We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Redbury Hollywood to your Saves list
The Redbury Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package!
Ranked #12 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We wanted somewhere different and a bit special for a short LA stay and the Redbury delivered in spades.

The Redbury is an oasis of warm elegance in a city which overflows with trendy but cold decor. A bit disappointing to find it located next to an unattractive car park, but once iside you are enveloped in the stylish retro ambience. Beautifully appointed room with plenty of space to rest and relax and a private balcony is a definite bonus for any guest who is a smoker (no trek downstairs and outside).

Extremely friendly and helpful staff and being able to extend our checkout to 1pm was a definite bonus, as was having our bags minded as we weren't catching the airport shuttle till 6pm. The use of the 'town car' to be chauffeured to The Grove shopping centre was brilliant considering we'd already technically check out. That was really an unexpected surprise and very much appreciated.

As others have mentioned, the noise from the Atrium does noeed to be considered if you're staying on a Saturday night and if party noise is going to bother you. However I was pleasantly surprised to find the noise ceased pretty much around 1am and we didn't really find it too much of an issue.

Lovely food both in the restaurant, breakfast and room service.

We did have two minor issues which we hadn't expected in a hotel of this class :

1. The pillows are terrible. Lovely if you're propped up in bed watching tv but to sleep on they flatten out too much and become hard.

2. No tea! We're not into coffee and there was only a coffee makes for a hot beveridge. On calling the host to check if I could get some tea bags I was told the only tea available would be herbal. Very disappointed as I was really hanging out for a cup of tea.

However, these minor details didn't detract from an extemely enjoyable stay and the Redbury will definitely be my hotel of choice on future stays in LA., Love love love this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    103
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
50
201
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Only stayed or one night but will be back next year. Very well done, great room, kitchen, bathroom, turntable (able to play our own records that we just purchased from amoeba).
Had a room over looking the Capitol records building and the Hollywood sign in the background. Yes the garbage trucks come at 7am and are noisy but this is a big city, no more noise than the police sirens.
I agree that the shower pressure was low, but the size of the shower area made up for this.

I have stayed at other hotels n Hollywood and the Redbury will be the only one I would return to.

Make sure you go across the road to Dillons, $3 pints and good food.

Overall, the hotel is not cheap, the parking is $38 a night but worth every cent, why not stay in a unique hotel when in a great city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family (2 adults & 2 children) stayed for several nights late Dec / early Jan and The Redbury exceeded our expectations. We read a description and recommendation for the hotel in a travel section in a UK newspaper site, thought it sounded much more interesting compared to other mainstream options and decided to go with it, and we are very pleased we did. We chose a Hollywood premier Flat, our room (411) was huge, perfect for 2 adults / 2 children with kitchen facilities, was well located in hotel away from Vine st and much of the street noises. Room was made available to us early in the morning that we arrived from Australia, this was greatly appreciated.
We were resident across New Year and enjoyed the ambience of the hotel with many visitors attending hotel restaurant and parties.
The Redbury location was ideal for our LA itinerary - central to Hollywood Blvd, many local restaurant options (kindly recommended staff and all spot on for service and quality, particularly the Mercato di Vetro in West Hollywood), many shopping options nearby either walking distance or short car trip (which we had the good fortune to have the hotel car take us to a few times), freeway access is literally 2 minutes from the hotel for North / South (helpful for the Disneyland, Outlet shopping and Universal studios trips).
The staff were excellent, a lot of great input to restaurants, shopping, car rental, attractions, directions......
Room was serviced to high standard and any needs we had were promptly met. No problem with children staying in the hotel. We walked around the local area during day and night and felt comfortable doing so (Hotel staff provided some guidelines as to which areas to stick to when out walking).
Overall we were very pleased to have chosen the Redbury for our LA stay and next time will do same.

Room Tip: Room 411, rear of hotel away from Vine St. Has balcony but not a view however this is offset by room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was concerend about late night noise after readinfg TA reviews. I was traveling with my Mother and was concerned it may be too much of a party atmosphere. I sent an email requesting a room in a quiet part of the hotel, they said it would be an additional cost but when we arrived they up graded us. The hotel and rooms are goregeous! And the rooms are huge!There was some street noise at night, but this is a hotel in a big city, not out in the boonies! We slept great!
Cleo the bar/ restaurant was excellent as was The Library Bar, though drinks are pretty pricey.
Everyone at the front desk and the valet guys were very helpful, the service is great!
I definately reccomend The
Redbury and I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ok, so the hotel decor is nice - very french, chic, elegant aesthetically.

However, talk about incompetent, stupid staff! OMG, the guy at the front desk, Kevin, I think his name is, is just unwilling to help. We asked him if we can make reservations at the restaurant and his tiny, little mind is so boxed-in in his square head that he cannot comprehend this simple request. The manager does not come in until 8:00pm and Kevin is unable to complete a simple task on his own!

It was just ridiculous! oh and upon leaving, they charged us $200 cleaning fee!!! Seriously? I thought hotels were supposed to have cleaning maids who will change the sheets, make the bed and replace the towels for the new guests. They will sneak in every and any charge possible.

Be aware! You have been warned. The employees are screened to make sure their IQ is below 10 before they are hired. They will not be able think on their own, help in any way, give directions, or speak words that they were not previously trained to do so. My dog does better tricks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Holly D,
Please accept our apologies for The Redbury not living up to your expectations! We certainly take pride in providing the highest quality of service to our guests. Kevin has not been a part of the team at the Redbury since the summer of 2012, and I firmly believe the hotel has continued to refine and improve our operation in the many months since he left. Cleaning fees are imposed for one of two reasons: (1) smoking in the rooms as we are a non-smoking hotel (2) when the room is damaged and the fess are used to cover the cost of repairing the room. Please feel free to contact me directly at david.lang@theredbury.com if I can assist in clearing up the situation.
Thank you,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed with every aspect; location, room, amenities and service. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and the room was very large, with kitchen and balcony. The room was spotless and all amenities replaced as soon as they were used, ie pod coffee, washing powder for the terrifically handy washing machine, etc. It was everything we wanted and more. Staff was professional and pleasant to deal with. Adding to the pleasure of the stay were the interesting decor and the eclectic touches.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here on our last leg of our holiday and I must say.. It was like being at home. The room was spacious and comfortable with great views. Mini bar was well stocked and Cleo was a great restaurant.. We will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TIG Global, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.