We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need, and lovely folks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Trylon Hotel to your Saves list
Trylon Hotel
6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Wifi!
Ranked #14 of 81 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need, and lovely folks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A family run hotel with everything you need: clean room, comfortable bed, nice hot shower (and bath in the rooms I saw), and genuinely friendly people who clearly care about their business.

Coffee/tea maker, TV and fridge were great bonuses too.

Close to a metro station on Hollywood and Vine, and a hop, skip and jump away from a 7 Eleven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    113
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
31
147
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very quaint little hotel right within walking distance of Hollywood Boulevard, the room itself is small and simple but has an en suite and air conditioning (although it is very loud). Great little cafe on the corner across the road. The owner is very helpful and polite and provided us with ample information for our stay, and waited up for us for our late arrival. The security concerns other people have mentioned on other reviews are rubbish, we accidentally left our keys on the outside of the door for half the night and surprise surprise we were not intruded upon, mugged, stabbed or murdered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street otherwise the traffic noise will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we arrived we were a little surprised at the very casual apperance of the owner family (it is not every day that the first thing you see when coming through the front door of your hotel is the bare feet of the owner with his legs up after a long day), but behind the casual exterior lies a family who will do everything to accommodate your every need.

We soon learned that there is incredible value to be found at The Trylon: clean rooms with everything that you need: a nice bed with a great mattress that allows you to have a good nights sleep, all the amenities that you want: a bathroom with enough space, a tv, a hairdryer; there is even an ironing board and a clothes iron - and a hard-working family who will help you with booking a shuttle to the airport, printing your boarding pass, storing you luggage if your flight leaves late, etc.

For us the location of the place was perfect: within walking distance of Hollywood Boulevard and its many attractions and the city's subway system. We also found several nice restaurants in the neighborhood (try Aventine's on Cahuenga), and grocery shops just around the corner. As in many parts of Hollywood you will come across homeless people and mentally ill people in the area, but to city-dwellers that should come as no surprise, and it should certainly not discourage you from staying at the Trylon - a place that we found to be both safe, convenient and budget-friendly. Will we be back? You bet we will!

Room Tip: We were a group of four and both couples ended up in really nice rooms. I can imagine that maybe roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice location, not too busy but close enough to all the main attractions and just a couple of blocks away from Hollywood blvd itself. Within walking distance of Hollywood Boulevard and Chinese theatre. Minimal noise and very safe. Cosy and clean hotel !!
No breakfast here but have coffeemakers in each room, and if you eat across the road and mention the hotel you get a free drink with your meals (nice food).
I stayed here for a week and I didn´t notice. The service and cleanliness of rooms definitely over compensates the prize. If you pay cash there´s a good discount.
The hotel is run by a great family, so helpful and friendly. Made me feel like I was at home. Definitely would stay again and recommend it to everyone. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No breakfast here but if you eat across the road 100 yards away and mention the hotel you get a free drink with your meals. My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. No complaints. Not cheap but for Hollywood not so bad I suppose. Within walking distance of Hollywood Boulevard and Chinese theatre. Would use again. Clean and staff helpful with a pre printed sheet of how to get to main points of interest. We drove to Universal Studios from here. Easy to find as very close to freeway101.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, and definitely the motel is over rated!!
The family who runs the place was nice and helpful, however the place smells and would not recommend it for anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean and no carpets on floor!! The room I was in had a view on a wall but I stayed only for one night so it didn;t bother me. Good localtion close to Hollywood Blv.
The only negative is lack of parking on site. There is parking available (it costs $10 for nigth) but it's about 5min walk from the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trylon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.