We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for UCLA Health System Patients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UCLA Tiverton House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
UCLA Tiverton House
Save
You added UCLA Tiverton House to your Saves list
900 Tiverton Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024 (Westside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for UCLA Health System Patients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here with my husband when I had a medical procedure at UCLA. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was better the expected, really fresh pastries and juices included. It often fills up quickly so book as early as possible. I personally feel that it should be used for medical patients but many young people stay there also. It is a block downhill from the Medical Plaza and there is a shuttle that they can call if the walk either way is too much. There is a nice lounge area and a few patio areas that are great for a change of scenery or for visitors. They also always have hot coffee and tea. The rooms are very clean even if the decor is a bit old. There is also a wonderful indoor play area for small children. There is a wonderful grocery store across the street and a full community kitchen which gives you many food options. I was able to go on their computer and print out my boarding passes. My husband though his bed was lumpy but I thought mine was fine. The only problem I encountered was transportation on Sunday which is the day we left. We were told that since the medical shuttle did not run on Sunday, the hotel security van would take us to the the FlyAway bus because I couldn't walk. The receptionist called when we were ready and apparently the person in charge that day refused to accommodate us. They called us a taxi which we ended up taking to the airport. Had we known that earlier, we would have checked out other options to get to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are looking for clean, affordable rooms near the Westwood campus, and the Ronald Reagan Medical Center, UCLA Tiverton House is for you. We were quite pleased with our
immaculate, large, and quiet room (much like the ambience of a hospital), and the perks the hotel offered--free wifi, a game room featuring air hockey, foosball, and a TV, a large welcoming lobby well-stocked with newspapers, cozy chairs, and a myriad of flavors of hot teas and coffees available around the clock, and a common kitchen. It was convenient to have a Ralph's grocery store (with fabulous deli sandwiches, salads, and beverages) right across the street and we enjoyed the hotel's deluxe continental breakfast (including fresh bakery chocolate croissants, scones, muffins, danish, whole grain toast, bagels, cereals, fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, and beverages) served graciously in the morning by a dashing dark gentleman staff member who, no doubt, was French.

We like to print out our boarding passes the day before our flights and attempted to do that in the hotel's business room. Due to technical difficulties with the printer, and the concierge's lack of skills in remedying the problem, we were unable to print our passes beforehand. It would be helpful to have a staff member with computer training, in proximity to the hotel, who can assist when these issues arise.

If you have time to wander around Westwood, from the Tiverton House you can cross Le Conte Avenue and continue to 777 Tiverton Drive (next to the School of Dentistry) and behold the campus' gem--Mathias Botanical Garden, a 7 acre garden containing plant specimens from all over the world. Our twenty minute stroll in the garden took us along dirt trails through forests of redwoods, bamboo, ferns, and desert plants, meandering down to koi and turtle ponds and an unexpected waterfall. Of particular interest were the pinecones on the trail that were the size of small watermelons and the multitude of signs warning us to tred cautiously through this respite from urban life (and to keep a watchful eye out for more falling cones). Picnic tables and benches were provided at some of the most beautiful observation points.

Favorite Westwood haunts--800 Degrees Neapolitan Pizzeria, 10889 Lindbrook Drive, where you can design your own pizza, and Diddy Riese, 926 Broxton Avenue, a build your own ice cream sandwich establishment which is delectable and affordable. The lines outside these two establishments are a testament to the memorable dining experiences promised inside. We also loved visiting, and sampling our way through, Westwood's open air Farmers' Market, held Thursdays in the downtown area (look for the colorful umbrellas), which features the very best summertime harvest from the Golden State.

Room Tip: Hotel computers were available for us to use but we were not allowed to print our next day flight bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The first thing I noticed upon entering was the friendly staff. I had stayed there with my classmates when we had come for an exchange program to UCLA. It was about 20 mins walk from the hotel every morning, though you
can hop into one of the buses from opposite the hotel. The rooms are spacious, free wi-fi provided. Ralph's super market is across the street, making it convenient to pick up anything that you might need during your
stay. Breakfast was decent, tea and coffee are available round the clock.
The is a common kitchen which you can use. Besides, there are a couple of good restaurants down the road and, if you can explore around, there are some fine dining in Westwood Village area. The location was good, close proximity to the touristy places. We had booked a couple of tours and they had a pick-up spot from Tiverton, hence very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

A great value in Westwood. I have stayed here multiply times, room availability, staff friendliness and proximity to UCLA without peer. Additionally, included parking and no room tax add to its value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Tiverton House several times while having a procedure and follow ups at UCLA Medical Center...The location, service and price are excellent.

Included in the fare are a continental breakfast and internet service. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here on two occasions. We were here for my wife who was diagnosed with cancer and had to have surgery. The place was very nice and the people there were very accomodating..I only have one problem..Being the Tiverton House is mainly for people who are either at UCLA for a medical problem or visiting a family member, this place books up fast and is very hard to get a reservation. I think that they should consider patients first when booking a room. I have to come back again and I cannot get a room.It doesnt seem fair if you need to be here and that you cannot book a room because they already booked them to others who do not need any medical visits or surgerys.To make it fair, they should ask the guest to show that they have an appointment with a doctor at UCLA being that they are a hotel for UCLA..Their prices are very reasonable and most people who need a room will go there first and it doesnt make it fair for the ones that really need to be there for a medical problem..That is the only thing I do not like about the Tiverton House.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Our rate of $120 without tax, and including parking (both my wife and I had appointments at the UCLA Medical Center) was exceptional for the location in upscale Westwood, across the street from UCLA. I believe the regular rate is $135 (not sure about tax on that rate). The building is nice. The rooms are average in size and a bit outdated in amenities (A/C was rather old, quirky and a bit noisy; they have finally started a project to install WiFi access in the rooms). One can access WiFi in public areas of the hotel, and there are two PCs in a business center, which we were usually able to use if we timed it right. No in-room safe but there is one at the front desk. There was one large laundry room, with several washers and dryers.

The free breakfast was so-so and the tables were filled on many occasions (we took our trays and walked downstairs to eat on an outdoor patio area). There are lots and lots of restaurants, ranging from fast food to upscale, in the area, and a supermarket across the street. At least 3 movie theatres are within walking distance. I believe there is a shuttle to the UCLA Medical Center, but it's so close we walked. Several bus lines, of the L.A., Santa Monica and Culver City bus companies go through Westwood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UCLA Tiverton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UCLA Tiverton House

Address: 900 Tiverton Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UCLA Tiverton House is a 100 Room hotel designed to meet the needs of Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center patients and their families in Westwood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ucla Tiverton House Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UCLA Tiverton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.