We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood Finesse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Redbury Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package!
Ranked #12 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas
1 review
“Hollywood Finesse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We visited LA for my fiance's birthday and had a wonderful stay at the Redbury. We travel quite often and this unique boutique hotel exceeded all of our expectations. From location, room size, cleanliness, and service. Our first night we dined downstairs at Cleo and must say you cannot leave without trying the brussel sprouts. One of those dishes worth writing home about. If you are unsure on where to stay on your next trip to LA, this is the place. Thank you Redbury, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara F, Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hello JTrader22,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel and found time to dine at Cleo. The food is amazing, and those Brussels sprouts are magical and have converted many picky eaters into vegetable lovers!

We appreciate the recommendation and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Cheers,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    97
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
193
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The room was completely gorgeous, and utterly quiet. I have never had such a quiet hotel experience, in fact. The extended-stay set-up makes it wonderful for getting work done, and taking advantage of the kitchenette was easy given that Trader Joe's is right across the street. Finally, the staff was terrific--everyone I dealt with was charming. I travel to LA for busienss frequently, and have never found a hotel that was better than just OK; I will certainly be choosing the Redbury from now on, whenever its Hollywood location makes the choice workable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Step outside the grand front door and you are standing on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. How cool is that? My wife found her namesake under her feet. This is a quirky, funky and "Hollywood" experience. Even the tour of stars' homes leaves from the front door. The city sightseeing tour stops at the nearby corner.

The rooms are large and comfortable, and the vinyl records + turntable are a hoot. My Mrs. is very choosy but she had no complaints about the cleanliness, location and convenience.

The reception area is rather dark and gloomy, but the staff were helpful and attentive. The four-poster bed adds a touch of class to the room environment, as does the spotless and spacious bathroom.

How cool to stay right on Hollywood and Vine?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The Redbury was constructed as a longer stay hotel. When money became a problem, another company, SBE, took over to operate it as a (more or less) standard hotel operation. The result is big rooms with kitchenettes and a nightlife vibe that sbe is known for. The service was so much better than one ever expects for a "design hotel," and the scene was just right...mixed crowd in a laid back environment, great music and small but interestingly designed common areas. The food at Cleo's was great at dinner and good enough at breakfast, and the small plates at the Library were perfect for midnight snacks and drinking. The hotel design is a funny mix between rock & roll and old Hollywood...designed by Phillipe Starck, the place seems to be LA from the point of view of someone who isnt from LA. I really liked it. Fair warning: don't take a garden room unless you want to party most of the night because you won't be able to sleep with the party about 2' from your glass doors.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Redbury for two nights and the accomodations were terrific. The spacious room (750 sq. ft.) included a large kitchen (including microwave, fridge, plates and flatware) and living room area, wonderful bed and linens, a tremendous shower, nice vanity/dressing area and a separate room for the toilet. If you enjoy funky, fun decorations, you will love this place. We really enjoyed the phonograph and records that were provided. The hallways have large, illuminated photos on various walls of hollywood starlets, which was a nice touch. Location was great, at Hollywood and Vine, just a short walk down the walk of stars to Grauman's Chinese and other Hollywood sights. BTW, a Trader Joe's is just down the block - which happened to be a plus to us on our first night, as we were tired from traveling and weren't feeling like going out for dinner. We picked up some items at TJ and prepared a lovely dinner in the room. A couple of things to note: while the valet parking is a bit pricey, I would recommend it, as it does provide for in and out service, and the parking lots near by are not much less in price. Also, we did attempt to have breakfast in the hotel's restaurant - after waiting approx 10 minutes for a host/hostess to arrive and seat us, we asked one of the wait staff about getting seated (the restaurant only had a handful of guests eating and there were plenty of empty tables). He replied that he was "overwhelmed" at the moment and that we could look at a menu and place an order with the person that was working behind the bar. We chuckled to ourselves and needless to say we went elsewhere. I think another guest who was on his cellphone just outside of the restaurant wisely observed, "I don't think LA is a morning town". This minor hiccup was no big deal - but if you do decide to have breakfast outside of the hotel, do some checking as to what's available nearby. Other than a McDonalds (not for us) and a Starbucks several blocks away on Hollywood Blvd (which we went to), we couldn't find anything else in the vicinity, though I'm sure there are other choices had I done the research. All in all, very highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stay at the Redbury for all of our Hollywood/LA concerts and events. The hotel is modern, artsy and hip. Everytime we go there we meet someone who has never stayed there, and who are super impressed by the rooms and decor. The staff is truly a service-oriented bunch, and go out of the way to make your stay perfect. All the rooms have awesome modern amenities and set an incredible mood with their beautiful style. It's right smack in the middle of everything in Hollywood, so you can walk or cab to the best music venues, restaurants or night clubs in the area. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner side of the hotel overlook the swanky lounge scene below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at the Redbury Hotel and was so amazed by the suite I didn't want to leave!! The property looks like and old one from the outside and is close to the freeway, but inside it's spectacular. All of the rooms are HUGE suites with incredibly beautiful finishes. A full living room and patio balcony. Full kitchen and two flat screen TVs--one in the living area and one in the large bedroom. Ample bathroom with huge closets and shower. Wish I could have stayed for more than one night! Highly recommend especially if you can find a deal!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Klbster,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Redbury. Oddly enough, a lot of people think the building looks as if it is a longstanding resident of Hollywood, but it is actually ‘new build construction’ that was completed in 2008 giving us the best of both worlds…Classic Hollywood glamour and charm along with state of the art infrastructure! Again, thank you for choosing The Redbury and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the areas.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, TIG Global, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.