We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and building but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Renaissance Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Renaissance Suites
Save
You added Hollywood Renaissance Suites to your Saves list
6358 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 342 Hotels in Los Angeles
Mexico City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and building but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Im writting here because I hope it helps travelers to dont suffer the same experience as me and my bfriend did, we arrived on August 18th, our flight got in early so the receptionist was very kind to check us in early, great room, greal location, everything was going well...until we left the hotel and realized we were missing $400 usd, we put the passports and more cash in the save so that money and documents were there, but we left an envelope inside a suitcase with extra cash, and when we unpacked, the money was gone...I called the hotel, talked to security, explained the situation and he asked me if I wanted to make a report, I did and till today I have not heard back...he explained they are only responsible for what is placed in the save and ok, our mistake to trust we could leave our bags opened, Im not expecting to get the money back, as I explained to the security guy, but the hotel needs to know they have employees stealing from guests...so heres my experience, hope this help future guest to lock all your bags and make sure you dont miss anything while you stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maitri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is now owned by the Lowes group of hotels and was recommended by a friend to be in the best location to visit the main tourist places - he wasn't wrong! Right in the heart of Hollywood district, this hotel was clean, the pool was lovely and the rooms were of nice condition, all the staff were so helpful and made our four night stay very pleasureable. A very good fitness suite is alongside the pool and the children loved it.The view from our room was the 'Hollywood' sign on the hill and to the back of the hotel was the shopping mall, chinese theatre, Hollywood boulevard, Sunset boulevard with Beverly Hills and Rodeo drive just a couple of miles down the road - top tourist spot to stay!
Go out to Santa Monica and do a bike ride along the coast it's great fun and such fun although Venice beach does look a little so-so but absolutely fine during the day.

Room Tip: Go for a VIP room on the 19th/20th floors as they don't cost much more and you get free WiFi , a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishers240711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May, absolutely gorgeous hotel!!!!! We stayed on the 15th floor with views of the Los Angeles sky line and the Hollywood sign!!!! The room was spotless and the hotel overall was amazing!!! You only have to walk 30 seconds out of the hotel and your in the Hollywood highland centre and kodak theatre!!! Would definitely stay here again if I ever re-visit and recommend it highly!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danni_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a great stay at this location. Perfectly located if you want to see Hollywood, Universal and Griffith Park. Grauman's, the Kodak Theatre, The Highlands Hollywood and Hollywood Blvd; it's all right there outside the door. It is an older building, but the room we were in was recently renovated and, from inside, you would not know it was older. Our room was quite large and decorated in a modern style you'd expect in Hollywood. It's convenient to several venues downtown, which was the reason for our stay, so you can avoid driving if you plan to have a few drinks. We found this to be a lovely hotel and will return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricksltlsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hollywood Renaissance Hotel in February (for the 5th straight year in conjunction with the Oscars). The hotel during this period buzzes with activity. The rooms I have stayed in have all been clean and the bed comfortable. The pool area has a nice relaxed atmosphere. There is a workout facility that is attached to the pool with enough equipment to keep a person busy. The lounge area in the lobby is a great place to people watch. Valet parking is convenient, as self parking in the massive parking garage at Hollywood-Highland can be a 10-15 minute chore. Parking rates can also be on the high side. Hollywood itself is pretty much a tourist trap and at night can be a place you want to watch your back. East of Highland is still dumpy. The scene to the west of Highland would be more of place to go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornHuskerNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel.

It wasn’t cheap but it really was lovely.

Check in: Very quick and super friendly. Everyone was lovely and wanting to help.

Breakfast: Again not cheap but nice. Not a massive variety but good enough. The one complaint was that pastries were not warm and seemed like they were out for a while.

Room: Lovely, had a clear view of the Hollywood sign. Everything in the room was in great condition, safe, fridge and the most TV channels of any place I have stayed.

Concierge: Was great, an aspiring actor who was very helpful and did a great job. They ordered us a car to go the airport and it ended up being a stretch limo, very happy about that.

Location: Great, right next to the Walk of Fame and a shopping centre and other Touristy things.

I would definitely go back there again, but it really wasn’t cheap!!!

Tip: Ask for a view of the Hollywood sign and definitely ask for a NON adjourning room. We had people next to us one night and the doors are paper thin, they woke us up constantly with their noise.

Room Tip: As per review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coutsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Yes! Location cant be beat. Floor to ceiling glass windows with amazing views of what you came here to see...traffic, expensive cars, million dollar homes nestled in dried up hills and the Hollywood sign as a back drop. Oh and your occasional bum dressed as spiderman or Elvis on Hollywood Blvd. Beds are comfortable and space is adequate. Check in was fast and easy and the valet attendants were very helpful. The suggested I self park for $10 versus the $30something for valet. It seems this Hotel has not been renovated since its opening, while not bad, it is falling behind on decor. Furnishings and decor do not meet up with its cool location. The lobby also feels crowded and a bit dated. The rooms are plain and and have a 90's feel to them and furnishings although in tact, do look worn. This Hotel should compete with the brand new W Hotel down the street and get a face lift. Over all i thought it was Very Good.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best views of city and Hollywood hills including Hollywood sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chucho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#14 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,484 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#12 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#10 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#56 of 342 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#81 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Renaissance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Renaissance Suites

Address: 6358 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 342 Hotels in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 120

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing