We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pad to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury

Save Saved
You added The Redbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Redbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Later!
Ranked #8 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great pad to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very comfortable, spacious rooms. Great style and decor. In room vintage record player is a lovely touch, however the vinyl clearly has not been looked after!

Avoid the horrendously expensive but very tempting mini-bar and bring your own - will save you a fortune!
If you are looking for a DVD to watch whilst in the room head down to the awesome awesome Ameoba music which has an enormous selection of second hand DVDs. I would suggest the hotel starts a collection for guests though.

As far as the infamous nightclub we were situated next door to a music venue which did get noisy one night but quietened down at about 11. The comfy bed more than made up for it though.

Personally I liked west Hollywood (full of character) although it may be a bit grungy for some expecting the glamour of Hollywood.

Be sure to visit Universal studios whilst in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    89
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
41
176
30
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is cool, trendy and unique. My room was comfortable, big and has a real charm. The staff is young and helpful, we didn't have any problems with them even when I asked to go to the club to buy a beer (I was wearing shorts, shirt and flip-flops).

However I wouldn't recommend you to stay here if you want to rest. At night the whole thing becomes a nightclub, you can clearly hear the music and people talking. It wasn't a problem for me and my wife as we were really tired, otherwise we would have some drinks there.

I wasn't very impressed with the area. I think Santa Monica and Venice beach would suit me better as an area.

Be aware that everything is far in LA. I drove from Hollywood to Santa Monica and took me more than a hour to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms opposite to the nightclub/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A unique boutique hotel that puts much larger 5 star properties to shame. The rooms (which are actually full suites & apartments) are opulent in a tasteful sense. The staff are friendly, well mannered and provide an exceptional guest experience (without the fluff)! This is without doubt one of the coolest hotels in LA (just check out some of the A-list celebs who have stayed and partied here). If I was an owner of a hotel or nightclub in the US right now I would be paying some serious attention to the name 'Sam Nazarian'.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. If I could knit pick on something, the noise from the street could be a little loud at times but I believe they are putting in double glazing in the near future to remedy the situation.

If you loathe the colour red, this is probably not the hotel for you!! For everyone else, it is.

ps - for those of you who are fans of Anthony Bourdain (I am indeed).... I believe he is on his way to the Redbury soon!!

Room Tip: Fantastic bar with some great live bands, but if your room is too close it can be a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'm a photographer/videographer so I've worked in pretty much every hotel in LA, Hollywood, Beverly Hills over the years shooting weddings and whatnot and I can say that the Redbury ranks as the "coolest" and most "hip" hotel I've ever been in. The decor is very "hollywood" and the rooms are large, and comfortable...bonus, if you're a photographer, you'll love the natural light that the rooms get thanks to it's large windows. I stayed here for a short romantic getaway with my lady and our expectations were exceeded in all areas. The staff, the location, the cleanliness, space, etc....all top notch. It's in a very convenient location too if you want to fall prey to the tourist traps on Hollywood Blvd. if not, Beverly Hills and the other sights to see in LA are not far. Definitely recommend staying here, it's by far the coolest hotel in LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel with a lot of character in the heart of Hollywood. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the largest 2 br suite (301) and had a fabulous stay for our last nite in the States.
Nothing was a problem for Ellis, the concierge.
Suite was great. Lots of attention to detail. Record player & records supplied, kitchenette, comfy bedding, lovely clean bathroom facilities.
This place has it all. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just spent the last 3 nights there, with my wife and kids. The staff is extremely kind and professional. We had a great dinner at Cleo and also at Katsuya. There is no other hotel that offers what i feel is a true LA experience other than the Redbury. thanks for another great weekend!! Oh !!!!!they also upgraded my room at check in!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The décor and furnishings were really well done. I would rate that part 5 stars. The rooms have small details / touches that we really appreciated! The vinyl player, the wallpaper, layout, furniture, four poster bed etc

The bar had great cocktails and the service there was excellent!

The not so great part about our experience:

- Our room was on the same level as the bar and open terrace area & you can hear / see people outside our balcony till about 2 am
- The room service part was not so great. They either fumbled what we ordered or we had to call multiple times to check on the order/delays
- only one ice machine (not on our floor)
- Pricey overnight valet parking

Room Tip: Do not stay on the same floor as the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear prabhu090,
Thank you for choosing The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine while in Los Angeles! Please accept our apologies for the challenges with noise for the lively bar scene in the Library during your stay. We completed a soundproofing project on the rooms that face the night club to our north last week and will begin work on the rooms facing the court yard in the coming months. In the meantime, we will do a better job of controlling the volume and be sure to close the outdoor patio at a reasonable hour. Please feel to contact me directly for assistance with your next reservation, so I can ensure you receive a quiet room.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Redbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury

Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#59 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Redbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.