We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectaular Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katsuya - LA Live

Katsuya - LA Live
800 W Olympic Blvd, Ste 335, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1367 (Central L.A)
213-747-9797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Katsuya - LA Live is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #877 of 8,644 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Figueroa St.
Description: Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya by Starck is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod. With superb talent and exacting precision, Katsuya by Starck is changing the face of Japanese cuisine. Katsuya is the Los Angeles Times Readers’ Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California and one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S."
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Spectaular Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Likely the best Sushi we've had anywhere. The fish was fresh from the sea, the combinations were ever so creative. So many menu items from which to select. Crazy busy and noisy but wonderful high level energy and great service. Will return for sure!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Japanese next to the Staples Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Awesome dinner. Right from the Edamame to Sushi, Sashimi, Eel and the blue cod. Tge warm Sake was also awesome though the caucasian chicks screaming in Japanese was very funny. Guess we were sitting right next to one of the stars from Game of Thrones.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

They have some really great menu options for sushi lovers, and those who are less adventurous. Lots of plates are awesome for sharing, so it is fun to order a variety of things to try. They have some fun drink options as well. Whether looking for a date night spot, or a dinner with friends - this is a good spot. Be prepared to leave feeling very, very full. It is easy to overdo it, because everything is so good!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We just ate at Katsuya. The food was very good but the portions were very small and the service left a lot to be desired. it is likely that they don't care because they are very busy every night given their location, near Staples Center. Having said that, some training and better management might entice me to come back. The cod in miso and the bass are both very good. The sushi and the sashimi were also very good. we ordered edamame that we never received but we were billed for it, We had to ask 3 times for the last roll we ordered. Our last request was to the manager. we received an apology and then waited several more minutes for the spider roll. There are so many great restaurants in LA, that I will give others (Sugarfish) consideration before going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overly priced Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The price you pay is way too much for a small size portion. The quality is good. I only would go here if I was celebrating a special occasion or trying to impress someone.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsuya - LA Live also viewed

 

Been to Katsuya - LA Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katsuya - LA Live, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.