We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Redbury Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #15 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
palm springs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“one of the best in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Besides the consistently wanna-be-actors-front desk that makes you feel like you're at the front door of a cheesy night club, the stay is always great. Stayed here at least five times, the rooms are all the same but they are huge and fun. A bit amazing that every room is nearly identical in decor as its supposed to be "eclectic" but a cross between bohemian chic and urban loft. Linens, shower and bed are all fantastic. Location in the daytime, especially pre 8am, is a little rough, so be careful if you go out for a morning run. Be prepared to jump over a few cracked out homeless. Restaurant downstairs is phenomenal- so plan a big group dinner downstairs and crawl upstairs for a nightcap at the 2nd floor bar and then off to bed. There's enough room for your drunk friend to crash on the couch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    94
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
41
184
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in Nov'12 as part of our honeymoon trip. The Redbury was a great choice for this short stay as is well located and the staff are so helpful. The hotel is very trendy and the rooms are niche and eclectic!

I can't stress this enough just how helpful the staff were. They helped us in securing tickets for a Lakers NBA game at short notice and also helped with evening meal dining arrangements/ reservations. There is a very good pizza take away which was recommended 2 minutes walking distance which you have to try!!

Please seriously consider this hotel if you are looking to stay in Hollywood. We are looking to book another stay in an SBE hotel (probably Miami) in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ste_J_Davies,
Congratulations on your ‘recent’ nuptials, and thank you for making The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine a part of your honeymoon! Your gracious words about our team are much appreciated as they take great pride in creating amazing experiences like the one you described. In case you haven’t heard, we’re opening a Redbury in Miami’s South Beach in the fall!
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We live in Hollywood a few blocks away, but every few weeks try to take an overnight excursion into one of El Lay's amazing hotels. The Redbury has soared to the top of our list as one of the most enjoyable experiences: striking eclectic decor, a full kitchen and dining area, luxurious bed and bath, outdoor patio. It is a bit above the price we usually feel comfortable paying, but for a really special special occasion, it is the best so far! The only quibble was room service, which was slow and provided a drastically inedible steak sandwich -- BUT! I mentioned this in my hotel survey and the price of our room service bill was instantly reversed on my credit card with a personal note of apology from the hotel manager. We are returning this coming weekend for another memorable staycation for my Ganymede and me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear BostonTee,
We are so glad you spent your LA staycation at The Redbury Hollywood as we believe ourselves to the perfect staycation location! Next time you’re looking to this check out our Rendezvous package that features dinner in Cleo, a night at The Redbury, along with parking etc. Thank you for sharing your less than perfect room service experience with us on your survey! We appreciate the opportunity to make things right for you. See you soon.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant (Cleo).

On arrival, the impression is not good. There is simply a front door and no real indication that there is a hotel behind the facade. We dragged our cases through the front door and there was a small notice that reception was on the second floor. We went up in the lift and the reception desk was tucked away in a distant corner. By now, we were wondering if we were in the right place and whether we were expected.

But, from then on, all was well.The receptionist was friendly and helpful and were soon on our way to our room which was very spacious and quirkily decorated. The decorative theme throughout the hotel is based on old Hollywood films and actors and the room had many touches from the 1940s and 1950s (for example, there was a a record player complete with 78 vinyl LP records).

As mentioned earlier, the restaurant (which is also not noticeable from the street) was excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

In summary....Great service, great rooms....LOVE the restaurant Cleo inside the hotel(everything is great I ate there four days straight). Only dislike... stay away from rooms above the patio/library. The dj and party noise is way too loud. Also loved the complimentary car service

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear smamp,
Thanks so much for your kind remarks about your stay at The Redbury. We are glad that you enjoyed Cleo so much and were able to enjoy our complimentary car service. We embarked on a sound proofing project earlier this year which will continue into the rooms over the courtyard in the coming months. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine in the near future.
Sincerely,
David lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice rooms had many great stays here love the decor and the kitchens in the suites but if you have a guest that step out for a minute and forget to bring there cell phone and a key to the room don't expect to see them again the staff was very rood to my guest who was stuck waiting in the lobby for 4 hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our Anniversary Trip out to L.A. We wanted to try someplace different, so decided to stay at the Redbury. We could not have been happier with our decision. Great staff, great location, great rooms . . . what else can you say? From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, everything could not have gone better.

One specific item I want to point out. I have noticed that several reviewers commented on the noise. I don't completely understand that complaint -- you are staying at the Redbury to be located in West Hollywood and to be in the heart of the action. Of course there is going to be some city/club noise. That said, we stayed in a room that overlooked Vine Street with a view of Capital Records and, other than the typical city noises one would expect when staying at a West Hollywood hotel, we never had any issues.

The Good:

(1) Staff - I contacted the Redbury staff prior to our arrival to assist with dinner reservations, tour recommendations, etc. They were incredibly prompt in their responses to me. Their recommendations proved to be spot on. Everything was arranged as promised. Also, a couple of times I had to call downstairs for a couple of items and both times the requested items were at my door within 5 minutes. A+

(2) Rooms - Amazing size and look. You really do feel like you are staying in a West Hollywood flat, not a hotel room. The mini bar items were appropriately priced. The old record player was a great touch.

(3) Location - Cleo downstairs and Katsuya a pitching wedge away were both great. Easy drive/cab ride to Beverly Hills, Hollywood Hills, etc.

(4) Management - When I checked out, I noticed a mistake on my bill. I brought it to management's attention and it was promptly resolved to my satisfaction. Again, A+ service.

(5) Value - I rate the value as Very Good because, when I compared to other area hotels, I really couldn't find anything in this price range that is even remotely comparable. Everything in L.A. is overpriced, but the RedBury was a great overall value, all things considered.

The Bad (well, nothing was bad, the nitpicky).

(1) Having an individual serving coffee maker was great. However, would have been nice to have had multiple sets of sugar/creamer/etc. Really not enough cream/suggar/etc. for coffee for two people.

(2) I thought the bathroom fan was aggressively loud (see - I said I was nitpicking).

(3) When returning to the hotel around 10:30 on three separate nights, there was a line to get into the parking garage. It was mildly annoying having to wait 10 minutes to drop our car off at the valet, but at least we had a bunch of Bently's to stare at!

Room Tip: Request a room that overlooks Vine Street. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Nathan A,

Thanks so much for your kind remarks about your stay at the Redbury. Our goal is to make our home feel like yours, while providing you with a singular boutique hotel experience and an unpretentious refuge at the famed junction of Hollywood and Vine. We look forward to welcoming you back and I will be sure to share your review with our team as we continue to bring you the best of the A-list lifestyle in the heart of Hollywood.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#69 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, TIG Global, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.