We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redbury Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The Redbury Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package!
Ranked #13 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
“A refreshing place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

First, this is a very cool place. Recently renovated in a funky style, the rooms are really apartments with separate living and sleeping areas and a comfortable kitchenette. The pictures on the web site are exactly how the room looked, and it was comfortable, relaxing and a pleasant place to settle down after doing the town. When we booked we asked if we could have a "quiet" room, knowing there was a nightclub next door, and when we checked in we were told they saved the room farthest from the club for us. What attention to the customer's wants. No question, a first class place and we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    97
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
48
193
33
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at the Redbury hotel for 2 nights with my mom and my sister. We stayed in the 'base' flat (not sure what one?) and it was really spacious! It is open concept with the only door being a sliding door that separates the toilet from the rest of the bathroom (which was actually nice for 3 women sharing / trying to all get ready at the same time!). We did have to call the front desk a few times as the toilet kept getting clogged with nothing but toilet paper or kleenex in it. The shower also had a glass wall that faced the bed, which could be weird depending on who you're staying with!

The record player was great and a really fun feature. I also LOVED the decor and the art was all very interesting. The kitchen had just what we needed - a sink, a few burners, a lot of counter space, and lots of drinking glasses. The mini bar was not so mini! We didn't take anything, but it was reasonably priced (I actually think the $7 Heineken was more expensive at a restaurant we went to!). There were only 2 coffees (keurig - yum!) so we called the front desk and they brought us up more right away, and the cleaning staff refilled it with 3 which was nice. There was not, however, any laundry soap. We probably could have just asked for it but we decided not to bother as we were just getting ready to go out for the day.

The King bed was SUPER comfortable (which I shared with my mom) and we got a cot brought up for my sister. So not ideal sleeping situation for 'non couples' but we made it work. We had a spacious balcony (for a hotel room) that overlooked the courtyard, which was nice as my mom is a smoker. It DID get quite loud at night so if you can't sleep with background noise than this might bother you. I bring earplugs when I travel so I used those and had no problem sleeping. My mother and sister didn't have earplugs but still slept no problem. It was like having the radio on as you fall asleep... :)

The staff was really friendly, the location was good (about a 10-15 minute walk to Hollywood and Highland / Grauman Theatre etc) and just around the corner from Pantages Theatre. If you want to have a true Hollywood experience, then stay here! We saved a bit of money by going to the Trader Joe's around the corner and getting snacks, to make up for the pricey rooms (about $350/night).

All in all it was a great stay!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the courtyard got quite loud on Friday/Saturday night (especially Saturday!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were at the Redbury for just a weekend and we enjoyed the unusual decor and the friendly staff. I am surprised, though, that the lobby, soap, and body lotion had an odd, musky, incense-like smell. so bring your own if that bothers you. There was a stain on the sofa, too. On the plus side, the rooms were very large and comfortable, and the location was great. There was a nice big kitchen and a washer/dryer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We really enjoyed the funky decor, the really spacious suite (there were 4 of us) and the kitchen. We didn't use the balcony much as no view on 2nd floor and a bit gloomy. The staff were friendly and laid back.
Location is great if you like the mix of seedy, touristy and glam which makes up the neighbourhood. Some good clubs and restaurants - liked Katsuya, didn't like Beso just down the road. But it's a good place to walk around day and night which is not that usual in LA. Would definitely return to the Redbury.

Room Tip: The Hollywood suite is enormous but there isn't an actual door separating it from the living/sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Biz trip. Took a 1 bedroom. It had a smoking patio and a full kitchen with what appeared to be a dance pole at one end of the long wooden counter. Turntable with old rock albums and funny shaped furniture give a nice feel. On the downside, in-room dining was super stingy and not well presented (a glass of juice, small container of yougurt still in its grocery store packaging and a piece of bread for $25). Restaurant is a bit of a scene, but this would be a great place to have a small group of friends hang out for drinks or a light meal because the rooms are spacious and the kitchen has really nice gear.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wow, this is a really great hotel.I stayed here twice in Feruary in two different rooms. I don't feel any need to stay anywhere else in LA (Unless budget is a constraint). This is a real five star hotel with great character and a tremendous level of service.

The rooms are stunning. Huge high ceilinged suites with marvellously decadent decoration and a four poster bed. Each room is equipped with a vintage record player and a selection of albums! The kitchen is beautifully equipped and the bathrooms are great. Each room also has a spacious balcony.

Room service arrived in 5 minutes with a meal ordered from the excellent mediterranean restaurant. The selection of drinks and snacks in the room is imaginative and extensive. Check in staff are super helpful. I overheard one of them sending out a taxi to find a guest who had got lost somewhere in LA !

Of course all this comes at a price (overnight parking is $37!) and the rooms come at around $320-$350 a night, but in a way it is excellent value for money and nothing here is done on the cheap. There is even a washing machine hidden away in one of the cupboards.

The one draw back is perhaps the noise. Avoid the rooms that give onto the club next door on the North side. On my first night there was a live concert going on until midnight. Luckily it was a great concert which we enjoyed without having to pay for tickets! The rooms that look out onto Vine are also a little noisy at night. The quieter rooms look out onto an internal courtyard, but then they don't have the great views from the balcony

This a really great experience and you could happily live here for an extended period if you had the money!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the way to New Zealand and it was honestly one of the best parts of the trip! The service was beyond excellent but without the stuffy, pretentious feel. The decor was super cool throughout and the room was even better. It's not very often you get to play a Van Morrison vinyl on your own turntable. :) Though it is on the expensive end, it is well worth every dollar, plus the location is unbeatable. If you are in LA, treat yourself to a night (or two) in this fabulous spot!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Address: 1717 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#63 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TIG Global, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redbury Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.