We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culina, Modern Italian

Culina, Modern Italian
300 South Doheny Drive, Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)
+1 310-860-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Culina, Modern Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 8,644 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Burton Way
Description: Culina, Modern Italian has been recognized as one of the top restaurants in Los Angeles by Zagat, one of the best restaurants for power lunches by both The Hollywood Reporter and Haute Living, and is among Wine Enthusiast's list of the "100 Best Wine Restaurants."
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent! The atmosphere was very nice and romantic! The food was all so delicious! The portions are a bit on the smaller side. We ordered the halibut which is literally just the halibut. It doesn't come with anything. So for just a halibut for $35 bucks may not be something you're looking for but it was delicious! I had a 30% off BBE so I didn't feel guilty at all! The pasta was delicious! As well as the molten cake with salted caramel. Yum! Their rosemary bread and olives are to die for! Love everything about this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Culina-The Culinary "Star" of Beverly Hills and L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned after experiencing an amazing dining experience at this true culinary masterpiece. My wife and I are spending a long weekend at the Four Seasons on Doheny. We heard so many consistently wonderful comments about this restaurant so we decided to experience the restaurant. From the time we entered the restaurant, we felt as if we were kings and queens. On arriving at the restaurant, we were greeted by Amir and Ms Rogers who were so sincere and caring and we both felt that they were sincerely pleased that we were dining in Culina. It was easy to understand why. They so believed in the restaurant and were so enthusiastic with the presentations that they could not help but to transmit this spirit to guests. This restaurant is beautiful and I would urge readers to sit in the outdoor garden. There is nothing more romantic then sitting in this garden full of fresh plants, trees and flowers. Our server was Ella and I would urge requesting her. She was knowledgeable about the menu but her goal was to match menu chices with guests desires. We started the meal with focaccia which was "to die for". It had a crispy crust but was very fresh. I than had the panzanella salad. It was delicious, had some watermelon in it and was flawless. My wife had an unusual presentation of burata stuffed in a tomato that was amazing. For main course, we shared a ribeye and a pasta dish. The steak was properly cooked and seasoned to perfection. The desserts consisted of many dishes along with homemade sorbets that bring out three letters-OMG. There was homemade gelato and sorbet with combinations of flavors. There was a peanut butter and jelly sorbet, pomegranate blackberry sorbet and other flavors. In my opinion it is a must restaurant and I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Amazing brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Why are people in LA so skinny when they can eat at places like this? We ate at the famous Sunday Brunch and words fail me. I hate buffet brunches, all steam table nonsense with too many huge portions of poorly prepared food. But this is different. Everything was great, but it was expensive. We also had dinner here one night of our recent stay, and it was quite good. But it loses a point for service which was slow and unevenly paced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food at Four Seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Everything about Culinas is devine. The food, the service and the ambiance is simply perfect. The indoor decor is modern and tranquil and the outdoor decor is truly beautiful as well. I highly recommend Culinas even though its pricey

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine. Service a little slow on a Monday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We go back time and time again to Culina when we visit LA and it does not disappoint. The restaurant is inside the Four Seasons hotel. The crudo (especially the sea urchin) was excellent. All pasta are freshly made. Delicious! The only minor complain is that service can be a bit slow especially on a Monday night. We have in the past seen celebrities in the restuarant as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culina, Modern Italian also viewed

 

Been to Culina, Modern Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culina, Modern Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.