour, I would recommend prime time (black and red car).

We went to The Library in the evenings which was very nice and worth checking out...one of the nights we went to The Sayers Club which is a part of the SBE group and it was a really good night. The area can seem unsafe at night but you would expect that anywhere, if you stay on the main roads it is fine.

Cleo is the best resteraunt I've been to in Hollywood, the food is delicious and they do lovely cocktails.

I would recommend staying at this hotel as overall we had a great stay and the staff are all really friendly too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear R87J,
Thanks so much for your kind remarks about your stay at The Redbury. Our goal is to provide a singular boutique hotel experience with amazing dining at Cleo and unique nightlife experiences through The Library and our sister venue at Sayers Club! We look forward to welcoming you back and I will be sure to share your review with our team as we continue to bring you the best of the A-list lifestyle in the heart of Hollywood.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights; the hotel location was just fine a bit far from the main attractions, So be prepared to walk like 15 to 20 mins to reach the Chinese theater etc…, and to be honest I didn’t find it safe to walk in the midnight with my wife in Hollywood boulevard, but anyway it all depend about what you are looking for.

Our main problems were the weekend parties we couldn’t sleep at all; the room view was very disappointed, very bad view. We didn’t try the breakfast so no comment. The suite was big but even that we had a serious problem with the cleanliness and the housekeeping service, the rooms cleaning was just like a 3 stars hotel service, bed sheet was dirty, no toilet papers in the bathroom for 2 nights, after complaining the service was a bit better but not perfect.
Getting a cab from the hotel was just ok; the guys down stairs will help you. Honestly the staff was very nice and helpful, even when I complained about the housekeeping service they try to be nice by offering us a complimentary breakfast but we didn’t have time to get it.

In our next visit we will stay for sure in Beverly Hills, we find it very clean and interesting comparing to Hollywood boulevard. In our 5 nights we visited Santa Monica, Universal studio, Disney, and we took the Hollywood tour and the celebrity houses but to be honest we find it very ridiculous tour and doesn’t worth the money, it’s was just waste of time. In the end if you are looking for a luxury service and best location for walking around, shopping, restaurants and going out in safe area Beverly Hills Street is the only choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TitoRomania,
Thanks so much for your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Redbury. I certainly understand that other areas in Los Angeles are more suited to your taste, and please rest assured that cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us. We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for taking the time to pen your very helpful and insightful review.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TIG Global, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.